We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair Atholl Watermill

Blair Atholl Watermill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A working watermill has been on the site since 1590s. We mill our own flour and oatmeal which we then use in our bakery attached to the mill. We serve breakfast, light lunches and cakes and our aim is to provide simple wholesome food with our baking and locally sourced food. We bake fresh everyday and have a range of bread, bagels, croissants, cakes and lots more available to enjoy in the tearoom or takeaway.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A treat to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Situated in a beautiful location great to sit outside, excellent home produced food, great service. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LAA555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    55
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good nearly always ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

As it happens, our visit this morning wasn't great - one of those jinxed visits when nothing seems to go right. Things on the menu weren't available - then a wrong drink came - by which time it all seemed a bit hopeless. BUT we've been here many times on annual holidays and food and service have always been great, particularly the breads made from flour ground by the mill itself. So despite one randomly disappointing day I'm giving it VG.

Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“AVERAGE DOESN'T REALLY DO IT JUSTICE - BUT IS IT VERY GOOD?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I regularly say on reviews that there should be a rating between 'average' and 'very good' which this falls into. It does what a tea-room should and does it well enough and what more can you say? It's clean and the service is with a big smile. Perhaps this does make it very good! No hot meals but serves tasty sandwiches, toasties, rolls, cakes, scones etc and sells made-from-it's-own-flour bread (it's a working mill). A tiny bit expensive but nothing to complain about.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Just stopped in here today heading South from Inverness. Had curried sweet potato soup with home made bread. Fantastic soup and tasty bread, theres also a large selection of home made cakes and fresh sandwiches/ toasties available and if your early enough great tasting breads for sale. Much better than the big place along the toad ( House of *****) give this wee tea room a go, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 05gordonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fab place, great good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This cafe is only open 6 months a year - April to October - but is well worth a visit. Home made bread, oatcakes, soup, cakes, and excellent coffee. There is a real working mill too if you want to check it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blair Atholl Watermill also viewed

Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Blair Atholl Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing