We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“oh man. Oh man. Oh man. Were we unprepared for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gordejuela 1

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Los Realejos, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
chimayred
New Durham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
805 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“oh man. Oh man. Oh man. Were we unprepared for this!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well I don't even know how and where to start. We decided to go to Tenerife and researched it for a few months. For some random reason we figured we'd stay away from the tourist spots in the south and go near Puerta de la Cruz on the north coast. Somehow we ended up in Los Realejos, about 3 miles from PDLC via the gorgeous Rambla de Castro. And we found this on air B & B in late september for maybe $70 a night?
So here's the deal...Irene was excellent about contacting us and giving directions. For sure, you can't find this yourself....and you'll see why. Once we met her assistant Katya; she drove us through pitch black narrow road surrounded by a stone wall, a dirt road....we were starting to get nervous. Where the hell was this? Finally after a series of hairpin turns which we later found out one of which had just a simple split rail fence between you and a 100 foot fall into a ravine, we were there. G1 is the smaller of the two apartments. Gorgeous renovated building. Paved courtyard, delightful, totally private. Never heard our neighbors. Went to sleep with the Atlantic pounding 500 feet below. Next morning we were blown away. We knew we were close to the atlantic, but weren't prepared for the Rambla, the ruins right at the foot of our ravine, the views. The Rambla de Castro is one of the "must" things to do on the north coast and this building is literally RIGHT on it and just about at the mid point. Go east for 3 gorgeous miles past the Playa des Roques and a few nice neighborhoods, cliffs, hotels, and you're in PDLC. Go west through a ravine and past some secluded beaches and you're at the MIrador San Pedro, fabulous cliffside restaurant.
So the place - wow. . OK, a couple of quirks. One, remember folks, this is europe. Don't ask me why....no screens in the windows. that's just some sort of european thing, which I don't understand. OK. Didn't have to worry about bats, only a few insects. Next, and this is personal....no air conditioning, and it was hot. Just something you need to be aware of. We went in the "shoulder" season -september, and it was in the 80's all the time and humid. I like A/C, so that's my quirk. Would probably not have made any difference if I knew it and if I had decided on someplace else we'd have missed out on a real experience.
OK, bearing that in mind, this is a big airy well ventilated place. Downstairs there's a convertible bed, a tV (never turned it on), hidden away is a washing machine and a drying rack. Totally decent kitchen but we didnt cook or use it. One thing - not sure why - and I'm sure Irene would be appalled - the fridge absolutely....uh...smelled...not sure why....it was clean but it was a real slam in the nostrils. We cleaned it and no further problems. Bathroom totally functional, shower was fine - again - Irene - the shower head is one of those telephone thingies and was almost broken so that may need to be replaced soon.
But folks, that was it. I mean, what a setting, and what a deal. We'd walk out, very secure locks and gate, walk to PDLC. Couldn't get over the scenery. Very central location. once you figured out how to get there in the day, very easy to get to. Very secluded. No restaurants or maid service, but PDLC is a ten minute ddrive, plenety of grocery stores around, both small and alrge. Dang, did we have a great time and would go back in a split second. Thank you Irene!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thanks for your comments, it helps us to improve. The window system is a typical canarian window, but you can make it completely dark in the house if you like. No house has air conditioning in the north of the island, as you don´t need it. The temperatures are between 20 - 27º C all year round, so as you sad, it is a personal thing. The shower has been replaced. If you had told me during your stay we would have done this immediately. The cleaning woman saw it after your departure. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time, now that you know how to get there ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teubishqu...
Chambray-Les-Tours, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin H
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2017
Es freut uns sehr, dass es Ihnen gefallen hat. Die Bilder sollen auch der Realität entsprechen. Bis zum nächsten Mal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia G
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Es freut uns, dass es Ihnen gefallen hat. Bis zum nächsten Mal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Gerne, bis zum nächsten Mal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix M
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die ruhige Lage
Liked least: Das W-LAN koennte schneller sein
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sardonicu...
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: le côté loft
Liked least: la terrasse
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Merci pour vos commentaires. Si vous vous réfèrez à la chaleur qu'il a fait au cours de votre séjour, il a été partout. La Terrasse de l´autre maison, Gordejuela 2, est encore plus large et avec une belle vue sur la mer. Il y a toujours un air frais.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing