We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place/Insane prices”
Review of Turtle Eco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtle Eco Beach
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Matara
Certificate of Excellence
colombo
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible place/Insane prices”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Went with my family. Rooms were not up to the standards. The manager was very unhelpful,
prices were not fair at all. The place was under construction when we went in. Entrance point there was a small cemetery I would not recommend anyone to go here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nimantha51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    34
    18
    5
    10
See reviews for
50
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked the whole hotel for ourselves. Our toilet didn't have a door and even my small child could see me taking a bath. My friends room didn't have a roof on the toilet and it was a rainy day and she found it difficult to use the toilet. In another room water was seeping from the toilet every time you took a wash. A/C's didn't work in some rooms.
Their food was good but was unappetizing because the restaurant area was swarming with flies which was absolutely disgusting. When we complained to the manager who's name was Ricky he was totally unhelpful and made it look as if it was our problem. We wanted to stay for 2 nights and left the so called hotel the same day In the evening. Even though the manager was unhelpful the staff was very nice but helpless.
Pls don't get fooled by the photos because it's a terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Umij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have spent in Turtle Eco Beach first 5 days of our honeymoon and we were amazed how our first touch with sri lankan looked like. Very new place opened in December 2012 offered us nice and clean room, great food with local taste and service, which we have not experienced before. Definitely best travel experience so far. Thanks guys for a beautiful stay here. Leaving to Arugam Bay. Martin.

Room Tip: 10 is the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinHvth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Hi i want to write here my experience with the Turtle Eco Hotel. The Hotel itself charges a high price for Sri Lankian Standards and except of the pool i don't really know why. I was there with my husband and 2 year old daughter. The rooms are designed but i could not find one chair that was comfortable, all the tables outside are made of cement so u can imagine how hot they get. The restaurant is expensive like hell and there is no fridge in the room, so u kind of need to eat in the hotel or go out, because they dont like when you bring food inside the hotel. They tell u that there is Internet but dont count on it. Anyway all this did not get me to rate this hotel terrible.
The note terrible comes from a experience. I get robbed in this hotel.SOMEBODY FROM THE STAFF STEAL 500 USD and MY IPHONE FROM MY ROOM. SO WATCH OUT! When i told the Manager his name was RICKKY HARRISON about this incident he told me that i am lying. I was in shock, if i would get a SORRY i would be happy, but after he was telling me that i am lying i felt humiliated . This incident happened on the lat day so the concern of this MANAGER was that i will leave without paying. Can u imagine , somebody steal from the Hotel room and the Manager of the hotel told you u were lying , no Sorry or further investigation and after all that he is pushing you every minute to pay. I felt never in my life treated so bad, thats why this hotel got a rating of terrible from me. I will never return to this place, its better to pay a third of this price and go to a guest house, where u get treated like a guest.

Room Tip: When i was there, they still built rooms. Dont take the villa directly in the netrance there is no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunilvarghese1, Director at Turtle Eco Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Irene S

We deeply regret to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Turtle Eco Beach. We are very proud of our small eco village and the specialist boutique service we provide. Should you return to the Madiha region may we suggest that a self-catering property may be more suited to your needs - this website should be useful http://www.lankaholidays.com/location-Southern+Coast_Mirissa-all.html

With regards to the ‘robbery’ that you write about, we only became aware of this when we asked you to settle your bill on check out. Again may I suggest that you contact Matara police on +94 041-2222727 - I am sure you will need a crime report number in order to claim on your insurance and we would, of course, assist the police with any resulting enquiries.

Warm regards

Sunil Varghese

_ ___

_Kind regards___
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matara
3.2 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
244 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
386 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Weligama
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#9 of 19 in Matara
137 reviews
5.9 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
241 reviews
5.7 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Eco Beach

Property: Turtle Eco Beach
Address: Beach Road, Batala Watta, Madiha, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Matara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Turtle Eco Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Eco Beach Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing