We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs B”

Blair Atholl Watermill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A working watermill has been on the site since 1590s. We mill our own flour and oatmeal which we then use in our bakery attached to the mill. We serve breakfast, light lunches and cakes and our aim is to provide simple wholesome food with our baking and locally sourced food. We bake fresh everyday and have a range of bread, bagels, croissants, cakes and lots more available to enjoy in the tearoom or takeaway.
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs B”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting with working mill to look around. Cafe is lovely rustic style. Baked goods from their own ground flour and soup. Soup nice bread and oat cakes very good. Had a long enjoyable chat with Rami the owner. Would recommend a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaBaxendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    62
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falkland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recommended But Disappointing!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Called in for coffee and something sweet on our journey north at 4.15pm Friday 20th June on a friend's recommendation.

Very little choice ( 1 sponge, a plain scone, carrot cake or a tray bake) . No biscuits chocolate or otherwise, no shortbread.

My husband had the Carrot cake which at £2.70 was reasonably priced and quite nice. I fancied chocolate but in the absence of a Tunnocks tea cake or a Kit Kat resignedly took the tray bake. It was vastly overpriced at £2.70 and not very nice- strong flavoured and quite dry. Wish we had gone to the House of Bruar up the road. (We did on the return journey and had lovely coffee Oatie's for £1.50).

Perhaps our timing was wrong or maybe just a day when lots of traffic had been diverted from the A9 and supplies had run short? Even more reason to have a supply of commercial chocolate biscuits as back up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty C, Owner at Blair Atholl Watermill, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Susan
We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the mill. My husband remembers you both clearly and apologised that we only had a smaller selection left than our usual range. We had been exceptionally busy as there had been an accident on the A9 and you came in 15 minutes before we stop serving.
We bake fresh everyday but you were offered chocolate shortbread. We don't stock Tunnocks or Oaties and never will. We don't have any tray bakes at £2.70 and we're sorry you didn't enjoy whatever you had. If you had told us you were unhappy at the time we would have gladly refunded your money. We pride ourself on our customer care but sometimes we do pay the price for baking fresh everyday.
Kind regards
Kirsty and Rami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great coffee”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great setting, service and coffee. Good value for money. Clearly lots of locals popping in on a Saturday morning. Always a good sign.

Helpful?
Thank beladel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A treat to visit”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Situated in a beautiful location great to sit outside, excellent home produced food, great service. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAA555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Good nearly always ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

As it happens, our visit this morning wasn't great - one of those jinxed visits when nothing seems to go right. Things on the menu weren't available - then a wrong drink came - by which time it all seemed a bit hopeless. BUT we've been here many times on annual holidays and food and service have always been great, particularly the breads made from flour ground by the mill itself. So despite one randomly disappointing day I'm giving it VG.

Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blair Atholl Watermill also viewed

Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Blair Atholl Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing