We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Base1 Hotel Grenzblick
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lorrach
England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here end of November.
The hotel isn't very nice to look at from the outside- the area looks bleak and depressing- but when you go into the hotel it is lovely.
Nicely decorated, friendly staff, the room sizes are good, fast free wifi and great connections into Basel.
Perfect for a quick stopover or if you're looking for somewhere slightly cheaper to stay than in Basel centre.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank em2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
14
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for just one night on our trip from Holland to Italy. Great hotel. Quite small but the staff is friendly, rooms are decent sized (we had room 39 which has 3 beds, great with our toddler son) and breakfast is very good. The direct area seems to be a bit shabby, but the hotel is very good. Private and free parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Base1 Hotel Grenzblick was chosen on the internet. A wise choice. The very bleak first impression made us think we'd made a mistake even with the good reviews and realistic price over much more expensive Basel hotels. But then...
Wonderful reception and the suite was much larger than we anticipated. Modern, spotlessly clean with coffee, tea, milk, jam and biscuits. The owners could not have been more welcoming, and the ease of travel into Basel was great. We could not fault the hotel, nor its amenities. Too bad about the bleak first impression when you arrive. We spent a week driving through France on our way home; this was the best hotel of the trip. The well equipped kitchen with the coffee, biscuits, jams gave a delightful welcoming feel to the hotel. Nice details throughout.
We highly recommend the hotel and will definitely return on our next trip to Basel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, overlooking the parking lot. Very quiet. I'm not sure if the rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELWK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainer w, Inhaber at Base1 Hotel Grenzblick, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear ELWK1
Many Thanks for spending your time to write such a great review for our hotel. Its greatly appreciated and also good to know that we are doing things right !Of course we would be delighted to see you return to our hotel in the future .
Once again, thanks for your thoughts and review.
Your BASE I-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Outside is not very nice. But there is a big parking. Rooms are new, stylish and clean. Some have a balcony. the lady is also nice and kind. Wifi for free is another nice feature. It is really worthy.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainer w, Manager at Base1 Hotel Grenzblick, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear guests
Many thanks for spending your time to write such a great review for our hotel.
It would be really nice, to see you return to our hotel in the future .
Once again, thanks for your thoughts and review.
Your BASE I-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Zurzach, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

this was my second stay in this hotel . As with my first stay last year everything was perfect. Great accesibility into Basel , Clean large room with balcony. Plentiful breakfasta and friendly staff . Would defiantely recomend as an alternative to much more expensive hotels in Basel

Room Tip: Apartment rooms have seperate bedroom and fully fitted kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 198854JohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainer w, Manager at Base1 Hotel Grenzblick, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter JohnB,
schön haben Sie uns wieder besucht und sich auch die tolle Zeit für eine Bewertung genommen.
Wir sind Ihnen sehr dankbar für Ihren nette Unterstützung.

Mit den besten Grüssen aus Lörrach
Ihr BASE I Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My first impression when arriving at the hotel was not very good. The hotel is situated directly adjacent to an ugly high rise building from the 70s. From the outside it does not really look nice. The hotel itsself is fairly small with only about 20 rooms. It was renovated and redecorated two or three years ago.

positive:
- clean and modern bedroom
- good breakfast
- relatively quiet (i slept with window open facing the street)
- good price
- friendly staff
- wifi is included
- good service (i got a train ticket printed for free at the front desk)
- perfect location for a tram ride into Basel (200m from hotel)
- good bus connection (Nr. 6) into Loerrach
- hairblower and water cooker (tea etc.) was in the room

negative:
- bathroom was not completely renovated (still it was clean and functional)
- there is no elevator; the hotel is on the first floor
- no sewing kit was in the room;

I would definitely book the hotel again for a night. For two or more nights I would take a look at the hotel next door. It looked nicer from the outside.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms to the backside would be more quiet. However there in the train connection Loerrach-Weil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Good value hotel close to border with good tram access to Basel. Not an especially charming property, nothing special about rooms, far from Lörrach town center. Passable for a cheap overnight stay if there are no other options or if cost is the main priority.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorrach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyerhof
Hotel Meyerhof
#2 of 11 in Lorrach
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel JFM
Hotel JFM
#5 of 11 in Lorrach
31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burghotel Lorrach
Burghotel Lorrach
#4 of 11 in Lorrach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stadt-Hotel Lorrach
Stadt-Hotel Lorrach
#3 of 11 in Lorrach
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Lorrach
Hotel Stadt Lorrach
#1 of 11 in Lorrach
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkhotel David
Parkhotel David
#7 of 11 in Lorrach
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base1 Hotel Grenzblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base1 Hotel Grenzblick

Property: Base1 Hotel Grenzblick
Address: Baslerstrasse 7e, 79540 Lorrach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Lorrach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lorrach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Base1 Hotel Grenzblick 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 250 metres from the Swiss border and directly opposite Lörrach Dammstraße Train Station, our hotel offers free parking, free Wi-Fi, and soundproofed rooms with hot drinks facilities.Your room at the BASE1 Hotel Grenzblick also includes a flat-screen TV. Interiors feature dark woods and elegant cream fabrics. Some rooms have a balcony.Our guests can choose from the great hot and cold breakfast buffet. Many restaurants and bars are within a 5-minute walk.BASE1 Hotel Grenzblick is a 10-minute drive from Basel city centre and a short 15-minute drive from Basel Euro-Airport. The hotel provides an airport shuttle service on request.The countryside of the Southern Black Forest begins 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Base1 Hotel Grenzblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing