We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful welcome”
Review of The Firs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blair Atholl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Firs
Ranked #1 of 3 Blair Atholl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always wonderful welcome”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Firs Guest House for three nights in April. We have stayed at The First several times and it is always a most enjoyable stay. This fantastic Guest House has a wonderful host and hostess Kirsty and Geoff. The accommodation is very well maintained and very clean. The bedrooms are beautiful and everything in them is immaculate. Breakfast, normally cooked by Geoff and served by Kirsty, is delicious. The food is excellent and always gives a great start to the day. The location just off the A9 in Blair Atholl provides a great selection of activities and public transport if required. There is no doubt we will be returning to the superbly run House. Geoff and Kirsty are always there with a warm welcome and we would recommend the First Guest House to anyone looking for a great place to eat and sleep!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnylovesbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
51
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Firs twice, once on our way up to the North Coast and then on our return journey two weeks later. Due to being on Chemotherapy at this time, I was a little nervous about where we stayed having booked in advance without knowing The Firs at all, but there was no need. We found the house beautifully kept, the room we stayed in was immaculate, warm and homely. Bed, bedding, towels etc were spotless and of good quality (something you don't always find so we take our own). En suite was also immaculate and shower was good and also quiet ( a worry of mine as we are early risers). Menu and breakfast couldn't be faulted and Kirsty and Geoff are the loveliest of people, warm and attentive without being intrusive. The Firs will definitely be our place to stay when in this part of the country or when passing through. I don't often recommend places to people as one person's pleasure does not fit all, but we personally could not find fault with The Firs or Geoff and Kirsty.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D and D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked a room at The Firs some months prior to our proposed stay and circumstances forced me to cancel several weeks before the date.
It does of course say that a deposit is non-refundable, but I think given the time scale it was not unreasonable to expect the £50 deposit to be returned. The owners corresponded courteously and offered a refund if the room was relet, but since we were booked in March this was unlikely, so on 2 counts a refund would have been quite reasonable - they hadn't turned anyone away because of a shortage of rooms and March in Scotland is not high season.
We did not receive a refund of our £50 deposit. I'm sorry that they are in the business of taking money from people without providing a service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a very comfortable nights stay at the Firs. The room was lovely, full of character, quality bedding and towels and spotlessly clean.
Kirstie and Geoff gave us such a warm welcome and the breakfast was superb with a wide choice and great local specialities.
We could definitely recommend the Firs

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taraHouston_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a lovely warm welcome at the end of a long drive....exceptionally clean, excellent breakfast ... wish I could have stayed longer. Definitely recommend this gem ...such caring hosts
This is a very well placed guesthouse for exploring a beautiful part of Scotland

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stumbled across the Tripadvisor ratings for the Firs Guest House in my inbox and although it is a number of years ago since we stayed here, I am pleased to see that the very high standards are exactly as we can recall.

In fact I think we stayed a couple of times at the Firs for two or three nights at a time. Everything was absolutely perfect and the hosts were just superb. We were bagging Munro's at the time and although we no longer do so, we are now into long distance walking.

We would love to return to Blair Atholl again and it would have to be Firs Guest House and I would reccomend anyonbe to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just back from another stay at the delightful Firs! Such a warm and welcoming place to visit: owners Kirstie and Geoff have created a traditional country home atmosphere that makes you feel like an old friend visiting rather than a paying guest. And Blair Atholl – such a beautiful place amongst stunning scenery to escape from the pressures of modern life. This time I travelled by train – a convenient 10 minute walk from the Firs, although my hosts did meet me at the station – and just look at the mist that was hanging in the air when I left. Can’t wait until the next time!

Room Tip: Good choice of rooms - just explain your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bottle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie C, Owner at The Firs, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for the post and thank you for the photos. I hope you will be back to take some more. Kirstie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blair Atholl
0.4 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
6.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
533 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs

Property: The Firs
Address: The Firs St. Andrews Crescent, Blair Atholl PH18 5TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blair Atholl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blair Atholl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firs 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned guesthouse run by Kirstie and Geoff Crerar in a quiet highland village just north of Pitlochry and close to the famous Blair Castle home of the Atholl Highlanders. All rooms are en-suite with colour TV and courtesy coffee/tea tray. Charming guests' lounge (with a real fire if it's chilly) and breakfast served by your hosts personally in our spacious conservatory breakfast room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Firs Blair Atholl, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing