We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zabbar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Zabbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Last week we stayed for 5 nights at Buganvilla with Joe and Antoinette. It's a very nice B&B. Beautiful room, good facilities, yummy breakfast and very friendly and helpful people. There's a lovely garden with lot's of space to relax. It was great to have breakfast in the garden under the buganville and citrus trees, with the singing of the birds in the background. From Zabbar it's quite easy to reach all the places of interest on Malta, by bus or, quicker, by car. Highly recommended!
Jeroen & Karin

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sometimes pictures of an accommodation look nicer than reality, sometimes reality is even better which is the case with this B&B. Buganvilla is a fantastic place to stay with perfect hosts Joe and Antoinette. We enjoyed every aspect of this place. From the warm welcome to the really nicely looking room to the perfect breakfast and the lovely terrace where you sit between lemon trees and bougainvillea. It is not located in a touristy area, but Malta is too small to bother about this. There are enough buses or use your own car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurits B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Joe and Antoinette's for 5 nights and enjoyed their hospitality very much. The B&B is tucked away in a quieter part of Malta to the SE of Valletta (but it is not a problem as there are frequent buses), and has a lovely courtyard with bougainvillea, orange, lemon, medlar trees where we would have an excellent breakfast each morning usually whilst chatting to Joe. The room was bright, airy and comfortable with a decent shower, which even had a bottle of red wine as a welcome. Not only that we were picked up and dropped off at the airport. There are a couple of nice cats too. All in all a very pleasant stay which also represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I would recommend this for those wanting a relaxing, quiet stay in a town which is not so touched by tourism. It is an old, attractive house, you could imagine it being in a Eric Rohmer film.There are 2 rooms with a balcony overlooking a courtyard with orange trees. The room was comfortable, and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. Air conditioning can be included at an extra price.

Joe and Antoinette were very welcoming and gave some sound advice about Malta and Gozo. We only stayed one night but it was memorable, particularly having breakfast in the courtyard (in January!)

There isn't a great deal to see in Zabbar itself but it's a pleasant town. You can easily take buses to Valletta (30mins) - a must see, and Marxascala (10mins) which is good for swimming and has quite a lot of restaurants. If you wanted to use it as a base for travelling round the whole island you could do this with a car.

As other reviewers mentioned this wouldn't be suitable for wheelchair users. They have a friendly cat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatildaW190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Buganvilla in November, in a double room which was nicely furbished. We were in Malta during a season where it was slightly cold, however, despite the weather, we enjoyed cities like Zabbar as it had a local feel. If you are not going to rent a car, it would be advisable to bear in mind the limitations of public transport, for instance, the amount of time you would need to reach Valleta from Zabbar by bus would take 30 minutes and the service ends around 11 pm. The owners of the B&B Joe and Antoinette were friendly and helpful during our stay, which in essence captures the hospitality of the Maltese people. Malta was a beautiful destination and we enjoyed our stay with the Caruanas'.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at Joe and Antoinette's lovely B&B in December 2013. We were looking to have a very relaxing break before Christmas and after a very busy few months work. And that is exactly what we managed! Bouganvilla, with its beautiful courtyard, has a really tranquil atmosphere and we slept very well. Breakfast was superb and one morning it was warm enough for us to eat outside under the lemon tree. Joe and Antoinette are such warm friendly hosts, and we were very grateful for all the tips they gave us about what to see and do on the island. We'll definitely be back and recommend Bouganvilla wholeheartedly! Great value too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithnSarah_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at Buganvilla for four nights in October, and we recommand this place to anyone looking for a nice, friendly B&B that is good value for money.

So first the good:
The room we stayed in was big, clean and decorated with care and attention for detail. The breakfast was also good: there was more than enough choice in sweet and salty food. Owner Joe and his wife (I forgot her name) really make an effort to accomodate their guests. When we wanted to order a pizza, for example, Joe made the call, waited for the guy and even paid; he put the amount on our bill.

For us, as we travelled with a 1,5 year old child, there was another big pro: the B&B has a large, covered terrace, where we could sit during our son's afternoon nap. We also had dinner there: we had a pizza or a picknick with olives, cold fish, bread, cheese, tomatoes etc.

The not so good:
The wall of the room facing the street is thin, and at night you can hear a lot of noice from passing cars. Another thing: the garden where breakfast is served is full of insects. You have to use repellent, otherwise you're eaten alive. As a minor point, the matrass of the bed was lumpy.

We thought these downsides were easy to accept though, especially when we took into consideration that we only paid 60 euro a night. The room was much better than you'd expect for that price, as was the terrace, the service and the quality of the breakfast.

If would go back to Malta, we'd certainly go back to Buganvilla.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collonges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zabbar
1.1 mi away
Julesy's BnB
Julesy's BnB
#1 of 2 in Cospicua (Bormla)
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ursulino Valletta
Ursulino Valletta
#1 of 21 in Valletta
197 reviews
3.5 mi away
Palazzo Violetta
Palazzo Violetta
#1 of 14 in Sliema
126 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast

Address: 88, St.Joseph Street, Zabbar, Island of Malta 3320, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Zabbar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zabbar
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast rooms in a typical Maltese old house of character in the core of Zabbar, in the south of the island. Entrance is through the garden by a separate door and rooms are on the first floor with a terrace overlooking the garden. Both rooms have exposed stone walls, private facilities, a ceiling fan, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and WI-FI. Air conditionig is available but at an extra cost. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing