We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad, but ist worth its price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Punta Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kraków
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“not bad, but ist worth its price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The first impresion is good. Stuff is nice and polite.

Rooms wre well equpied but I cant say it about bahroom - it should be renowated. I saw a cocroach in room.

Breakfast bufet is poor quality - meat and juices but lunches and dinners are very good , both: choice and quality. All inclusive is a waste of money - no drinks , only vodka, run, gin, wine and juices.
Overall, this hotel is a waste of money, it offers the same standard and quality as the opposite one - Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort (the biggest) but it costs 50% of Barcelo Puntia Umbria Mar. So I/m not fully satisfied because of paid money.

Room Tip: take the other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Magda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    518
    237
    88
    48
See reviews for
459
731
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I travelled on an all-inclusive package with Just You, I could not have had a better break to start my retirement. Lovely hotel, good service, good variety of food in restaurant

Found the staff very helpful, but like anywhere in the world, if you at least try their language, a better result is obtained

Room staff friendly, I always got a cheery 'Hola' each morning

Room Tip: I don't think it is worth paying for a balcont/sea view unless staying a long time in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheryl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was there in early June, what a wonderful place. Never been to this part of Spain before, but what a wonderful surprise when we got there.

Area is green with Pine Forests, wonderful walks, cycling if you want (Safe) or just relax by the pool or on the beach.

Hotel, needs a bit of updating but Staff were excellent, especially Matthew the English Chef, always willing to help or have a chat, great asset to the hotel team.

Unfortunately if you're not with a tour operator, then excursions and getting about are a bit difficult.

Dawn the Saga rep was willing to help us with information and places to visit, nothing being too much trouble for her, even though we weren't with Saga. Keep hold of her Saga she will get you customers.

Due to Dawn and her knowledge and kindness we have now booked our first Saga Holiday !!!! Let's hope all Saga Reps are as good as her.

Overall, great place, great people, and well worth a visit.

One bad point, never saw any management about, maybe they should make themselves more visible. We never saw who the manager was, maybe a photo board of all Managers on display would help.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Date of stay 12-26th June. Travelled with Saga Holidays.

Positive Points:
Saga are an excellent company to travel with. No hanging around at the airport on arrival for other flights. My husband and I plus three other guests were greeted by Chris, one of the Saga reps, and straightaway we boarded a mini bus that took us straight to resort.
On our arrival we were greeted by our rep, Dawn Hudson. I cannot commend this lady enough. She has a positive, professional attitude, always ready with a smile and a joke and she really knows how to care for her guests down to the last detail.
The hotel externally is a pleasant attractive looking building, with reasonable sized pool and grounds leading towards a board walk and the beach. Rooms are a good size. We paid a sea view supplement and our view was straight across the pool and out to sea.
On the beach you can walk for miles in either direction. Left is towards Punta Umbria, right is towards El Portil (worth walking to when tide is out especially) and El Rompido for which you need to order a taxi, as no direct bus service. Once there, you can access some really good walks when you pass the lighthouse and thatched roofed shopping mall. You can also take a small boat ride to the sand bar across the water.
The half day included excursions are well worth taking if you've never visited this part of Spain previously. El Rocio especially is like stepping back in time.
I would strongly recommend the trip to Seville if you've never visited this city before. A word of warning however, DON'T TAKE THE OPTIONAL BOAT EXCURSION. It is a complete rip-off and you see nothing of any real interest. If you've had enough of exploring Seville by this time, your best option is the Parque de María Luisa gardens directly behind the Plaza de Espana. There are pleasant shady spots and ducks you can feed.
Hotel food was generally quite good, our only gripes were it wasn't always hot enough. The all-inclusive wine was pretty abysmal and no tuna or sardines during the whole of our stay.
Entertainment was OK some nights, but exceptionally loud the nights it was held inside.
We cannot comment on the Saga Gala Dinner as we didn't attend it, but those who did enjoyed it.
The hotel also runs a courtesy mini bus into the town of Punta Umbria. There isn't a great deal to see of any real interest. The estuary side offers some pretty awful views towards the vast industrialised area of Huelva and the town itself is more of a working town rather than a tourist destination. The shops all close in the afternoon. The only points of interest in Punta Umbria are the English Museum, relatively close to the hotel, the small torre and church close by.
If you like walking, Dawn has printed out a few walking options you can take. Particularly pleasant is the fish farm walk, taking you along extensive tracks through umbrella pines. Once reaching the fish farm you'll be greeted by the friendly owner and his amiable Labrador. There is a hide there for bird watching.

Negative Points:
These are geared towards the hotel and suggestions for improvements. As commented previously the rooms are generously proportioned, but are completely lacking in adequate drawer space. The floor covering is awful - the kind you'd expect to find outdoors. It's therefore difficult to clean and your feet constantly feel gritty.
Bathroom lighting is appalling and this is partly due to the garishly painted walls. There are no shelves to place anything and toiletries supplied are minimal. The hotel provides no pull out lines on the balcony, which is silly when they are asking guests not to put their towels across the balcony. Stairs are poorly lit and no wonder when many of the bulbs need replacing. I told the assistant manager who replied it would be dealt with immediately - nothing happened! This is a serious safety issue.
Standards of hygiene were not as good as we've experienced in other hotels. We never once saw any maids sweeping or mopping the stairs in the whole fortnight. In the entertainment/drinking areas, tables were left to pile up with used glasses, cups etc and other debris. Many of the plates and cutlery and glasses in the restaurant were not very clean. There seemed to be a lack of organisation, with no head waiter setting any standards. A lot of the waiting staff were slow and lacking in motivation.
Breakfast food was often lukewarm to cold and the juices were pretty awful. Tip: if you want tomato juice at breakfast, just ask and they'll bring it, far better than the others in the containers.
The all-inclusive tag really does only apply to local brands. As a Campari drinker, thanks to some stiff negotiating between Dawn and the manager, I was able to have it at half price. So don't be afraid to ask.
I do hope someone from management reads my review, because a few tweaks here and there and a bit more attention to detail, this place could go from good to excellent.

Finally I’d like to add that despite one or two moans, we would still definitely travel with Saga again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from any noisy beach bars to the east
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victrory_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

stayed at hotel first 2 weeks in june nice location food varied and plenty of choice traveled with thomas cook rep non exsitant saga rep (dawn) just brill thomas cook should pay her a bonus for looking after their guests rated a4 star but at best 3 star all inclusive package not very inclusive entertainment team very good hotel reception staff very helpful beds best ever great beach pitty you have to pay for sun beds again not in inclusive package fresh coffee not included in package just coffee from machine overall disapointed bob chris west midlands

Room Tip: higher numbered rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0bby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are actually here now for a week and I am writing this by the pool. Our room is very nice. Everything clean and with large wardrobe (could do with more hangers as they are the type that slot in a plastic holder and they tend to fall out). Bed is two singles pushed together and makes it around 7ft wide. Lovely cotton sheets but small gripe is that each day they makes each bed as a single and the sheets are so tight that we have to wrestle with them each night to make a double bed and then be careful not to fall down the gap in the middle. Bathroom good with both bath and shower and also a bidet. Nice toiletries provided in a holder for shower gel plus shoe cleaner, comb and shower cap. As for dirty feet as previous reviewer mentioned I would say that being right on the beach sand gets everywhere and the floor might look dirty as its made of ceramic tiles but I do not think it is dirty, more just the tiles themselves as the rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily. This hotel does have a sister hotel Punta Umbria Beach across the road but its huge more like a huge palace and its more crowded and noisy with more children. This hotel is smaller and in June definitely more peaceful. Children are mostly tinies and are very cute. Although school holiday times could be very different. SAGA has one part of the hotel and it does tend to be largely populated by older ladies which although we are in our 60's we found made us feel young. Mostly English and some Spanish families and not a Russian or German in sight so no fight for sunbeds. There were quite a few couples and a mix of younger people too. Food is buffet style and plentiful. It does tend to get a bit cold laying around on display. Restaurant attractive and clean and abundance of fresh fruit. Juices are real and not squash or powdered as in other hotels I have stayed in. Omelettes cooked to order daily at breakfast. The lady does nice ones. Small gripe is that staff did not tell us what we are entitled to under our all inclusive package e.g. we found out from other guests that we could get free peanuts at the bar. All local drinks free but be careful of named drinks as a JD costs €7. Drinks available all day. Nice walkway to beach and private gate to keep non guests out. Beach is fantastic and a kiddies heaven as its miles of sand. Staff are very good and helpful and entertainments team are really good. Usual hotel entertainment but all a laugh when on holiday. Lastly the pools are clean and inviting and gardens etc are really attractive. The sparrows are very tame and will almost eat from your hand. We would like to come back as the area is lovely and not commercialised. Huelva and pumta Umbria are nice towns to visit. Hola.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank itismehdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here in Feb 2014 for a winter sun holiday. The food was served buffet style, as is often the case in similar hotels. The food was nicely prepared and cooked, but the hot food was not always hot. There was a good range of food, from salads right through to desserts and cheeses. The staff made great efforts to make everything look nice, and on Valentine's Day, there was a special meal produced. My room was spacious enough with a lovely bathroom. I had a balcony looking over the pool, around which the hotel is built. There are 2 outdoor pool. No one was braving them at that time of year, though the weather was good and warm.There was an inside pool in the spa but I didn't have time to try it. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was some really good evening entertainment even at that time of year.
The area is good for bird spotting with the Donana National Park not far away, which is huge and well worth a visit. More locally, the surrounding woods hold all manner of birds too. There is a boardwalk path on to the beach, where you could walk the pine-fringed coast for hours or simply spread out your towel and sit.
There are a few shops and a cafe fairly close though a gap in the hotels opposite, but the main area of shops and restaurants is a little further. A bus leaves from near the hotel, and the hotel runs a shuttle to town.

The reasons I've given 4 stars instead of 5 are these:

1. The floors of the passageways and the rooms, mostly marble or tile, are dirty. The rest of the place is clean. My room was clean, except for the floor. If I walked around it in bare feet, my feet got filthy in minutes. It was most off-putting.
2. It was colder inside the building than outside during the day, and just quite chilly at night. The hotel had been closed for a month just prior to my arrival, so perhaps the heating took a time to get going and that was why it was cold but I'm not convinced there was any in public places. My room did get reasonably warm after about 3 days using the heater and allowing the sun in during the morning.
3. It is a light and modern hotel, not very old, but personally, I found the place to be rather large and impersonal.

Room Tip: Corner rooms looking towards the pool don't have a very good view as part of the hotel juts out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiannie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Umbria
13.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
13.9 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ayamontino
Ayamontino
#4 of 8 in Punta Umbria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar

Property: Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Address: Avda. del Oceano s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Punta Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 Green Hotel in Punta Umbria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar Hotel Punta Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing