We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I have traveled to over 30 countries and can say that Mariposa is an excellent choice. The lodging, the activities, the food, etc. are all incredible. Huge thumbs up.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I, and our two children (11 and 9 years old), stayed at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge in late March. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The property itself is unique (not a boring cookie-cutter resort) and nestled in the jungle. Our room was clean and comfortable. Sharon and her staff (Clara is a stand-out) did an excellent job of recommending and arranging transportation, excursions, and even accommodating my husband's broken leg - a skiing accident which occurred one week before we left our home to travel to Belize. Many of the other reviews (in particular, I agree with the review posted by "MEMSDP") detail activities/excursions which I also would recommend and which we all thoroughly enjoyed: the ATM cave, the butterfly farm, the close-by zip line area, and cave tubing. The best part was the trip to Tikal in Guatemala arranged by Mariposa. From the drivers who transported us from Mariposa, across the border and to Tikal, to the guides who led us through these amazing ancient Mayan ruins, the trip could not have been better. When we return to Belize, we will not hesitate to visit Mariposa again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had an excellent time. Sharon is an incredible hostess and her love for the area and the people was obvious. The service and food was excellent. Damion and Augusto are amazing and very knowledgable tour guides. We learned about the area, loved the Mayan ruins and the Butterfly Farm and thouroughly enjoyed ourselves. We plan to return to Belize and stay at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresah337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at Mariposa Jungle Lodge near the end of April 2012 and everything about it was really excellent. We wanted a really relaxed trip to Belize and the staff at Mariposa were great at helping set up all the trips we wanted to do without us having to do anything.
Sharyn and Clara were able to arrange for us to get collected from the airport and delivered to the lodge, all of the excursions that we wanted to do and then get us dropped back at the airport at the end of our time there. Everyone there is knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.
We booked a selection of trips through the lodge:
ATM – Most likely the most amazing caving trip you’ll ever do. It’s suitable for anyone who is at least reasonably mobile (there is some easy walking, swimming and climbing involved). The Mariposa staff arranged everything, including a minibus to pick us up and snacks and drinks to take with us. The cave is huge and is not claustrophobic at all and the guides are great.
River Tubing – A very relaxing day getting a very nice lunch, seeing some amazing wildlife and having fun in the river with Damian, one of Sharyns fantastic local guides.
Butterflies – Absolutely amazing trip to a butterfly farm just up the road from the lodge. We were able to watch humming birds and amazing butterflies all around us while enjoying a beer!
Tikal – Seamlessly organised trip to an amazing site. We had to travel to Tikal which involved crossing the border to Guatemala and swapping busses and meeting up with a guide who took us around the site. Every aspect was arranged perfectly and we were incredibly well looked after for the whole trip which was fantastic.

The food at the lodge was fantastic. It is a very nice variety of different Belizean dishes, all of which were delicious. Mariposa asked us to complete a questionnaire on what foods we did / didn’t like before we went and when we got there each meal was tailored to us individually. The coffee with breakfast is the best I’ve ever had! They have a well stocked bar from which Sharyn was able to make great cocktails. The local Belikan beers are great too.

In April when we were there the weather was fantastic. It was sunny every day and warm enough to enjoy swimming / lounging in the pool and in the river, but not uncomfortably hot and not humid. At night it was pleasantly cool and we considered getting out the extra blanket that was provided.

The Lodge is quite a long way out from San Ignacio and it really is in the jungle. If you don’t want to be in the jungle then might not be the place for you. If you’re even just slightly adventurous though then staying at Mariposa is the most luxury way to see an amazing place. There is lots and lots of amazing wildlife all around the lodge, including hundreds of amazing birds and butterflies. There are also the inevitable other bugs in the jungle, but they didn’t bother us at all. The cabanas have screens across all the windows and we found that no bugs came inside at all really.
The staff give you some simple directions to follow to make extra certain that you have no issues and by following these you are sure to have an amazing time.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MEMSDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Sharyn and Clara helped us set things up, and gave us good pre-travel information as well as great insider information about Belize once we were there. We rented an SUV, and I'd get here via the non Georgeville Road way if possible. We had a great introduction to Belize at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. The food was excellent, and made with preferences in mind. Eating was in front of a large window facing the wild jungle. Nice private nature trails, DVD and game room area, and a tall birdwatching tower. San Ignacio town was nice to visit also.
We did Caracol with Damian. Great guide, and knows his stuff about the flora, fauna, and history. A relaxing pool and cool Cabanas were there. All in all a wonderful experience.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Hezalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. It was everything I expected and more. The rooms were really nice. Cute pool. But the best part was the excursions and the guides who work for the lodge. Everyone is warm and friendly. I called this my Face Your Fears Trip. We did Caracol and the granite pools, ATM (holy cow, this was hard work and not for the unfit or feint of heart), Zip lining and river tubing. Each experience was unique and wonderful. The food was good and the tomato soup was the best I ever had. I loved all the personal touches. And we miss you Sharyn.

Cyndy and Dave

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I started our 2-week honeymoon at Mariposa - what a great way to begin our vacation! Sharon and her staff have designed and run a beautiful property in the middle of the jungle.

Overall: This is a unique, wonderful place to stay in the jungle. The service alone makes the stay worthwhile and the cabanas and grounds just add to the great experience. Damian, Rosa and Elisa provided excellent service, and Telmarie (the manager) especially took care of our every need.

Just be prepared for a bumpy (but worth it) 10-min drive past the nearest town of San Antonio and the constant singing of cicadas each night.

Rooms/Grounds: The cabanas are immaculate, with incredible details, from the screened in hammock reading room to the comfy beds. When we arrived there were flowers decorating our pillows and a heart "sculpture" fashioned from towels. So thoughtful! Each cabana is surrounded by jungle scenery and are far enough from each other so you feel like you have a little privacy.

There is a small, but well maintained, pool area with palapas donning the most comfortable hammocks I have ever slept in!

There is also a bird watching tower and nature trail around the entire property. You really feel like you are in the middle of the jungle (because you are)!

Food: There is a restaurant on-site which you need to pre purchase your meal plans from, making for a very convenient stay since there are no close businesses to walk to. Esau, the chef, has a culinary degree from the Art Institute of America in Belize and cooks up unique, different meals each night. His breakfast "jacks" (kind of like a breakfast burrito) were so good I had him write down the tortilla recipe for me.

Tours: the tours that the staff arranged were all great, and each guide was very knowledgeable about local history, animal life and plant life. We did a jungle horseback riding tour (Joe was great and the horses were well trained), Tikal tour (Francisco really knew his stuff) and a cave tubing tour on our way back from Belize City (Edward was hilarious). I would highly recommend any of the tours they arrange as other guests has great experiences with ATM as well.

Thanks for making the first week of our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
697 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
655 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
870 reviews
8.9 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
6.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £156 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort nestled under the jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six luxury cabanas with air conditioning and wifi, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy local and international cuisine, full bar, and the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. Mariposa is well-located for tours to regional Maya archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing