We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Gem”
Review of Hotel Cardenal Ram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cardenal Ram
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A beautiful town, and a beautiful little boutique hotel. Hotel Cardinal Ram is in a very thoughtfully renovated 15th century palais in one of the oldest streets in this ancient walled town. The room was spacious, and delightfully furnished, in keeping with the feel of the hotel. The very modern bathroom complemented in its colours. Downstairs, the entrance area and reception lounge are in original rooms that show off the importance of the original building. Morella is a gem that should be on attracting more tourists that it does currently, and Hotel Cardinal Ram is right in one of the oldest streets, so we were able to look out our window at the delightful 12th-13th century houses opposite. We had a memorable dinner in the hotel's dining room that evening. If you go to Morella, you will not regret staying at Hotel Cardinal Ram. Don't miss the Basilica of St Mary the Major either - it is really worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Cardenal Ram is a beautiful hotel that oozed warmth and classy ambiance from the moment you walk in the door. It gleams with cleanliness among its elegant interior from halls to lounges to dining room to service desk to your room. To this, add truly excellent, caring and warm service done promptly, efficiently and professionaly by the staff. The food is delicious, the breakfast buffet comprehensive; but the highlight is the dinner menu items in the hotel's dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escorihuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We found this hotel just on an off chance and how lucky we're we! Amazing mountain views from the room, great service, tasty restaurant and best of a beautiful stone building. The rooms were huge and they had beautiful bathrooms which were five star quality.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EatDrinkEnjoyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Surprising there is only a few reviews so far, as this is a very nice hotel.
I think it only has about 12 rooms. Built from an old Manorial home, it has been refurbished responsibly.
It has a nice restaurant, and bar on an outside terrace. The wifi works well in the bedrooms and restaurant, but strangely not in the lobby.

If you can, the best rooms to book are 206 or 306 as these offer a great view over the main high street and the double glazing is very good, so you won't have any noise.

The few downsides, twin beds rather than a double. The cleaning was very minimal, only making the beds, and most of all we arrived on the day of the Fiesta! It would have helped if the hotel had warned us it was going to be so busy, every restaurant including the hotel one was fully booked, it was hard finding anywhere to eat at a descent time. So be warned, if you have a place in mind to eat it may be better to book in advance if you can.

Room Tip: Choose 206 or 306 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kw1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Gorgeous tastefully refurbished historic Hotel. Spotlessly clean, light and airy, with amazing views. Room 201 is fantastic. High ceilings exposed beams, very romantic. Staff are very helpful and friendly. You can drive to front door to unpack your car and park outside the walls. Would return here again and again. Cafes and restaurants very very close, as is the Medieval Castle and Gothic Church. Both worth a visit.

2  Thank tamara48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have stayed at the Cardenal Ram many times. The hotel has been closed for the last two years. I was in Morella the last week of March 2013 and as a regular customer was invited to see the renovation work that has taken place in the hotel. They are hoping to reopen for Easter.
The renovation is fantastic. They have kept the antique furniture and the original features but installed luxury bathrooms, new flooring and extended the dining room.
I will look forward to staying there soon.

Room Tip: Room 206 looks fantastic. Corner, large room overlooking the length of the Calle Mayor, Morella.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Morella is the capital of the Els Ports district and whilst about an hours drive inland from the coast the trip is well worth it. It is a fortified hill town with some lovely old buildings, and it doesn't get too many tourists.
The Cardenal Ram is a 3-star hotel in a building dating from the 16th century, restored in order to turn it into a hotel in 1960 and renovated in 2004.
The walls of the hotel are massively thick, forming part of the battlements of the town.
The staff are great, but a few words of Spanish will help.
The food and drink at the hotel are of very good quality and quite inexpensive.

3  Thank jrk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morella
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#2 of 3 in Morella
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Palau dels Osset
Hotel Palau dels Osset
#1 of 1 in Forcall
89 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Consolacion
Hotel Consolacion
#1 of 2 in Monroyo
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Balfagon
Hotel & Spa Balfagon
#1 of 1 in Cantavieja
230 reviews
23.4 mi away
Aldea Roqueta
Aldea Roqueta
#1 of 1 in Culla
139 reviews
12.3 mi away
Posada Guadalupe
Posada Guadalupe
#2 of 2 in Monroyo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardenal Ram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardenal Ram

Address: Cuesta Suner 1, 12300 Morella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Morella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morella
Price Range: £50 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cardenal Ram 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteenth century palace in the middle of the medieval city of Morella. Open as a hotel in the 60's and totally reformed in 2013.All the 16 rooms with beautiful views of the landscape or the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cardenal Ram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing