We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings enhanced by terrific staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great surroundings enhanced by terrific staff”
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Stayed at Mariposa when other last minute choices were sold out. Boy, I'm so glad we did. I can't imagine a better place to spend a few days while exploring the Mayan ruins and other attractions in the Cayo district. Mariposa's host and proprietor, Sharyn, is an American ex-pat with a fascinating previous life. She was a hoot, and her personal involvement added immeasurably to the experience (just make sure you are on her side in any games of trivial pursuit). As others have commented, the rest of her local team was charming, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. They genuinely seem to like both their jobs and working there. Damian was such a great guide and driver, and something of a renaissance man. Take the hike through the grounds with him and you'll come away immeasurably more appreciative of life in the jungle. Nelmarie, Sharyn's assistant manager, could not have been more friendly and competent.

My friends and I found the scale of the place just right for this kind of experience. There are 6 huts set in a nicely landscaped area with thatched roofs, four poster beds that were very comfortable, a great bathroom (loved the shower), and a small separate room with screens and a hammock to feel even closer to the jungle. No TV, though they have that in the main lodge, at least for watching movies if you'd like. We ate breakfast and dinner at the lodge, and the meals were a real treat. You get to choose from a variety of themes, and Sharyn makes sure to find out what you like and don't like. In the lodge, they have a nice bar, lot's of games and books to read, and of course talking to the staff and other guests is really what it's all about. It is a very intimate setting, and you quickly feel like a welcomed, appreciated lost friend.

We took tours of Tikal and ATM, which were all arranged by Sharyn. When one of our party decided that spending 3 hours in the ATM was too claustrophobic (though we all had a fascinating time in there), Sharyn found a great alternative activity, and arranged for seperate transportation. She has great attention to detail, and is "right on it."

(By the way, you are not deep in the jungle far from civilization. Like other "jungle lodges" in the area, you are just a little into the forest so that you have the experience, but are still close near enough to the roads to make going places accessible.

All in all, a great place if what I've described is what you are looking for. While we were leaving, they were getting started with set up for a wedding that was taking place on the grounds in a few days. So if you have an event like that, it's worth exploring too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickyskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    22
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
140
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

What can I say, Sharyn is an excellent innkeeper; the Mariposa Lodge is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a serene jungle setting near the many Maya tourist sites and other jungle activities. We stayed for two days; Sharyn arranged a tour of Tikal in Guatemala, horseback riding in the jungle, ATM tour and all of our transportation. We did a lot in two days. Her helper Damion was a gem, driving us around, taking us on hikes in the jungle near the lodge and teaching us about the local culture and history. Sharyn made the trip interesting for us and was an integral part of our experience. I highly recommend the Mariposa Jungle Lodge and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derwin424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Sharyn, the owner, left us in the capable hands of her staff while she was away. She had arranged everything before she left and when we threw a wrench in things, the staff adjusted easily with smiles and great attitudes. We were the only guests of the resort and while we hope that this little gem succeeds, we were also so privileged to have it all to ourselves. We treasured every day of our experience.

Ruins at Caracol tour, ziplining and caving at Calico Jacks (that promises to become a large commercial tour at some point which is good for them but not for us. We had it to ourselves though, so it was treat), butterfly farm, barton creek canoeing (again to ourselves..AMAZING), and lovely lunch at Maca Bank lodge (also worth staying at if you have time.) Action packed, amazing, but time for naps and rest as well. Did I mention the jungle BBQ in the bird watching tower? The stars that you can see....

Damien, our personal guide, was knowledgeable, protective, entertaining, and professional. He takes great pride in his work, and his community. We had him all to ourselves the whole trip. He was staying at the lodge with his family and was flexible and adventurous. (He saved me from a giant scorpion....Amy: "Um...Damien?....there's a scorpion over here.") Can I just mention his driving skill was well...beyond admirable. Those roads are an adventure in and of themselves and he navigated them with years of experience and kept us safe and sound.

Amy and Brad (relatively recent ex-pats) are young and passionate about Belize. They have such interesting lives and experiences to share but their humility may force you to drag it from them piece meal. They were enthusiastic, helpful and gracious. (Amy and Brad did the serving and were the people we saw the most of (aside from Damien).) Did you know that CD's have a limited shelf life in the jungle? (Who knew?)

Nelmarie (asst mgr in Sharyn's absence) is about the size of a sack of potatoes and her smile and helpful disposition was such a treat. She cooked and the meals were delicious! She's so tiny it's hard to trust a small, skinny person's cooking, but her meals were excellent.

After our stint in the jungle we went to Ambergris Caye and were struck but the gluttonous and rude demands of other American tourists. The islanders were so fun, funny, open and friendly. It was the Americans that you have to look out for. Our lodging facilities was vastly superior to the crammed in condos on the Caye. At Mariposa we had a giant bed, great breezes, beautiful cabana and privacy. At the Caye we had one condo of 48, a swimming pool next door, people everywhere. (But the snorkeling and reef action was incredible and worth the visit)

We were spoiled at Mariposa and we enjoyed every minute of it. We hope you will go! - Karrie and Joshua (Eugene, Oregon)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapandPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

A wonderful lodge in the jungle! My girlfriend and I had the entire place to ourselves and we received wonderful service from the staff. They were very kind and were wonderful to speak to. Food was great and we were able to choose our themed meals - the Jungle BBQ is a must! Damien was great tour guide and driver and we appreciated his help! We had another wonderful guide into Tikal, Francisco, who was a walking encyclopedia! We did ATM (a great adventure), Tikal (amazing), and zip lining and river tubing (used as a "relaxation day"). I would highly recommend using all through through the lodge as they can give you a quote for all services.

The cabanas were wonderful! Plenty of hot water which is refreshing after long days in the jungle. The screened in patio was my favorite. A hammock and two chairs was a great way to relax in the morning and evening an hear the birds outside. We had the Jaguar cabana and it certainly was the romantic.

Overall, I certainly recommend this place to all travelers looking for a nice lodge that will not break the bank, but does not cut corners in the sake of price. An excellent value and highly recommend. To Sharyn and the staff - thank you!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Belize. We spent four nights at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. Based on other reviews on Trip Advisor, we had high expectations. We were definitely not disappointed. We were completely satisfied with every aspect of our stay -- atmosphere, cabanas, food, available tours, etc. The two things that stood out the most were the service and the flexibility of the staff. Everyone -- the owner Sharyn, the guides, the dining room and kitchen staff, drivers, and housekeeper -- treated us like we really mattered and that they truly wanted our stay to be as pleasant as possible. All of our special needs (and we have plenty pertaining to diet) were carefully attended to. Our stay in the Cayo district was memorable for lots of reasons but the hospitality provided by Mariposa Jungle Lodge was definitely one of the highlights.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Sharon and Jim are a gregarious American couple, who after travelling to the four corners of the globe and sailing the seven seas, stumbled across a spot in a Belizean jungle that was to become Mariposa Jungle Lodge.

We were fortunate to visit just out of peak season and have the resort and their attention all to ourselves. They assure us though, that individual attention is their mantra even if the lodge is full. Despite the timing, we had gorgeous weather.

The couple picked us up from the airport and en route to the resort, regaled us with tales of the country and culture and wet our appetite for adventures to come. Our cabin was designed to blend into the jungle and was made with indigenous materials.
Inside was a 5 star quality room decorated with local treasures and equipped to the nines.

Sharon asks one to choose before hand from a wide variety of themed meals. These she prepares with fresh local ingredients as well as a few additions from her well stocked international pantry. The food was excellent quality, hearty, tasty and well presented. One night we were treated to a Belizean barbeque under the stars. This atop the newly built bird watch tower situated a few minutes walk into the jungle, camouflaged from the lights and cabins.

Guests are given tips about activities in and around the area as well as further a field if needed. Sharon and Jim are happy to organise or facilitate your arrangements but should you wish, you can do your own thing too. We were fortunate to have Augusto, a Belizean man who works for Mariposa Lodge, as our personal guide for most of our activities. He was able to spot rare birds and the odd jaguar, explain the idiosyncrasies of indigenous jungle plant life such as “The Marriage Tree”, imitate howler monkeys to get their attention for our photos and enlighten us about local culture, both the mystical ancient and the new. This he did while leading us up the giant stairs of ancient Mayan Ruins and through stunning, hard to reach waterfalls and secluded caves the size of an IMAX theatre. We were fortunate enough to still be able to take the ATM adventure tour where visitors hike into the jungle, wade through underwater streams and swim through water filled caves before climbing up into a secret cave where ancient artefacts of the Mayan people are buried.

After an energetic day out and about, it was so relaxing to come back to our cabin and sit on the balcony, reading a book or lying in the hammock and just absorbing the harmonious sounds of the jungle while drinking a specially prepared cocktail.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junglefan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2009

After a week in San Pedro with it's hustle and bustle we finished up a two week vacation at this Lodge. The staff and location provided us the perfect balance between adventure and relaxation before returning home. We had a rather large group and everyone was able to do things as part of a group, individually or just hang out in the Lodge. The staff is friendly and attentive but not invasive. The huts were clean and comfortable inside but rustic outside. The property provided us places to explore on foot and the lodge provided transportation to the sights we wanted to visit. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metistravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
616 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
428 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Property: Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort nestled under the jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six luxury cabanas with air conditioning and wifi, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy local and international cuisine, full bar, and the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. Mariposa is well-located for tours to regional Maya archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing