We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Begin a Jungle Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Begin a Jungle Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

The Mariposa Jungle Lodge was a real treat for our family and a great way to experience the Cayo District in Belize. Sharyn and her staff were fantastic - from the service and meals to the excursions organized by the lodge - everything was top notch. The thatch-roofed cabanas were beautiful, well-appointed, clean and comfortable. The lodge is located in a jungle setting with plenty of opportunities to view the wildlife and tropical vegetation. I can't say enough about the sightseeing excursions to Caracol and ATM. Our Mayan guides, Agusto and Damian, were so informative and enthusiastic about their jobs, it really added to the experience. However, the best was the Village Culture Tour where we were able to meet a family and learn about their daily lives. We enjoyed a traditional meal with tortillas we made ourselves! Be prepared, paved roads are the exception, not the rule, but we wouldn't have missed a mile of it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleneast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    22
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
73
134
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

The road to all the hotels in the area are down not well marked and very bumpy gravel roads so we were thinking we might have made a mistake in choosing to stay in the Jungle. When we finally made it there we were pleasantly surprised. Our rooms were wonderful and the owner is very friendly. We did the BBQ on the birdwatching tower and really enjoyed the food and the company. We were able to choose our meals so we all were happy with those. We had already book a tour at Jaguar Paw and it ended up taking 1 1/2 hours to get there. I would recommend asking Sharyn what they have along their road because they have Zipling and Tubing and Caves and Ruins so you don't have to go back to other roads. They are alot further then they look on a map. We took one of Sharyn's guides with us to the Cave, Caracol, and waterfalls and found him to be very knowledgable and very friendly. Sharyn is very good at recommending things in the area because she has done most of them. We were very happy with the rooms (finally a hot shower that stays hot), the use of her umbrellas at the ruins were a life saver, and the stories while we were bellied up to the bar.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoNative19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Every minute of our time was enjoyable. Sharyn, the owner, provided an informative, and friendly guide for us to visit extraordinary Carocal and swim in beautiful pools beneath a waterfall. The Mariposa property is beautiful with a trail through the jungle and a three-story bird watching tower; cabanas are comfortable and beautifully furnished. Meals were delicious, prepared by Nelmarie, a local woman whose father lead us on a tour of a cave filled with Mayan relics. As we left, Sharyn encouraged us to try a nearby zip line which was another great recommendation. We were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Stayed at Mariposa when other last minute choices were sold out. Boy, I'm so glad we did. I can't imagine a better place to spend a few days while exploring the Mayan ruins and other attractions in the Cayo district. Mariposa's host and proprietor, Sharyn, is an American ex-pat with a fascinating previous life. She was a hoot, and her personal involvement added immeasurably to the experience (just make sure you are on her side in any games of trivial pursuit). As others have commented, the rest of her local team was charming, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. They genuinely seem to like both their jobs and working there. Damian was such a great guide and driver, and something of a renaissance man. Take the hike through the grounds with him and you'll come away immeasurably more appreciative of life in the jungle. Nelmarie, Sharyn's assistant manager, could not have been more friendly and competent.

My friends and I found the scale of the place just right for this kind of experience. There are 6 huts set in a nicely landscaped area with thatched roofs, four poster beds that were very comfortable, a great bathroom (loved the shower), and a small separate room with screens and a hammock to feel even closer to the jungle. No TV, though they have that in the main lodge, at least for watching movies if you'd like. We ate breakfast and dinner at the lodge, and the meals were a real treat. You get to choose from a variety of themes, and Sharyn makes sure to find out what you like and don't like. In the lodge, they have a nice bar, lot's of games and books to read, and of course talking to the staff and other guests is really what it's all about. It is a very intimate setting, and you quickly feel like a welcomed, appreciated lost friend.

We took tours of Tikal and ATM, which were all arranged by Sharyn. When one of our party decided that spending 3 hours in the ATM was too claustrophobic (though we all had a fascinating time in there), Sharyn found a great alternative activity, and arranged for seperate transportation. She has great attention to detail, and is "right on it."

(By the way, you are not deep in the jungle far from civilization. Like other "jungle lodges" in the area, you are just a little into the forest so that you have the experience, but are still close near enough to the roads to make going places accessible.

All in all, a great place if what I've described is what you are looking for. While we were leaving, they were getting started with set up for a wedding that was taking place on the grounds in a few days. So if you have an event like that, it's worth exploring too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickyskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

What can I say, Sharyn is an excellent innkeeper; the Mariposa Lodge is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a serene jungle setting near the many Maya tourist sites and other jungle activities. We stayed for two days; Sharyn arranged a tour of Tikal in Guatemala, horseback riding in the jungle, ATM tour and all of our transportation. We did a lot in two days. Her helper Damion was a gem, driving us around, taking us on hikes in the jungle near the lodge and teaching us about the local culture and history. Sharyn made the trip interesting for us and was an integral part of our experience. I highly recommend the Mariposa Jungle Lodge and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derwin424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Sharyn, the owner, left us in the capable hands of her staff while she was away. She had arranged everything before she left and when we threw a wrench in things, the staff adjusted easily with smiles and great attitudes. We were the only guests of the resort and while we hope that this little gem succeeds, we were also so privileged to have it all to ourselves. We treasured every day of our experience.

Ruins at Caracol tour, ziplining and caving at Calico Jacks (that promises to become a large commercial tour at some point which is good for them but not for us. We had it to ourselves though, so it was treat), butterfly farm, barton creek canoeing (again to ourselves..AMAZING), and lovely lunch at Maca Bank lodge (also worth staying at if you have time.) Action packed, amazing, but time for naps and rest as well. Did I mention the jungle BBQ in the bird watching tower? The stars that you can see....

Damien, our personal guide, was knowledgeable, protective, entertaining, and professional. He takes great pride in his work, and his community. We had him all to ourselves the whole trip. He was staying at the lodge with his family and was flexible and adventurous. (He saved me from a giant scorpion....Amy: "Um...Damien?....there's a scorpion over here.") Can I just mention his driving skill was well...beyond admirable. Those roads are an adventure in and of themselves and he navigated them with years of experience and kept us safe and sound.

Amy and Brad (relatively recent ex-pats) are young and passionate about Belize. They have such interesting lives and experiences to share but their humility may force you to drag it from them piece meal. They were enthusiastic, helpful and gracious. (Amy and Brad did the serving and were the people we saw the most of (aside from Damien).) Did you know that CD's have a limited shelf life in the jungle? (Who knew?)

Nelmarie (asst mgr in Sharyn's absence) is about the size of a sack of potatoes and her smile and helpful disposition was such a treat. She cooked and the meals were delicious! She's so tiny it's hard to trust a small, skinny person's cooking, but her meals were excellent.

After our stint in the jungle we went to Ambergris Caye and were struck but the gluttonous and rude demands of other American tourists. The islanders were so fun, funny, open and friendly. It was the Americans that you have to look out for. Our lodging facilities was vastly superior to the crammed in condos on the Caye. At Mariposa we had a giant bed, great breezes, beautiful cabana and privacy. At the Caye we had one condo of 48, a swimming pool next door, people everywhere. (But the snorkeling and reef action was incredible and worth the visit)

We were spoiled at Mariposa and we enjoyed every minute of it. We hope you will go! - Karrie and Joshua (Eugene, Oregon)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapandPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

A wonderful lodge in the jungle! My girlfriend and I had the entire place to ourselves and we received wonderful service from the staff. They were very kind and were wonderful to speak to. Food was great and we were able to choose our themed meals - the Jungle BBQ is a must! Damien was great tour guide and driver and we appreciated his help! We had another wonderful guide into Tikal, Francisco, who was a walking encyclopedia! We did ATM (a great adventure), Tikal (amazing), and zip lining and river tubing (used as a "relaxation day"). I would highly recommend using all through through the lodge as they can give you a quote for all services.

The cabanas were wonderful! Plenty of hot water which is refreshing after long days in the jungle. The screened in patio was my favorite. A hammock and two chairs was a great way to relax in the morning and evening an hear the birds outside. We had the Jaguar cabana and it certainly was the romantic.

Overall, I certainly recommend this place to all travelers looking for a nice lodge that will not break the bank, but does not cut corners in the sake of price. An excellent value and highly recommend. To Sharyn and the staff - thank you!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Property: Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort nestled under the jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six luxury cabanas with air conditioning and wifi, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy local and international cuisine, full bar, and the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. Mariposa is well-located for tours to regional Maya archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing