We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“social living. "take a good look at this hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blazing Donkey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blazing Donkey
Ranked #1 of 1 Ham B&B and Inns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“social living. "take a good look at this hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

we booked through social living; all the pictures of the hotel must have been taken a good many years ago, because the stark reality is different. arrived there after a five hour journey from staffordshire. car park was covered in a green hosepipe. no trip hazard signs.we were stopping for three nights. the room was very dark. inside the sliding door wardrobe was hanging off, there was approximately twenty flies in the the bath,cobwebs everywhere and the room was very grubby.on entering the restaurant which bore no resemblance to the pics on the website. the a la carte restaurant had cobwebs hanging off the ceiling on the windows and even hanging off a flower arrangement in the window, there was also damp patches everywhere on walls and ceilings. the a la carte menu looked promising although expensive if you were not dining through the deal.but in reality we received watered down soup,tinned veg and tough fatty meat not to mention desserts both of us couldn't finish.we did not stop the nights we had booked because the whole experience left us disappointed and cheated.i spoke to the the manager and told of our findings.but i got the feeling he had heard it all before.we finally got home at three o'clock in the morning completely drained by the whole affair.i have spoken to social living on my return home and they are looking into it.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tnyslt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    298
    218
    156
    313
See reviews for
155
815
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ok, so let's start with the owner, Richard. This man can't even reply to an email! Rude, arrogant flash, greedy all come to mind. Couldn't care less about the wedding only banking the money.
Next, Gareth. Rude, sweaty, argumentative. Heard him have a full on argument with a guest!!
Difficult does not begin to sum him up!
The whole place smelt of dog and beer, dirty rooms, warm beer.
The only positive is the outdoor aisle but if it rains you're stuffed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on a social living deal. After reading all the negative reviews we were not expecting much, when we arrived we were given room 2, the room was clean and well decorated with a rustic cosy feel to it, we also had coffee/tea making facilities, nice bathroom with a lovely hot shower, the tv worked fine and we were able to get a wifi connection. We ate in the Samphires restaurant for dinner which was excellent, breakfast also very nice, All in all we had a lovely stay.
Yes we would go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the Blazing Donkey (2 couples in 2 rooms) for 1 night. We did not book this hotel we were put there because our reservation at the Dog Inn, Wingham (apparently a sister hotel) got changed by the management. They did not tell us about the change, although we emailed them several times and left messages for them to call us back in an attempt to book a time for our evening meal. We found out finally on the night before our arrival (when finally 'Richard' answered the phone).

We booked the Dog Inn using an Amazon voucher, thinking it would be a nice opportunity to try a new place and the Dog Inn looked lovely - with the added benefit that it allowed dogs! Apparently our reservation got changed because there was a function on at the Dog Inn and that took priority, although we had booked 10 weeks in advance! Disappointed but helpless to do anything else we agreed to go to the Blazing Donkey with the assurances that we could take the dog in to the hotel bar and that the rooms were in fact better than the Dog Inn! We were even offered free wine with our evening meal by way of apology.

We got to the Blazing Donkey. The young man on reception greeted us warmly but as there was to be a refund (we had paid additional money to upgrade to a 4 poster room, no longer on offer) the manager had to get involved. He clearly did not want to talk with us and threw comments over his shoulder without even looking in our direction whilst he had a phone to his ear. When we asked about bringing the dog in to the bar he slammed the phone on the desk and said, rather forcefully, "this is a restaurant, not a bar, no dogs allowed", ummm, ok!! We explained the situation about the assurances from Richard at the Dog Inn (same company after all!) and he very aggressively talked over us saying "it is the law, it is the law, it is the law". Ok fair enough, we understand that there are rules about having dogs in eating establishments but a little bit of courtesy goes a long way. He had NONE. He was arrogant and frankly, aggressive. Finally he told us we could sit outside on the patio, with the smokers. I suggested he get a dog kennel we could sit it - yes I was very angry by this point. He then asked us to leave HIS restaurant because he was personally offended by my comment. Really!? Another member of our party calmed the situation. We agreed to stay (it had been booked for a long time), I apologised for my part in the heated discussion but he continued to be aggressive, standing up and leaning over the counter - he's a big man. He told us to take it up with Richard at the Dog Inn at it had nothing to do with him. Hospitality at its best!

We went to our rooms. Adequate at best (dripping tap, 2 single beds pushed together, springs gone on the mattresses, etc...). Then met on the patio for drinks. There was a wedding party there so we had to have a drink on the small, smokers patio, amidst the revelry of a wedding. Really NOT what we had in mind when we booked a quiet country Inn for a weekend break. The location of this place means there's not another place nearby to go to for drinks. It was there or nowhere.

Suffice to say we will NOT be booking the Blazing Donkey for any event and will tell everyone who asks that it is not worth visiting. Actually the food in the restaurant was really rather lovely (although the atmosphere non existent) but that was completely negated by the rest of the experience. It's a horrible place, in the middle of nowhere with, to my mind, an arrogant brute of a man managing it. Go somewhere else. Oh and avoid the Dog Inn too in case you end up here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tillsworth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Looked really nice when we pulled up in the car park - then we were shown our room!!! Room 10 - no lock on window at all & would only pull to! Looked really tired & needed big refurb! Toilet was disgusting! Cob-webs everywhere! Bed squeaked & clonked! Hole in bed sheet!! Best was to come when we pulled the sheets left on our departure - huge soiled stain on protective sheet!!!!! Only plus side were the staff were friendly and the meals were good!

Room Tip: Don't !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My son got married in August 2014, on arrival we went through to the garden which was set out wonderfully. the marriage service fine, after which we had drinks and canopies in the garden which was ok. we went through to the marquee sat down and from then on everything went down hill.
The starters were awful (pastry was uncooked) the mains were cold, the childrens meals were awful and definatly not adeqate ie 2 pieces of garlic bread for starters, chicken coujons and fries for main (no sauces offered) pudding was an ice lolly! we paid £50 per head for main meal for an adult and £30 for a child obviously alot of the food was returned as it was so abismal.
Everyone was now desperate for the buffet in the evening as they were all starving, when it arrived at 9pm there was very few plates of food, probably 6-8 oval dishes which was supposed to cater for 60 guests.
would i recommend The Blazing Donkey to anyone getting married or to celebrate a special occasion, No i would'nt! Future brides beware!!!!
Staff were not helpful at all.
My son and his new wife had the honeymoon suit (if you can call it that) they said it was in need of an update as the room was dated
Breakfast was very poor and very much like the evening before.

Room Tip: dont bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Blazing Donkey 'room 21' for our wedding anniversary. On arrival you notice the beautiful manicured gardens. The staff were incredibly friendly and the bar and restaurant really lovely.
Our room had a 4 posted bed which was really comfy. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant and the breakfast the next morning delicious.
Some of the reviews on her are silly as you don't want every hotel to look like a premier inn. You want a bit of character in them.
The only negative for us was the tv in our room wasn't receiving a signal which was a bit disappointing. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ham
2.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Dog at Wingham
The Dog at Wingham
#1 of 5 in Wingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Five Bells B&B
The Five Bells B&B
#1 of 1 in Eastry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blazing Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blazing Donkey

Property: Blazing Donkey
Address: Hay Hill | Sandwich, Ham CT14 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blazing Donkey 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blazing Donkey is a 22 bedroom country hotel located near to Sandwich in Kent. The hotel boasts its ownrestaurant, and has a cosy bar and stunning garden with terrace for guests to enjoy. The hotel is owned and operated by the husband and wife team of Richard and Sherry Martin. The accommodation at the hotel is arranged in a courtyard and each of the well appointed en/suite roomsenjoy rural views. The rooms have flat screen TV's and baths with showers. Parking for guests is free.The hotel enjoys a very mixed patronage; from leisure break visitors, business travellersGolfers and wedding guests. The hotel is one of Kent's most popular special occasionvenues, and with good reason as the facilities are as extensive as the surroundings are beautiful. The hotel's restaurant produces a regularly changing menu inspired mainly from locally sourced produce. Lunch and dinner is served daily. Visitors can also enjoy morning coffees and afternoon cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blazing Donkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blazing Donkey Hotel Ham
Blazing Donkey Ham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing