We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Polhena Reef Garden
Nearby Hotels
W15(Weligama)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$476
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surfer(Weligama)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
We Escape(Weligama)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
1
5
5
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
5
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We arrived in the quiet village of Polhena by train from Colombo - and then by tuk tuk to Polhena beach. The whole journey of 3.5hours cost £2 per person!! We were shown to our room which was large and clean with a very nice balcony with views of the beach and pool. Beautiful clean and large pool which was sometimes used by local junior swimming club which was fun. Beach clean and shallow with snorkel equipment for hire and rubber rings to float on. Matara town was a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away and it was an interesting little town to look round with several attractions. The food at the hotel was good and they had a menu in the office if you wanted snacks etc. Although the staff did not speak much English we managed to get what we wanted - we were in a local Sri Lankan resort and the staff did their absolute best for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing sea were nice and large and airy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miami93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed with a group of friends at the beginning of a two week tour of Sri Lanka. Our first two nights here to get us into the mood and holiday spirit of Sri Lanka. This is a family run hotel right on the beach with small bars and beach cafes in easy walking distance. The owner was on site to welcome us and give the local briefing on what to see and do.

The accomodation is in a chalet style built around the main function rooms, bars and restaurant. The rooms are in a two storey block within the neat and tidy grounds with a large and imaculate swimming pool. The rooms are large, spacious and all airconditioned. Furnishings are simple and straightforward but do the job adequately. The water was hot. We asked for additional pillows and towels which were happily provided.

The staff were very welcoming and made a big effort to meet every need. Occasionally their English let them down, but not as much as our Sri Lankan let us down. It made for some laughter with all.

This was a great starting point for our holiday and got us in the mood. Recommend the short Tuc Tuc ride to one of the many local fish markets along the shore. Select your fish and for a small addition the locals will cook it for you. We had an amazing fish lunch. Don't expect to rush it remember you are on holiday. We loved the experience.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room it worked well. All rooms were airconditioned.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ApplecrossTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was the first hotel of our tour with local company Summa Travels. A truly excellent trip. The hotel is large and airy with a fantastic swimming pool. Also a short walk from a local beach which is excellent for snorkelling as there is a reef stopping the large breakers about600yards out.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the meals were good. It's a very quiet location and close enough to visit Dondra Lighthouse, the fantastic Veherhena temple, Matara fort and about an hour from Galle. The owner, the most charming Mr Kulatanga arranged for us to go whale watching at Marissa which was one of the highlights of the trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank elwyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms were dirty upon arrival and nothing was cleaned during the following day. Several essential objects were missing from the rooms (mosquito nets, towels,…) and while the staff was friendly, it took them an unnecessary long time to fetch these items for us.
Staff was extremely clueless, nothing seemed to be possible or easy.
Rooms were very expensive, even with the discount we were given through a friend. Something went wrong with the discount and the boss of the hotel was very unfriendly to us over the phone.
Good breakfast with nice view, but expensive and slow.
I would advise everybody to never set foot in this hotel, you will come out extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms we had were on the first floor. Dirty, noisy and many items were broken or not functioning. Don't choose any room, choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The staff tried to be helpful although they spoke very little English and nothing seemed simple. They advertise wifi but after asking 5 members of staff none of them knew the password. One eventually gave me his email password! The rooms are clean enough but very basic, we had no water for the shower the first day but it worked fine the second day. Only a couple of the rooms were occupied, but during the day the pool was full of local men who go to swim and there was also swimming lessons for children. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on food. Apparently the kitchen isn't always open depending on how many guests there are. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews