We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summertime blues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Zerhoune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Zerhoune
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Summertime blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I'd like to have enjoyed Dar Zerhoune more than I did, as obviously the owner has put a lot of effort into it with good details like plenty of power points, wifi, freshly painted, nice looking furniture, English language books. Bedding was fine. Mattresses and seating were very hard but that is common in Morocco. it is spotless, well located and could be a good option under different circumstances than mine.

It's interesting to read the comments from people staying in winter and the efforts made to warm the place. However, I came in a hot summer and could not stay more than one night. mainly because of the heat. The roof of the central atrium has been glassed in, and if you look at the room pics you'll notice the lack of outside windows or ventilation. One 'dorm' bedroom has a window to the outside, others have doors that open into the central atrium, so no air flow. I had the impression the place had been closed up for a while, as there was also an odd acrid smell throughout. I opened the 2 upstairs doors and windows to the outside world and the odour dissipated a bit, but it was not enough ventilation to combat the intense 'greenhouse' effect of the enclosed central space. The pretty top floor salon, where I'd hoped to write, play guitar etc was too hot to sit in after about 2pm. I moved bedrooms at 1 am to a small one on the lowest floor, which was cool though still stuffy..it's below street level.

The roof terrace was too hot to use in the day. Pleasant at night, though the lights mysteriously went off after about 30 mins and wouldn't switch on again. Overall I just never found a comfortable place to 'be'.

Apart from the air situation, it's worth taking on board comments other people have made about being on their own. The teenage girl who let me in was friendly but didn't really explain anything about the town or the house except the wifi password (we had no common language). Hadjiba came unexpectedly for a few minutes at night, and in the morning to give me a basic breakfast and get paid.

I live alone at home, and there is a note in the room about it being an 'unhosted guest house' but to be honest it's a bit odd to be a guest without a host; alone in a 3 story space in a strange town with unfamiliar noises, doors banging (next door) not knowing if someone was going to suddenly arrive or not, or be there when I got back after a walk. However, if you had friends/partner with you or , or at a different time of year when you;d want to be out a lot in the day, it could be a good option.
It is not a 'cheap' option though.. I paid 400 Dirhams, bed and breakfast, which was more than twice what I ended up paying 'walk in' for a much more comfortable, hospitable and airy space elsewhere in the town. I liked Moulay Idriss and ended up staying 4 nights.

Room Tip: The double bedroom near the computer desk on the second floor is the nicest. it has a window to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
36
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Dar Zerhoune in mid-May. Moulay Idriss is a quiet non-touristy town. This was our first stop after flying into Casablanca for our vacation. We had planned on two nights but stayed one more night partly because it rained all night and until 2pm the next day so we were behind in what we wanted to see and do. We also just really enjoyed the town. We we not on a set itinerary so if we like a place we stay there longer.

If you want to see what a Moroccan town is like without the tourists, this is it. We walked to Volubilis and to the nearby Roman thermal baths on the edge of town. The town has a really nice fruit/vegetable/meat market since this is an area with a lot of farming. This area is known for its olives and olive oil. They also sell good nougat on the square. On Saturdays there is a bustling market on the main road in town.

Dar Zerhoune is a nice, quiet house deep in the town. The manager, Hajiba, was efficient and informative. She took me to the local hammam and explained what to expect since this was my first hammam experience. I loved it. I would recommend this local hammam for a really good scrubbing! Hajiba leaves in the evening to go home so it is truly like staying in a home. You have the key to get in the house. There is a lounge area upstairs where you can read and chill out, or you can go up to the terrace for a view of the town. You can do laundry if needed.

This town and house are probably a good place to decompress after the hectic crowds in Fes. As it turns out, we hit this place first. While we were there we said this would probably be one of our best Morocco experiences. It turned out to be true.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37VAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Dar Zerhoune was a gem to find, as was Moulay Idris. Spent a couple of nights here & loved it. Really comfy bed, & the electric blanket was an unexpected bonus. Beautiful, & tasteful decor & breathtaking view from the terrace. We were fortunate enough to meet Rose, the owner & her story & attitude were inspirational. I'd definitely stay here again & highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here in April with some chilly overnight temperatures. The electric blankets and space heaters in the room made for a very comfortable sleep. Sunsets and breakfast on the terrace were both excellent. A great place for a short stay to see Volubilis.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljh104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

The view from the roof terrace is excellent, especially for sunsets, one of the most spectacular I've seen. Within walking distance of Volubilis, and I would thoroughly reccomend staying a night here as a way to visit the ruins. Good bedding too. Although the place can get a bit chilly at times they have taken good measures such as heaters in the rooms and electric blankets to guard against this. The whole place has a great feel to it and I would definitely reccomend for anyone coming to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGTravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed in April 2012 and really enjoyed both the town and this guest house. The breakfast was great, the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff were lovely. We would happily recommend it. They even had a bottle of red for us to enjoy in the cosy lounge space. The down side was that the bathroom for one of the rooms was located upstairs through the kitchen. In spring it was a bit nippy so it may not be the best winter visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecsNZ972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

I loved everything start to finish here. The beautiful decor, blending classic Moroccan style with modern simplicity, is superb, and the roof terrace, with stunning views of the town and surrounding hillside is spectacular. My room was large, with the best sheets I have had anywhere in Morocco, and incredibly comfortable. The black soap in the bathroom was a womderful touch. The caretaker here was incredibly sweet, from serving me mint tea and dates as soon as I arrived to handling my laundry, and fulfilling my request for a vegetarian dinner. The food was simple but delicious, and clearly prepared with a lot of love. I've been on th road for two months across Asia and Africa, and this was by far my favorite place I've stayed in this current runs of travels. I'm so excited to know that Rose, the owner, has plans for more inns in northern Morocco, with the next one slated for Fez. Can't wait to come back here!

Room Tip: I loved the room across the courtyard from the computer station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranaful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulay Idriss
0.1 mi away
Diyar Timnay
Diyar Timnay
#2 of 3 in Moulay Idriss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Colombe Blanche
La Colombe Blanche
#2 of 7 in Moulay Idriss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
11.4 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#1 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Al Andaloussiya Diyafa
Dar Al Andaloussiya Diyafa
#3 of 7 in Moulay Idriss
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
11.4 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
11.3 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zerhoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zerhoune

Property: Dar Zerhoune
Address: 42 Derb Zouak | Tazga, Moulay Idriss, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Moulay Idriss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Moulay Idriss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zerhoune is a restored traditional house in the whitewashed hill top town of Moulay Idriss Zerhoune. You are welcomed with mint tea and local nougat as you relax on the roof terrace with views of the Roman ruins of Volubilis (5km away) and the Zerhoune mountain range. The rooms have en-suite, and there is a dorm/family room with a separate bathroom. We have bicycle rental, or you wander into the local fruit and vegetable market, see the Muslim pilgrimage to the Mausoleum, experience the local Saturday market, swim in the thermal springs of the roman baths, explore Volubilis or just relax. We can arrange tours of Moulay Idriss, Volubilis as well as tours in the surrounding area. If you are on a day trip to Volubilis or Moulay Idriss then we can offer a 3 course home cooked lunch on the roof terrace. Please book this in advance.For the cooler months we have duvets, electric blankets and hot water bottles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Zerhoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing