We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just monkeying around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at Mariposa Jungle Lodge from March 29 to April 5th. This was our first Belize experience and luckily I found an ad about Mariposa when I was researching Belize. We only had to contact Sharyn Brinker by email and she took it from there. She is totally amazing and our trip was fantastic because of her planning and attention to detail. She planned our itinerary after asking great questions about us and what we wanted to do and see. She arranged our tours, our two other destinations and the travel arrangements to get to each place. I was so relaxed without a care in the world regarding our trip and travel arrangements. Agusto, Damian, Nelmarie, Melvin and Eilda were amazing. Eilda made our anniversary very special for us with the assistance of Melvin. He was so excited about surprising us. It was fantastic and brought me to tears. I cannot say enough about Eric. He helped us through a very scary medical emergency (nothing to do with anything in Belize) and was our ROCK in a storm. The entire staff is amazing. We saw monkeys almost every single day right outside of our cabana which was Jaguar. The bright green parrots visited every morning. If you want a jungle experience this is the place. The only downfall was that Sharyn was not there during our stay, so we didn't get to meet the wonderful lady that planned our trip. Guess we will have to go back.

Room Tip: All cabanas have a private screened in area, but of course the Jaguar is my favorite because that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a fine time in the Belizean jungle and enjoyed our stay at Mariposa very much.
We stayed in Jaguar, went on great trips, and ate delicious food. Both breakfasts and dinners were enjoyable, and it was fun to try different foods than what we usually have at home. Good variety and taste sensations. Staff was friendly and all you could ask for.

Our trips to explore were good. The small ones were just as good as the longer ones. We enjoyed the zoo very much and liked how all was related to loving the animals and the environment. The Howler Monkey Sanctuary was amazing as we got to stand close to a mama and her baby. At the butterfly farm we had butterflies perch on us.

We went to Barton Creek Cave where you relax in a canoe and see incredible sights, San Ignacio with Xunantnich where it is nice to be around locals and to see such amazing ruins, and ATM where you can experience beauty and terror at the same time. All were excellent with the ATM trip being most memorable with Gliss as an incredible guide. I told him taking us was like taking his parents through the cave.

The staff is wonderful here, personable, kind, flexible, knowledgeable, and fun. We highly recommend Mariposa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingtwotogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Sharyn and her crack team were flawless hosts during our four-day visit in mid-February 2014. Our group included four adults and one child. There were many highlights:
* Every aspect of our time was well-scheduled by Sharyn, who booked us on trips to ATM and Tikal (among other things)
* We were accompanied on most excursions by Augusto, who is very knowledgeable and warm. His presence was especially reassuring on our excursion across the border to Tikal
* On-site staff were friendly and helpful at every turn
* Food was great. And the Mariposa team worked hard to accommodate my 9-year-old's sometimes finicky food choices
In all, we had a wonderful time and left Mariposa feeling spoiled by their team's efforts.

Room Tip: Don't miss the chance to go cave exploring at ATM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjnjmenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

As probably their 150th+ five-star rating, mine runs the risk of redundancy -- but I will write it anyway. The Mariposa ranks amongst our favorite experiences worldwide, and for one simple reason -- the people. The staff here is genuinely friendly, caring, knowledgeable, and professional, and they are why you should come here. This is a remote jewel, perched in a lost corner of the jungle up a rugged road, and once you're here, you'll know that this is a place appreciated best by discriminating, experienced travelers. There are many great tours to take from here with the Mariposa staff, a lot to see -- but the reason to come here is to fall off the grid for a few days with people who genuinely care that you see their world the way they do. Many thanks to Damian, Augusto, Sharlene, Gilray, Nell Marie, Melvin, and the whole team for an experience we will never forget. Hesitate no further -- this is THE place for the jungle portion of your trip to Belize. Wish we had stayed here longer !

Room Tip: the Puma cabana has an amazing view, and perfect for a family of three; they are doing an addition t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryallofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Mariposa Jungle Lodge is definitely well off the beaten trail. The last nine miles of the drive to the lodge is one of the worst roads I have ever been on. It is a dirt road that requires speeds between 1 MPH and 15 MPH as it is extremely bumpy. However once you arrive at the lodge it is a beautiful location with very pleasant staff. At the lodge there truly is nothing to do other than hangout by the pool and wait for your next meal. My wife and I went to the lodge as the beginning leg of our 9 day trip staying here for two days and three nights. We used this location as a jumping point for any of the numerous tours and excursions the jungle has to offer. The meals were very good and most notably the guide we had for the two days Agusto was amazing. Agusto was very knowledgeable and accommodating for our trip and he made the trip worth while. If going to the lodge you must go see the Maya ruins of Caracol and the ATM cave tour. This is a great two or four day stop nothing more as the lodge has little to do because you are so far out into the jungle. But worth the first few days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have traveled all over the world except the middle east. As you know, most vacation spots have hordes of people. Not here. This facility is so beautiful, right in the rain forest. The tranquility is hypnotizing. The owners and staff are at your disposal 24/7. No phones,televisions or radios. Heaven it is. The staff will make all of your excursion reservations, and drive you to and fro. Everyone is so nice, knowledgeable and obviously in love with their location on this earth. We are not young, ages from 63 to 82. There were 4 of us. We went zip lining, canoeing in a underground cave, horseback riding, Belize zoo and to the butterfly garden, and yes you have done all of these things before, right, but not like this. The beauty is mesmerizing. Many activities for young and old alike. Hope I have helped you to select an unbelievable experience. Happy travels. Rita and Ron Bernot

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 40th birthdays together with a trip to Belize and we stayed at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. As most our vacations in the past have been to ski resorts, Caribbean Islands or Kids theme parks, we wanted to try something different. We were looking for a bit of adventure while still having a relaxed vacation experience. Mariposa looked promising and ultimately proved to be a great fit. We had questions prior to booking our trip and Sharon was extremely responsive and eager to help to tailor our vacation experience to our wishes. There were so many interesting choices for the excursions, but we were able to build an itinerary that worked great for us.
After a long day of traveling, transferring flights and waiting in customs, we were greeted by our guide and driver Damian. Over the following week, we found that Damian and his brother and fellow guide Agusto were fantastic ambassadors of the country, showing us the history, culture and of course the adventure we were looking for.
Our first day trip was to the Caracol Ruins. An early morning departure time started us on our two hour journey to the Caracol ruins site. We traveled through the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Preserve, a rugged and remote portion of the country which has an entirely unique ecosystem compared what we were used to seeing in our first day and a half in Belize. We had a brief stop at an overlook at Rio-on-Pools as well as small walking tour at Rio-on Caves. Although Rio on caves was a quick waypoint stop, it really set the tone for what we were expecting to see: incredible natural wonders that can only be seen in this part of the world.
Over the next few hours, we were able to explore the site without any boundaries. Climbing on the temples as the Mayans once did let us really experience the site. Fantastic views were provided from the top of the highest temple. There were only a few other groups at the park so except for when we were at the picnic area, we felt as though we had the park to ourselves. A close up look at a group of Howler Monkeys and great picnic lunch from Mariposa topped off our visit.
Another adventure included ATM cave. First you wade through 2 rivers during the 45 minute hike to the entrance. There is a short swim to get into the cave which was large, however I was nervous about the tight areas. I found the once in a lifetime experience outweighed the fear I had. The 2.5 hour trek in the cave had me swimming and climbing but ended with a look back at the untouched past deep within the cave. Our tour guide gave us so much information into the history of this area and the Mayan life. This excursion made the trip the adventure we were hoping for! Other trips included the butterfly farm for cocktails(interesting, but could have done without), zipplining in the trees, and cavetubing.
The Mariposa Jungle Resort delivered in every way during our trip. The food for breakfast, lunch and dinner were all fabulous dishes of the culture. The meals are customized to your likes and any food preferences can be accommodated by the wonderful staff. The bungalows are quaint and the perfect size to relax and unwind after a long day. There is a hammock on the screened in porch to see the jungle and hear nature nearby. The pool is a lovely touch as well as all the plants and flowers.
We took several strolls on the trails that lead to the bird tower and Mayan ruins on the property. It is evident that Sharon and Jim love this area and want to make sure that every visitor takes away the love of the Belizian culture and jungle.
We highly recommend this resort for the relaxation away from it all, but mostly because it is located centrally to all the attractions, the food is delicious and the hosts and their resort are welcoming. If you are hoping for adventure, you will experience it here in such a beautiful country.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and equally perfect. They are private no matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
660 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
409 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £128 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort nestled under the jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six luxury cabanas with air conditioning and wifi, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy local and international cuisine, full bar, and the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. Mariposa is well-located for tours to regional Maya archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing