We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Old Forge Has It All”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Forge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sydney b
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The Old Forge Has It All”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location for us was perfect We were a party of 6 and Jasper our labradoodle.
The walks in the area are great especially Roseberry Topping.
Everything we needed was at the Old Forge, it was warm it was comfortable. What more can you ask

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Hi Sydney, thank you for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back to The Old Forge in the future. Alex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the Old Forge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Decor needs updating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your great review - we try very hard to make our guests comfortable but we can't help the North Yorkshire weather unfortunately! Hopefully you will have some sunshine on your next visit to The Old Forge.
Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrea w
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had an amazing visit the cottage is very well equipped, plenty of towels and wonderfully clean. Outdoors is very safe for children to play. We'll be very happy to stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Old Forge Andrea, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CNOWales
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb location ”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Eleven of us (including a baby and two young children) stayed at the Old Forge on a beautiful weekend in August. The house is in a stunning location overlooking the river and is situated within a short walk from the main Great Ayton picturesque high street.
We couldn't fault our stay. The house was clean and comfortable with every room a decent size with plenty of storage.
The enclosed garden was perfect for little children as was safe and secure.
On one of the evenings we had a BBQ which was lovely. The BBQ was large and in great condition.
There was plenty of crockery, glassware and cutlery and the kitchen was well equipped.
A large living room with plenty of room for everyone comfortably.
Thankyou to the owners for providing us with such a beautiful home for a memorable family weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, guests such as yourselves make everything we do worthwhile! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we do hope we can welcome you back to The Old Forge Holiday Cottage in the future.
Best regards, Alex Fawcett, Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal Situation”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Old Forge is well equipped, clean and in a great spot right next to the river. There is WiFi
and the beds are very comfortable. Its a very attractive village also ideal spot for touring further afield Try climbing Roseberry Topping family say its worth the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house situation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you Anne for your comments, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Old Forge in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamande...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Lovely rental.”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this cottage with another family and honestly, I don't think I can find fault with it.

The cottage was lovely and clean on arrival, had more than enough space for 2 families and was in a lovely quiet location looking out to the river and fields which made for some nice walks on the doorstep (despite the weather).

The village location is added bonus - very picturesque and a cracking fish and chip shop!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was spacious and clean
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Old Forge again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing