We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house and warm welcolme.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Firs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blair Atholl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Firs
Ranked #1 of 3 Blair Atholl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
houston,scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and warm welcolme.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a very comfortable nights stay at the Firs. The room was lovely, full of character, quality bedding and towels and spotlessly clean.
Kirstie and Geoff gave us such a warm welcome and the breakfast was superb with a wide choice and great local specialities.
We could definitely recommend the Firs

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taraHouston_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
46
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a lovely warm welcome at the end of a long drive....exceptionally clean, excellent breakfast ... wish I could have stayed longer. Definitely recommend this gem ...such caring hosts
This is a very well placed guesthouse for exploring a beautiful part of Scotland

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stumbled across the Tripadvisor ratings for the Firs Guest House in my inbox and although it is a number of years ago since we stayed here, I am pleased to see that the very high standards are exactly as we can recall.

In fact I think we stayed a couple of times at the Firs for two or three nights at a time. Everything was absolutely perfect and the hosts were just superb. We were bagging Munro's at the time and although we no longer do so, we are now into long distance walking.

We would love to return to Blair Atholl again and it would have to be Firs Guest House and I would reccomend anyonbe to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Col1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just back from another stay at the delightful Firs! Such a warm and welcoming place to visit: owners Kirstie and Geoff have created a traditional country home atmosphere that makes you feel like an old friend visiting rather than a paying guest. And Blair Atholl – such a beautiful place amongst stunning scenery to escape from the pressures of modern life. This time I travelled by train – a convenient 10 minute walk from the Firs, although my hosts did meet me at the station – and just look at the mist that was hanging in the air when I left. Can’t wait until the next time!

Room Tip: Good choice of rooms - just explain your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bottle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie C, Owner at The Firs, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for the post and thank you for the photos. I hope you will be back to take some more. Kirstie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at The Firs Guesthouse and we couldn't be happier. The room was large, quiet, and had a comfortable bed. Service was outstanding. Kirstie was very helpful and made a delicioius breakfast. We enjoyed a bottle of wine in the lounge while being warmed by the nice fireplace. This is the place to stay while visiting this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Get the room above the lounge, very spacious. Breakfast - have the smoked salmon and poached eggs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie C, Owner at The Firs, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Raymond, thank you for the post and kind words. I hope we will see you back in Highland Perthshire again. Kirstie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here while in Blair Atholl for an event at Blair Castle. Were so happy to find a B&B with ground floor accommodation as I am disabled. The room was cosy and warm with all we could possibly need. The guest lounge - complete with a constantly stoked wood-burner - was so comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. Best of all - the hosts are two of the nicest and warmest people you could hope to meet. We highly recommend The Firs Guest House!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBelle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie C, Owner at The Firs, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi! Thank you for the kind words. I hope the weekend turned out successful for you. Kirstie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was a lovely place to stay for a relaxing weekend getaway. The bedrooms are decorated beautifully and there is also a large lounge area which is really cosy and great for socialising. The owners are extremely welcoming and will go out of their way to make your feel at home, offering some great advice on the local area. There is a pub no more than 5 minutes walk away from the house which came in quite handy! A big bonus for me was the excellent vegetarian cooked breakfast including vegetarian haggis which was a real treat. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelikesadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie C, Owner at The Firs, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast! Kirstie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blair Atholl
0.4 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
6.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
4.8 mi away
The Struan Inn
The Struan Inn
#1 of 1 in Calvine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs

Property: The Firs
Address: The Firs St. Andrews Crescent, Blair Atholl PH18 5TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blair Atholl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blair Atholl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firs 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned guesthouse run by Kirstie and Geoff Crerar in a quiet highland village just north of Pitlochry and close to the famous Blair Castle home of the Atholl Highlanders. All rooms are en-suite with colour TV and courtesy coffee/tea tray. Charming guests' lounge (with a real fire if it's chilly) and breakfast served by your hosts personally in our spacious conservatory breakfast room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Firs Blair Atholl, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing