We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quaint with great staff!”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

After a part of our trip fell through, we went looking for a new place to settle, and Mariposa sounded like a great option. We emailed Sharyn, the owner, and she returned our correspondence immediately to let us know there was room for us the very next day. We stayed a total of 4 wonderful nights in the wonderful lodge in the middle of the jungle, and enjoyed amazing homemade breakfasts and dinners that were tailored to our specific interests and food preferences. Sharyn and the staff did a wonderful job helping me eat amazing and healthy meals despite my food restrictions, and they even let me watch their fabulous cook Selma make freshly-made tortillas as well as informing me how to make the traditional belizian staples we ate later that evening. While the lodge is fairly far from attractions, the staff is more than happy to help you with transportation. The cabanas are incredibly clean and the large beds come equipped with mosquito nets, though there are surprisingly few bugs where they are in the jungle. The price is right in the middle between bare-bones and opulent, but delivers fabulous ammenities with beautiful bathrooms, a cute sitting room, and a comfortable lodge with internet, lots of books to read, and a larger TV than in my own home! Also lots of options for affordable sights and tours. They were putting in a pool when we were there that should be ready by the new year. If you want a get-a-way with beautiful scenery, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyophd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    22
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
141
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This review is long overdue. Last March my friend and I stayed at Mariposa Jungle Lodge and had an unbelievable experience. We were expecting to stay in a rustic hut but we were surprised by the cabanas. On the outside, they blended into the jungle environment with tasiste palm (a term I learned there) exterior and thatched roof. But the inside was the real surprise. We’re young and had never stayed in a luxury hotel. The size of the room, with king size canopy bed and separate sitting area, seemed huge. And that was in addition to a spacious screened-in porch with our own hammock and chairs, overlooking the jungle. The bathroom was large, tiled and modern, and even had a beautiful hardwood bench to sit on or whatever.

The hostess, Sharyn, and her staff were lots of fun and gave us good advice about what to do. We were able see and learn so much in our 5 days there. Caracol is a must-see Mayan ruin. Big Rock Falls is an awesome place to swim in the natural pools of the falls. We had a picnic lunch there when we arrived by horseback and liked it so much we returned another afternoon. ATM is incredible. We loved the hike, crossing a river a few times, climbing rocks to enter the cave, swimming and wading among awesome stalagtites and mites, and finally reaching the treasures hidden in this former ceremonial cave. Another day we tubed down the river and, thanks to the guide, spotted several camouflaged iguanas in the trees and lots of tropical birds. Mariposa has a fantastic birdwatch tower built in the jungle. We used it in the daytime to read, watch for birds, drink beer, and hang out. At night, we had a gourmet BBQ under the stars. (This was not your typical hot dog/hamburger BBQ. It was spiced and skewered shrimp, chicken and pork tenderloin, along with ceviche, gazpacho and a great hot dessert.)

Sharyn helped find us bargain accommodations on Caye Caulker and a great condo deal in San Pedro, so we were able to experience three different places. On the way from the Lodge to the water taxi, our usual Mariposa guide, Damian, took us to the Belize Zoo, which we enjoyed more than we expected. The water taxi was cheap and fun.

Overall, our first jungle experience was exciting and unforgettable and we thank Sharyn and the Mariposa Jungle Lodge staff for making it possible. Obviously, we highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erg_Twerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I spent six lovely days at Mariposa Lodge in August 2010. The place is everything the website promises and more. The owner was very helpful and communicative before we arrived and arranged a series of wonderful excursions for us helping us maximize our limited time. Her staff (she was not on-property during our stay) could not have been more gracious, accommodating or helpful. Our cabana was everything it should be and a wonderful place to come home to after a long day of caving or other excursions. And the meals were uniformly delicious and served in grand style. The sunset meal on the observation tower was a special treat!
Damien our Mariposa guide was unfailingly charming, informative and patient with us. Thanks to him we learned a great deal about the history, flora and fauna of not only the area around Mariposa but also of Belize. And we really enjoyed his informative tour of Caracol and the Belize Zoo. The guides provided for our excursions to the ATM and Crystal Caves and for our trip to Tikal (Guatemala) were also amazing. We highly recommend those trips to anyone visiting Belize. And, of course, our horseback riding and ziplining day (just down the road from Mariposa) were a blast as well.
In sum, if you’re looking for a warm atmosphere, good food, and lovely comfortable accommodations, Mariposa is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLADuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed four days at the Maripos Jungle Resort in Belize and had a very enjoyable experience. The resort offers a number of lodgings based on your needs -- from couples to families and large groups. Sharyn Brinker, the owner and operator with her husband, was an unbelievable host. We had breakfast and dinner each day at the resort and the meals were wonderful! Sharyn has a whole list of activities to review and then select the ones that interest you most, from climbing exploring ancient ruins to tubing down a river! Her staff was first rate and very attentive to our needs. To get there is an hour ride from the aiport -- wish the location was closer -- but you won't be disappointed once you arrive. We had much needed R&R in this quiet location during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Mariposa is a very charming lodge, peaceful and built locally.
The staff is very helpful and dedicated.
You can see various exotic animals at dawn or in the early morning.
I definitely recommend it for couples (hetero or homosexuals) but also for small families or group of friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Mariposa Jungle Lodge is well positioned to make you feel like the only person in the jungle, while allowing a luxurious atmosphere. While staying there, I was able to learn about the surrounding Mayan culture, visit ruins and caves, adventure through the lands on horseback, and even spend an afternoon inner tubing down a nearby river in search of tropical birds and iguanas. During the evenings, my palate was well rewarded by the eclectic dinner selections. I was fortunate enough to spend one of these nights beneath the stars while enjoying a gourmet jungle barbeque a top a 20 foot bird watch tower. From the picturesque jungle cabanas to the ethnically diverse cuisine, Mariposa Jungle Lodge is what any traveler (experienced or not) would love to be a part of. The lodge caters to the more inquisitive and adventurous travelers. I hope to return with my college friends to introduce them to world class travel, the opportunity to explore the jungle and the ancient Mayan culture, and to share visits to riveting nearby attractions like ATM and Big Rock Falls. The owners love to share personal experiences from their own world travels with any and all who come to their jewel in the jungle.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIT_Coed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We visited the Cayo District from May 15 - 18, 2010 with our 21-year old son. Our experience with the Mariposa Lodge was perfect from beginning to end (check out the extensive & informative web site). The owner, Sharyn Brinker, was quick to reply to all email questions and we spoke on the phone several times when planning the trip. She has created a peaceful paradise in the middle of the jungle and she her achieved her goal of providing us with a wonderful experience in Belize. We were the only guests in the 6 available cabanas (May is slow season) so we felt like royalty. The cabana was spotless, comfortable, roomy and we enjoyed the sitting area with the hammock- my new "happy place" listening to the birds. The best feature was the mosquito netting around the beds- unique & useful- plus the ceiling fan and extra standing fan helped keep the temp comfortable. We loved the building with the restaurant/bar and library (internet access, games, books). The meal plan was well worth the price. Sharyn sends a food questionnaire prior to the trip so breakfasts, packed lunches & dinners were designed for our tastes. Nelmarie, the Belizean cook, made delicious meals planned around our sightseeing trips. She and the 2 guides (Agusto & Damian) spoke English, were very friendly and helped us to learn more about their local culture. Sharyn helps you to plan excursions before you arrive based on your interests and there is plenty to see and do. We highly recommend Caracol, Big Rock Falls, Barton Creek Cave, Calico Jack zip lining and the Belize Zoo. Agusto & Damien drove us in the lodge vehicles (from the airport pick up to all tour sites- definitely better than renting a car!!) and the location of the lodge was a reasonable distance to all activities. Having them as built-in guides available to us every day was a huge advantage due to their knowledge of the history & details of every site (plus they know when to avoid any crowds from cruise ships). If you choose Mariposa, you will get a great value, great service and have a great experience. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Our thanks to the entire crew!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italy1Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
621 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
433 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
245 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Property: Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort nestled under the jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six luxury cabanas with air conditioning and wifi, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy local and international cuisine, full bar, and the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. Mariposa is well-located for tours to regional Maya archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing