We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Malta's Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zabbar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Zabbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Malta's Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are looking for a traditional place to stay, a home from home feel, delicious breakfast on the lovely terrace, knowledgeable and welcoming host, look no further than Buganvilla. Set in the typical village of Malta, this is real hidden gem. Room was spotless and very comfortable (beds have two kinds of pillow). A very good base near to the airport (15 minute) and the best way to explore island by car. Everything exceeded our expectations. Thank our host! Emanuela with family, Croatia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanuela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Buganvilla last month and had a wonderful time there. I agree with all the glowing previous reviews and am glad we chose this place based on them.

As I don't see much point in repeating all the good things about this place everybody mentioned already (although they were all true!), I'm just going to list a couple of points that were particularly impressive to us, and a (very) few negatives.

Pros:

- Wonderful hosts, Joe and Antoinette - they are genuinely friendly and helpful, not just 'being professional'. They would treat you and chat to you like old friends, though never intrusive. Apart from offering free transfer to the airport, Joe also gave us a lift to Valletta one day when he realised we'd just missed a bus. We mentioned we preferred plain yogurt rather than sweetened fruit ones at breakfast, and the next day he scoured the local shops to find some plain yogurt for us.

- A large shower cubicle with a big shower rack inside. It's rare to see such a spacious shower at this price range and even rarer to see a decent rack for toiletries inside the cubicle. I know it doesn't bother some people, but I hate having to bring all my bathroom paraphernalia each time I go in there and put them down on the floor.

- The terrace. It was so lovely and nice to have somewhere to sit outside and while away the time having a drink, eating ice cream, reading etc. Since they only have two guest rooms and the owners would not come up there normally, it feels very private. (Though one of their cats is very friendly and would join you most probably:-)) Joe said he was toying with the idea of creating another guest room there - hope he wouldn't!

Cons:

- Tiny wash basin. Again, probably it doesn't bother some people, but it was rather difficult to wash your face over it! It is a pity as they have plenty of space in the bathroom... perhaps they should put in a new wash basin and leave the terrace as it is;-)

- No mosquito net in the windows. Of course you can use the ceiling fan and (when it's hotter) pay to get air-con, but at the time of our stay it would have been perfect to have the window open to let the breeze in. Although they provided a plug-in mosquito repellent in the room I didn't dare keep the window open as I'm such a mosquito magnet, so the room got a bit stuffy at times
, which was a pity.

All in all, we would heartily recommend this b&b to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Last week we stayed for 5 nights at Buganvilla with Joe and Antoinette. It's a very nice B&B. Beautiful room, good facilities, yummy breakfast and very friendly and helpful people. There's a lovely garden with lot's of space to relax. It was great to have breakfast in the garden under the buganville and citrus trees, with the singing of the birds in the background. From Zabbar it's quite easy to reach all the places of interest on Malta, by bus or, quicker, by car. Highly recommended!
Jeroen & Karin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sometimes pictures of an accommodation look nicer than reality, sometimes reality is even better which is the case with this B&B. Buganvilla is a fantastic place to stay with perfect hosts Joe and Antoinette. We enjoyed every aspect of this place. From the warm welcome to the really nicely looking room to the perfect breakfast and the lovely terrace where you sit between lemon trees and bougainvillea. It is not located in a touristy area, but Malta is too small to bother about this. There are enough buses or use your own car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurits B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Joe and Antoinette's for 5 nights and enjoyed their hospitality very much. The B&B is tucked away in a quieter part of Malta to the SE of Valletta (but it is not a problem as there are frequent buses), and has a lovely courtyard with bougainvillea, orange, lemon, medlar trees where we would have an excellent breakfast each morning usually whilst chatting to Joe. The room was bright, airy and comfortable with a decent shower, which even had a bottle of red wine as a welcome. Not only that we were picked up and dropped off at the airport. There are a couple of nice cats too. All in all a very pleasant stay which also represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I would recommend this for those wanting a relaxing, quiet stay in a town which is not so touched by tourism. It is an old, attractive house, you could imagine it being in a Eric Rohmer film.There are 2 rooms with a balcony overlooking a courtyard with orange trees. The room was comfortable, and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. Air conditioning can be included at an extra price.

Joe and Antoinette were very welcoming and gave some sound advice about Malta and Gozo. We only stayed one night but it was memorable, particularly having breakfast in the courtyard (in January!)

There isn't a great deal to see in Zabbar itself but it's a pleasant town. You can easily take buses to Valletta (30mins) - a must see, and Marxascala (10mins) which is good for swimming and has quite a lot of restaurants. If you wanted to use it as a base for travelling round the whole island you could do this with a car.

As other reviewers mentioned this wouldn't be suitable for wheelchair users. They have a friendly cat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatildaW190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Buganvilla in November, in a double room which was nicely furbished. We were in Malta during a season where it was slightly cold, however, despite the weather, we enjoyed cities like Zabbar as it had a local feel. If you are not going to rent a car, it would be advisable to bear in mind the limitations of public transport, for instance, the amount of time you would need to reach Valleta from Zabbar by bus would take 30 minutes and the service ends around 11 pm. The owners of the B&B Joe and Antoinette were friendly and helpful during our stay, which in essence captures the hospitality of the Maltese people. Malta was a beautiful destination and we enjoyed our stay with the Caruanas'.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zabbar
2.0 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.9 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
3.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
4.8 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast

Property: Buganvilla Bed & Breakfast
Address: 88, St.Joseph Street, Zabbar, Island of Malta 3320, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Zabbar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zabbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast rooms in a typical Maltese old house of character in the core of Zabbar, in the south of the island. Entrance is through the garden by a separate door and rooms are on the first floor with a terrace overlooking the garden. Both rooms have exposed stone walls, private facilities, a ceiling fan, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and WI-FI. Air conditionig is available but at an extra cost. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing