We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Punta umbria Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Punta Umbria
Kent england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Punta umbria Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Busy hotel food good, Room clean, not far from beach. Go on your own trips its cheaper. Lots of children in July to September best weeks after 20 /09. staff pleasant nice pool. Punta Umbria Central on the bus is only 1 euro. Bus run every 1/2 an hour. A bus to wellbrough is 3 euro for 2 people have a very good market. Hotel has quiz and bingo and music in the evening. Has a large entrainment hall but is full of children till 10 at night. No English entrainment . Staff have little English. Would not spend more than a week there next time. 12 days to long.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at front of hotel. Not over pool or playing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Google Translation
Distinguida Georgina,

Agradecemos que haya dedicado su tiempo para trasladarnos sus comentarios acerca de su estancia.

Atentamente

Director General
Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,670
    1,670
    787
    324
    305
See reviews for
3,088
902
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife daughter and I stayed this year 30 July to 6 August, on arrival of faro airport we were greeted by a very friendly rep, worrying about the 1&1/2 hr journey to the hotel, then got into a minibus but the ride felt really quick. We were checked in very quickly and our room was ready to our surprise. Room was very clean and big. Whent to pool which was busy but copeable, the only bad things I can say are lack of communication and no hot snacks by the pool, overall a great holiday and we are going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Distinguished Mark J,

We thank you for taking the time to move your feedback on your stay.

Compliments
Director-general Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

we stayed here from september 21st till september 28th it was very busy on arrival and we did know we were in spain unlike some of our fellow travellers who thought they were in portugal. lots of spaniards staying for a long weekend and when they left it became quieter and easier to get a sunbed . meal times were noisy and reminded me of a school canteen. the rooms were nicely furnished and quiet as per our request great place for a really quiet holiday but was to quiet for some as very little to do and no entertainment but we enjoyed our holiday the weather was great but really not up to usual barcello standard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Distinguished Sandra,

We thank you for taking the time to move your feedback on your stay.

Compliments
Director-general Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Arrived on the 21 staying for two weeks,once settled into the room ,which was great ,we went to sit by the pool but could not get an empty Sun bed so enjoyed a lovely walk along the beach,on the second evening the 22,the Que at the bar was out of the door and down to the seating area,pictures have been posted on the site ,I waited 28,mins to get a drink to be told I could only have two drinks despite being all inclusive ,people were ve ry frustrated as at this time only two staff were running the only bar catering for a lot of people ,after a no of guests spoke with the manager including my wife and myself more staff were put on ,and the poolside bar was opened,but only as temp measure and soon things were back to normal including running out of glasses and having to drink out of paper cups in the evening , I spoke with the rep and told her of the problems to which I was called a liar,and there was no ques at the bar other people overheard her comments and spoke up ,saying to her how can you call the man a liar when you were stood in the same queue.On the second week of the holiday half the sun beds were starting to be removed despite people still arriving also a forklift truck removing beds around the pool area while people were Sunbathing at 10am ,lifeguard disappeared and the self-service bar was closed by the pool,the pool area was left in a terrible state for over five days (filthy),photos and a video of proof will be shown to Thomas cook customer relations ,the rep
Was asked by other guests to come and look at the pool but declined ,on the thurs after a lot of complaints a member of staff half heartly brushed up the mess.
We have stayed in other barcelo hotels ,but have never experienced anything like this one

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tappsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Distinguished Tappsey,

We thank you for taking the time to move your feedback on your stay.

Compliments
Director-general Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I booked this holiday just two weeks before we went, girl who booked the holiday for us told us that we would not get any all day breakfasts, no fish &chips with mushy peas, no larger louts and she was right it was a very peaceful and relaxing holiday. The staff did not speak very much English but if you tried to speak a little Spanish when ordering a drink the staff did appreciate it. The food in the hotel was fine no complaints, our room was large and the bed was massive we had clean bath towels every day(3) (2) clean hand towels every day. Once the card key would not work, I reported it to reception and before I got back to my room the fault was been fixed. Plenty of sun beds( no need to put your towel on one the night before).Good variety of drinks behind the bar and no short measures. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday and we will be going back next year to unwind.

Room Tip: Our room was on level 1 and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 580423Wig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Distinguished 580423Wig,

We thank you for taking the time to move your feedback on your stay.

Compliments
Director-general Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and myself stayed at this hotel from 19th September for a week it was a last minute holiday booked the day before we went and I have to say we were not disappointed. We have never booked an all inclusive holiday before and I have to say that other than being a bit noisy at mealtimes and more like a canteen (I cannot see any other way of feeding so many people) the food was lovely, I put on half a stone!! There were quite a few children at the resort but all of them were very well behaved and there was no problem with them either around the resort or at mealtimes. Our room was beautiful and immaculate, cleaned every day with clean towels etc put out, the maids (sorry if that's the wrong word to describe these hardworking women) were working throughout the day and very polite. There were queues at the bar in the evening but there were always 3-4 staff working and they were very quick, however, there were a couple of people who just walked up to the bar without queuing (apparently this is their culture where they live) and this caused problems with people waiting their turn and I was disappointed that the bar staff still served them even though people were complaining when they should have been sent to the back of the queue. All staff at reception spoke English and could not do enough for you they were very polite, well dressed and courteous. Sandra, the Thomas Cook rep was available all the time and was very helpful. We hired a car for 40 euros to go to Seville, an hours drive away and this was cheaper than booking a trip through the travel company as it was 40 euros each and we would rather do our own thing. The beach was across the road, yes it was a dual carriageway but not like we would think, it was soooooo quiet you hardly saw any traffic at all and there was a roundabout there so traffic had to slow down anyway, it was no hindrance whatsoever!! Our room was absolutely beautiful on the third floor at the back (so no noise whatsoever) we slept like logs and although the beds were firm I slept better than I do at home and I have a memory foam bed! We went into Punta town which was okay but not a lot there, we also went to Huelva twice which is a bigger town and that was nice also but we would recommend going to Seville, it is a beautiful place and it was nice to get off the resort as we're not people who sit around the pool or beach, we like to go and see different places, but as it was a chilling holiday we needed due to a very stressful few weeks prior to the holiday(my mum in law was very ill and passed away) it was exactly what we needed and I would recommend this hotel. I would go back there sometime in the future but I prefer to try different places and there are lots of placed I want to see first but if wherever I go they have a Barceló hotel I would use them and hopefully they would be as good as this one. I have to say that because it was a last minute holiday we only paid £772 for the two of us when normally, I believe, it's about that per person so that makes this holiday even more enjoyable. I will say however, that we were also advised by Thomas Cook that we were going to Portugal, it was only when I told my sister in law where we were going that she said that it was not Portugal, it was Spain because she had been there herself and said how lovely it was, so we knew prior to departure. I've read a lot of the reviews for this hotel and I am shocked at some of the comments but as in everyday life, no-one experiences the same but I do think that you can't please some people.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel and it was so quiet even with the patio doors open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lwliboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Distinguished Lwliboots,

We thank you for taking the time to move your feedback on your stay.

Compliments
Director-general Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having been to a Barcelo just down the coast at Isla Christina last year I thought this was a good bet for a similar holiday . How wrong I was . I now would avoid Barcelo at all,cost. The hotel is too big too uncaring too under staffed. On arrival prepare to be herded like cattle at the side of reception as only Spanish can use the front desk. Room was ok but the mighty thomas cook sell a sea view , do not pay this option as there is no sea view option at all .. £ 87 rip off ....our first day was HELL . Thirty deep at the bar ...only two alcoholic drinks at a time ..stupid when the lines are so long... Food was slop... Un washed salad ...bugs in it ... Undercooked chicken ... And it's true you get a shift 1 or 2 token ...I'm glad I was first though as I turned chaotic on shift two ...pool was ok very big ..won't go back .. Book thompsons and other agents as they seem to have taken all thomas cooks best hotels .....fact

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Distinguished Lwliboots,

We thank you for taking the time to move your feedback on your stay.

Compliments
Director-general Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Umbria
13.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
5.5 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
13.9 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
9.0 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Apartments
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
#1 of 8 in Punta Umbria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Address: Av Bulevar del Agua, s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Punta Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Umbria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Punta Umbria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Hotel Punta Umbria
Punta Umbria Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing