We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Ham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Gavin and the team accommodated all of Tara and Austin's wishes and expectations and made the whole day memorable for all the right reasons. Accommodation was clean and comfortable and very reasonably prices for such an occasion. Even though Tara and Austin's menu choices we're unconventional, Gavin and the team pulled out all the stops and produced tasty and well presented food that was well received by all.
Nothing seemed too much trouble, and the whole day was very professionally managed throughout. Our sincere thanks to all. Mick and Karen Griffiths, parent of the Bride

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Well initially i thought it looked very nice when we arrived for my friends wedding... Only to be told by the best man everything had been messed up from the start, initally not enough chairs, seating plans completely wrong.. I don't know if the hotel have anything to do with the ceremony but none of the guests could hear a word because the speaker wasn't working properly. Then came the food, never have i had anything so bad, it was all appalling, the starter was horrid, the main was cold and the desert wast absolutely tasteless. There were 3 bottles of the worst wine i have had the misfortune of trying, 3/4 of each bottle left at the end, the staff then came and collected these bottles before dessert was finished, made full bottles of wine from the partially drunk ones, screwed the caps back on and placed the rose and white back in the fridge and the red back on the shelf as we looked on in amazement, no wonder the wine tasted so bad, this was probably its fifth outing. Then came the buffet, absolutely vile, leftovers from the previous meal, cold pizza which again was just unpleasant, other vile indescribable dishes and a strong smell of fish, despite there being nothing including fish in the buffet. I fail to understand how a venue can produce such terrible food and service. Less said about the DJ the better (organise your own entertainment if you insist on using this place). Then there was the bars, firstly they started running out of stock, ran out of everything in the main bar in the marquee except pints of lager and a few spirits and then decided to bar all wedding guests from the bar near the restaurant, may i stress this was in no way a rowdy affair, we were just informed it was company policy to penalize the wedding guests, the fact they were still serving bottled beer in the main bar yet refused to serve it in the marquee or let us go to the other bar was absolutely disgusting, i have never been to a venue where the wedding guests and party are treated like second class citizens. i have never been treated this way before as a paying customer, no apologies given and an appalling attutude by all but 2 of the bar staff, and one of those was on his first day. All in all a terrible place. i only leave reviews if i have recieved something exceptional, and this was exceptionally bad, from start to finish.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank nickos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we booked through social living; all the pictures of the hotel must have been taken a good many years ago, because the stark reality is different. arrived there after a five hour journey from staffordshire. car park was covered in a green hosepipe. no trip hazard signs.we were stopping for three nights. the room was very dark. inside the sliding door wardrobe was hanging off, there was approximately twenty flies in the the bath,cobwebs everywhere and the room was very grubby.on entering the restaurant which bore no resemblance to the pics on the website. the a la carte restaurant had cobwebs hanging off the ceiling on the windows and even hanging off a flower arrangement in the window, there was also damp patches everywhere on walls and ceilings. the a la carte menu looked promising although expensive if you were not dining through the deal.but in reality we received watered down soup,tinned veg and tough fatty meat not to mention desserts both of us couldn't finish.we did not stop the nights we had booked because the whole experience left us disappointed and cheated.i spoke to the the manager and told of our findings.but i got the feeling he had heard it all before.we finally got home at three o'clock in the morning completely drained by the whole affair.i have spoken to social living on my return home and they are looking into it.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tnyslt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ok, so let's start with the owner, Richard. This man can't even reply to an email! Rude, arrogant flash, greedy all come to mind. Couldn't care less about the wedding only banking the money.
Next, Gareth. Rude, sweaty, argumentative. Heard him have a full on argument with a guest!!
Difficult does not begin to sum him up!
The whole place smelt of dog and beer, dirty rooms, warm beer.
The only positive is the outdoor aisle but if it rains you're stuffed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on a social living deal. After reading all the negative reviews we were not expecting much, when we arrived we were given room 2, the room was clean and well decorated with a rustic cosy feel to it, we also had coffee/tea making facilities, nice bathroom with a lovely hot shower, the tv worked fine and we were able to get a wifi connection. We ate in the Samphires restaurant for dinner which was excellent, breakfast also very nice, All in all we had a lovely stay.
Yes we would go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the Blazing Donkey (2 couples in 2 rooms) for 1 night. We did not book this hotel we were put there because our reservation at the Dog Inn, Wingham (apparently a sister hotel) got changed by the management. They did not tell us about the change, although we emailed them several times and left messages for them to call us back in an attempt to book a time for our evening meal. We found out finally on the night before our arrival (when finally 'Richard' answered the phone).

We booked the Dog Inn using an Amazon voucher, thinking it would be a nice opportunity to try a new place and the Dog Inn looked lovely - with the added benefit that it allowed dogs! Apparently our reservation got changed because there was a function on at the Dog Inn and that took priority, although we had booked 10 weeks in advance! Disappointed but helpless to do anything else we agreed to go to the Blazing Donkey with the assurances that we could take the dog in to the hotel bar and that the rooms were in fact better than the Dog Inn! We were even offered free wine with our evening meal by way of apology.

We got to the Blazing Donkey. The young man on reception greeted us warmly but as there was to be a refund (we had paid additional money to upgrade to a 4 poster room, no longer on offer) the manager had to get involved. He clearly did not want to talk with us and threw comments over his shoulder without even looking in our direction whilst he had a phone to his ear. When we asked about bringing the dog in to the bar he slammed the phone on the desk and said, rather forcefully, "this is a restaurant, not a bar, no dogs allowed", ummm, ok!! We explained the situation about the assurances from Richard at the Dog Inn (same company after all!) and he very aggressively talked over us saying "it is the law, it is the law, it is the law". Ok fair enough, we understand that there are rules about having dogs in eating establishments but a little bit of courtesy goes a long way. He had NONE. He was arrogant and frankly, aggressive. Finally he told us we could sit outside on the patio, with the smokers. I suggested he get a dog kennel we could sit it - yes I was very angry by this point. He then asked us to leave HIS restaurant because he was personally offended by my comment. Really!? Another member of our party calmed the situation. We agreed to stay (it had been booked for a long time), I apologised for my part in the heated discussion but he continued to be aggressive, standing up and leaning over the counter - he's a big man. He told us to take it up with Richard at the Dog Inn at it had nothing to do with him. Hospitality at its best!

We went to our rooms. Adequate at best (dripping tap, 2 single beds pushed together, springs gone on the mattresses, etc...). Then met on the patio for drinks. There was a wedding party there so we had to have a drink on the small, smokers patio, amidst the revelry of a wedding. Really NOT what we had in mind when we booked a quiet country Inn for a weekend break. The location of this place means there's not another place nearby to go to for drinks. It was there or nowhere.

Suffice to say we will NOT be booking the Blazing Donkey for any event and will tell everyone who asks that it is not worth visiting. Actually the food in the restaurant was really rather lovely (although the atmosphere non existent) but that was completely negated by the rest of the experience. It's a horrible place, in the middle of nowhere with, to my mind, an arrogant brute of a man managing it. Go somewhere else. Oh and avoid the Dog Inn too in case you end up here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tillsworth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Looked really nice when we pulled up in the car park - then we were shown our room!!! Room 10 - no lock on window at all & would only pull to! Looked really tired & needed big refurb! Toilet was disgusting! Cob-webs everywhere! Bed squeaked & clonked! Hole in bed sheet!! Best was to come when we pulled the sheets left on our departure - huge soiled stain on protective sheet!!!!! Only plus side were the staff were friendly and the meals were good!

Room Tip: Don't !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ham
12.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,800 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Salutation Hotel
The Salutation Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
451 reviews
9.6 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,888 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
751 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel

Address: Hay Hill, Ham CT13 0HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ham
Price Range: £102 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blazing Donkey is a 22 bedroom country hotel located near to Sandwich in Kent. The hotel boasts its own restaurant, and has a cosy bar and stunning garden with terrace for guests to enjoy. The hotel is owned and operated by the husband and wife team of Richard and Sherry Martin. The accommodation at the hotel is arranged in a courtyard and each of the well appointed en suite rooms enjoys rural views. The rooms have flat screen TVs and baths with showers. Parking for guests is free. The hotel enjoys a very mixed patronage, from leisure break visitors, business travellers, golfers and wedding guests. The hotel is one of Kent's most popular special occasion venues, and with good reason as the facilities are as extensive as the surroundings are beautiful. The hotel's restaurant produces a regularly changing menu inspired mainly from locally sourced produce. Lunch and dinner are served daily. Visitors can also enjoy morning coffees and afternoon cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blazing Donkey Hotel Ham
The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel Ham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing