We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Dedes Restaurant - CLOSED

Dedes Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went for the $22 half lobster wednesday dinner which is a great idea and great value which is why we went mid week. We are locals and if great would go there often. The service was both unprofessional and slow and just generally bad. We sat for 30 minutes with no-one coming to take our order. Food took almost an hour to come out after we ordered and we had no communication from anyone without getting up from out table and chasing someone down. Last time we went we had the same service issue but the food was fantastic. This time food was okay but service terrible. Great food and bad service means we won't go back as this is the second time we have had same experience. Disappointing for us that the service completely let this restaurant down on both occasions we have been and we won't be spending the money to chance it a third time. Love watergrill though and love the Rowers hands down.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank michelee255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedes_Restaurant, Manager at Dedes Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our food on both visits; we take every review seriously and will take your comments about our service onboard.

We hope you visit us again soon.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact us on bookings@dedes.com.au.

Warm Regards,
The Dedes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great View”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited Dedes at the point with a large group. Service was very good and the views of the upper harbour fantastic. Parking was a bit challenging, but this is to be expected anywhere in Sydney these days. The food was excellent in flavour, however I feel there is a little too much emphasis on the look of the meal rather than value on the plate. All meals are served without any sides, so ordering a side of veges, chips, salad is necessary. Even the fish and chips only comes with a couple of chips that the fish sits on. With most dishes priced on the high side there is an expectation that there would be more on the plate to accompany the main item. All in all a very nice place to visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - very very busy but service good”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Popped into to Dedes on a Sunday lunch, very busy place but the service team were excellent & managed after a wait to fit us in.
enjoyed the food overall & think their best area was the dessert course ( tasting plate was very good). Would go back but would love to go when quieter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service food average”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Although we live 1 ferry stop away this was our first dining experience at Dedes. It's a great location, quiet restaurant (except for rude people who insist on taking their babies). The service was great, food on time but the food didn't quite live up to the cost but I do admit we are very hard to please in that department as we have a higher standard simply because the male of our family is a fabulous cook and we always compare.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kitykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Always a highlight”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed another memorable dinner at Dedes, Sydney Rowing Club. The food was outstanding, wine - excellent, service too. Reservations essential. Views over the water looking towards Parramatta adds to the atmosphere and ambience. Even though we don't live in Sydney, when we visit, we try to include a visit. We especially enjoy taking a River Cat ferry from Circular Quay to Abbotsford, walk up the hill to the SRC, to share another highlight meal. We have met many friends there. Lobster is always a personal highlight for me at Dedes. They have another restaurant, Dedes, at Lavender Bay, I think. Enjoy! If you are willing to invest the time and dollars for a top drawer meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dedes Restaurant also viewed

Abbotsford, Sydney
Abbotsford, Sydney
 
Abbotsford, Sydney
Abbotsford, Sydney
 
Abbotsford, Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing