We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What recession in Spain???” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Punta Umbria
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What recession in Spain???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just back from 10 days in this, the biggest hotel complex I have ever seen!!!
This part of Spain is where the Spanish go for their holidays.
Beautiful beaches that go on for ever and miles of marshes and forests.
If you have some Spanish language knowledge, you will need it outside of this huge complex, as not much English is spoken in the general area.
Very good hotel pools and plenty of sunbeds and they were definitely needed, especially at weekends when the Spanish descend on the hotel for their weekend and long weekend breaks.
Incidentally they all bring hoards of dear little toddlers who will entertain you with their largely unchecked tantrums from breakfast through to after midnight when the locals may start to retire.
Great food, splendid variety and a great eat around in the various restaurants on the complex for your evening meal nightly.
Breakfasts are excellent and cater for all tastes.
The restaurants are themed, with Spanish, Italian, American and Asian food among others.
Now truly, it is a huge complex and the hotels are a warren of long dimly lit corridors on 3 floors.
This third of the hotel complex has 1200 rooms!!
So to check in and have a vague finger pointing you to the right and an instruction that your room is on the next floor, whilst lugging your own suitcases, was not helpful.
There is NO porterage and whilst there are any number of arrows pointing to rooms from number 2000 to number 3000, there are so many corridors and turns that after a long morning we found ourselves trudging round and round for ages trying to find our way.
As did many others during our stay.
There are lots of stairs and far to few lifts as well!
Rooms are reasonably well equipped, clean enough with the usual equipment, (though I declined to pay 3 euros per day for the safe), and would have dearly loved tea and coffee making facilities.
There are too few bars, which resulted in major queues for drinks and a policy that does not allow "AI" guests from ordering more than 2 alcoholic drinks at any one time.
This meant that two of us from our party of four always had to go and this obviously added to the queues and waiting times.
The place could do with more toilets in the more used public areas as well.
Lots of good entertainment at night, although this usually didn't start until 10.30 or 11.00 pm due to the Spanish culture of eating late and staying up till all hours.
But tempus has already fugitted for me and at our ages we had usually retired to bed with a book before it started!!
The Thomas Cook rep, Lucia, is a nice lady, very helpful and knowledgable about her product.
I hope she goes on to the bigger and better things that she deserves.
In summary I would have liked to give this complex a 3.5 "good" rating but it isn't available. It is above the average but below Very good,
A good FAMILY hotel, well organised and equipped for a good family holiday with the kids.
Lacking in some of the niceties like a baggage service, but in the main has something for everyone.
Weather was great and the holiday for us deserved a 7 out of 10.

Room Tip: Try not to be opposite the discoteque and nightclub across the road. Overlooking pool is better or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Rogal,

Thanks for all your comments.

We will like to see you again in our hotel in your next holidays.

Best regards

General Manager
Barceló Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    1,602
    768
    317
    302
See reviews for
3,047
880
28
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have never reviewed a holiday before but feel obliged to due to the negative reviews that are being left on here (makes me wonder if we stayed at the same hotel, but everyone of course is entitled to their opinion). Stayed at this hotel 5-19 July and had a great holiday. It is very much a family hotel and if you are not travelling with children then this may not be the best choice for you. Or, being such a huge hotel, if it is the personal touch you are after then it may not be for you. However, as an extended family travelling with two 8 year olds we had a great time. Yes, the majority of the clientele are Spanish but this was a plus for us - if we wanted a holiday surrounded by Brits we would stay in the UK! We certainly did not feel discriminated against or experience negative treatment from anyone - much to the contrary. Although the hotel staff may not be fluent in English they certainly knew enough to communicate as required, this was not an issue at all. Particular thanks to Alicia the 'towel police' who, speaking very good English and being local, was a great source of information and a pleasure to chat with. With regards the food, it was great. Lots of choice, problem was not choosing what to eat, it was choosing what not to eat! Everything labelled. Enjoyed the rotation of the themed restaurants for evening meal - Italian, Mediterranean, Chinese, American and A la carte restaurant, although this may be an issue for those with mobility problems as the hotel is massive and restaurants are spread about (although if preferred you can arrange with reception particular restaurants to suit). Long trousers not required in restaurants. Snacks were available at the self-service pool bar all day (sandwiches, cakes, ice-cream and fruit) and staff even wandered around the pool area in the afternoon offering fresh melon and ice-pops! No problem at all getting a sun-lounger, plenty to go around. Massive swimming pool (only negative was that inflatables were not allowed with the exception of the smaller baby pool). All inclusive drinks excellent, international brands such as Johnny Walker whisky and Absolut vodka. Never had to queue for more than 5 minutes at the bar. No noticeable drunkenness at this hotel, has a nice family atmosphere. Entertainment was good, although mainly in Spanish, however most of the bands covered English songs. Kids' club is all in Spanish so not ideal for British kids (perhaps Thomas Cook should run their own kids' club as other countries' tour operators did). Rooms great, cleaned daily and bedding changed every 3 days - no issue at all with the hotel's cleanliness. Lovely quiet beach 5 minutes walk away, nice for a change of scenery. Regular bus service to town of Huelva, about 15 minutes away and only 1.55 euro. Lots of nice Spanish shops there as well as recognisable ones such as H&M, Mango and even Primark! Seville well worth a visit but very, very hot. All round, holiday was much enjoyed by three generations of our family. If returning to Punta Umbria would definitely come back to this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to choose a Barcelo hotel in any part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Donna

Thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to receive you again in the future..

Thanks for all!!!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

If you're not Spanish don't even bother raw food,poor service,pool bars and snacks closed,you will wait forever to get served...agsin unless your Spanish.
No one spoke English we were ignored looked at as if we were something of the bottom of there shoe. There was a wide range of age in our family group from 16-57 and we all hated it be warned

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2016
Dear James H,

We would like to thank you for trusting in our hotel, Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort, for your vacations and for the time dedicated to value your experience with us.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

General Manager
Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUFFOLK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I are staying at this hotel at the minute. It is a very large hotel and yes there are alot of Spanish staying here this to them is like us going on a British holiday. The hotel is very clean and very well run. There are five different restaurants and you are allocated a different one each night. The American and Chinese were our favourites. If you are wanting a quite and relaxing holiday then this may not suite you as there are a lot of children and lots of activities round the pool during the day. We are travelling home tomorrow (22/7/14) but we have enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank KAZSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Suffolk.

Thanks for all your comments

We will like to see you in your next holidays.

Best Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We paid for an 11 day all inclusive.
When we arrived none of the reception staff spoke English and couldn't even tell us how to get to our room. Many of the staff were not helpful and everyone seemed rather rude. There were no British channels to watch on the television or English signage displayed anywhere in the hotel. The spa wasn't up to scratch either. It appeared that we were just a number here and we weren't treated with any care or understanding. It was also very noisy here, we asked for a nice hotel ideal for couples. A budget hotel at a premium price. Would never return or recommend

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichReflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2016
Dear RichReflex,

We would like to thank you for trusting in our hotel, Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort, for your vacations and for the time dedicated to value your experience with us.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

General Manager
Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you come here the only thing that is good is the weather. If you need something you will need to do it yourself or you will have to pay through the nose for it 300 Euro for a 1 bag of laundry is just an example. We came here all inclusive and have been hungry every day as most of the resturants are closed on the resort through the week. Also food can only be taken from said resturants if you are spanish. This is the first time away for my partner and this trip to spain would be an exellent way to ease her in to many more trips abroad this has been a big error and now another trip abroad anywhere is going to take alot of convincing forboth myselfe and her. An extremly sorry episode all round.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragoontrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2016
Dear dragoontrix,

We would like to thank you for trusting in our hotel, Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort, for your vacations and for the time dedicated to value your experience with us.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

General Manager
Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had read mixed reviews but I can honestly say we were pleasantly surprised. The complex is huge, the rooms are spacious and the food was really good. Yes there are lots of Spanish holiday makers with young children but the entertainment team also cater for grown ups with aqua aerobics, football, water polo, fun bingo & outdoor keep fit dancing. It had a great atmosphere.
Nightly entertainment on an outside stage or inside in the auditorium. The different restaurants made a pleasing change of venue to eat. We went with Thomas Cook which included a 5 course gala dinner on our last evening. Drinks all good quality were included. Fantastic value for money. We were a party of 4 adults, including 2 over 18 young persons. We would definitely recommend it to others

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 103GillN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear 103GillN,

Thanks for all you comments.

We will like to see you again in your next holidays.

Best regards

General Manger
Barceló Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Umbria
13.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
5.5 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
20.1 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
8.2 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Apartments
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
#1 of 8 in Punta Umbria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Address: Av Bulevar del Agua, s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Punta Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Umbria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Punta Umbria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Hotel Punta Umbria
Punta Umbria Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing