We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do something for the smell of decades old urine in the lobby”
Review of Polaris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Polaris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Bucheon
Reviewed 16 May 2014

No complaint about the room considering the price. But the nasty odor whenever I walked the lobby was unbearable. Needs more aggressive maintenance to be four star rating. Convenient location and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

In-room amenities were more than adequate, though slightly dated. A PC was available for use, in additional to free LAN line and WIFI. Central heating system seemed to be not that effective, as the room could never reach temperature higher than 23°C no matter what the set temperature was. Asked for a non-smoking room, but faint cigarette smell was evident upon entry. Some burnt marks were also evident on the table, suggesting that the floor (8F) might not have been a non-smoking floor. Buffet breakfast was simple but acceptable for a short stay. In previous stay, only mediocre 3-in-1 coffee sticks were available at the breakfast counter, fresh ground / brewed coffee was chargeable. This time, 2 automatic coffee machines were available at the bar counter for use, dispensing either Espresso or Americano; a clear improvement!

Note: Polaris Hotel seems to be a very popular tourist hotel. At times, the crowd at lobby and reception area can be overwhelming and noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexter1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times for business, room was always huge and clean. Large jacuzzi bath tub is a big bonus for those who enjoy a hot dip after a long day work/walk. Lots of shops and eateries within walking distance, making this hotel a popular choice for many (especially tour groups). Staffs could be a bit more warm, thats my only minor criticism.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexter1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed at the Polaris Hotel for about two weeks in Nov. 2012. Our booking included breakfast for two every morning.

We requested a non-smoking, Suite Double Room. It was HUGE. There were two beds (king and twin) on a raised platform, a couch, coffee table and TV on the wall. However, it did not have any closets or dresser space, and since we were staying for two weeks, that would have been nice. There were two hooks (like in department stores) hanging from the wall that had two hangers for hanging a few items though. My sister and brother also got a suite double room, but they had a closet and no couch. Each room seemed to be different.

(We requested the double room, as we weren't sure what size a double bed was in Korea. The double, is indeed a king-size bed.)

The beds were hard, but I understand that is how Koreans like their beds, so that was okay. The pillows were hard and dense, and I couldn't get comfortable. I wish I had brought a soft one from home.

As another reviewer mentioned, the room did smell of stale smoke. On occasion, wafts of cigarette smoke would pour into the room (we think from the bathroom fan), and the hallway would reek of smoke. However, we would just open the window and turn on the bathroom fan to get rid of the smoke and get fresh air into the room.

The room was clean enough, but the bathroom and sink area needed a good scrubbing. Housekeeping was inconsistent. Some days we'd get a bathmat, somedays we'd get water, others not. The kettle had water sitting in it and gave off an acrid odor. Needless to say, I didnt make myself any coffee. (which was free - coffee, tea and two bottles of water every day. This was nice.) The mini fridge was great, and the in-room safe worked quite well.

The staff were helpful and the breakfast was fine. There was a good choice of western and Korean foods to choose from. Cost of breakfast is 10,000 KRW per person if its not included in your booking rate. Car parking was free if you stayed at the hotel - just remember to get a card to open the hotel gate when you need to take the car out.

Our room didn't have a computer, but my siblings' room did. There is wi-fi throughout the hotel, but was spotty at times in the room. Wi-fi in the lobby and breakfast area was spot on.

The location of this hotel is great. It is a five minute walk from the Sang-Dong station on Line 7 (this is a very new extention/station and not on many maps) or a five minute taxi ride (3500KRW) to the Song-nae station on Line 1. We drove to the hotel from ICN, and it was easy to get to. The park across the freeway was great and easily accessible from the hotel. Walked to Aiins World from the hotel, about 15 minutes. Lots of food, coffee shops and shopping within walking distance too. We also found a laundromat one station up from the Sang-dong station which was great!

We would stay here again. I wish it was totally smoke free, but I know that won't happen.

Stayed: November 2012
2  Thank Jsquiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Staff friendly and helpful, good breakfast in morning but what spoilt it for me was the stale smell of smoke in the bedroom. One good tip is to use the hotel taxi to get to the airport, about £30 for about six people.

Room Tip: if possible, a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank jeeyoungc658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Maximus13908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucheon
0.1 mi away
Koryo Hotel
Koryo Hotel
#2 of 25 in Bucheon
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Floce
Hotel Floce
#6 of 25 in Bucheon
8 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pavia Tourist Hotel
Pavia Tourist Hotel
#11 of 25 in Bucheon
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ever
Hotel Ever
#7 of 25 in Bucheon
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel SR
Hotel SR
#10 of 25 in Bucheon
4 reviews
5.4 mi away
Benikea Premier Hotel Bernoui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polaris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polaris Hotel

Address: 27, Sohyang-ro 13beon-gil, Bucheon, Gyeonggi-do 14544, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeonggi-do > Bucheon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Bucheon
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polaris Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polaris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing