We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Strange hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capitana
MLH
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice and Strange hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

From the exterior this hotel looks very nice, but the rooms really need to be reniew! The beds are hard and the bathroom is poorly thought out.
The hotel has an access to the beach which is artificial and cleaned every morning, once you go into the water, the ground is stony and you can swimm w/ fishes. The pool is perfect for kids, they can run around and play w/o risks. You also have a deeper area to swimm a bit.
Between the swimming pool and the beach there is a party area, it sometimes guets pretty loud.
The food is good and based mostly on seafood, waiters are efficient and 95% are friendly (1 idiot). A lot of things are based on noodles, this is italy! You can find different things every day.
The staff from the bar is not performant, it takes 2 years to get 1 drink...
A very positive thing is that all people are dessed during the lunch time (no naked and hairy bodies...) and on evening it is casual well dressed.
Location is good to rent a car and to go to costa rei.
It is à good hotel to make affordable holliday.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    244
    134
    101
    116
See reviews for
286
286
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Sighientu is a big, lively, noisy resort hotel. Maybe I should have picked that up but I was expecting some a little quieter, perhaps a little more sophisticated.
It seems to target an all-inclusive clientele; as we were on a bed and breakfast basis that meant pre-loading a charge card and using that whenever we bought anything as the hotel is cashless. This was a slow process and I got irritated by the continual waiting. Even worse on the two days their system broke down.
Reception was efficient, most staff have reasonable English and many excellent.
Room was a decent size but, like the whole hotel, a bit tired and in need of refreshing. It also had a single connecting door with the next room and our sleep was disturbed by first snoring and later a screaming baby. Both sounded as if they were in the room with us. We were offered a different room but would have had to downgrade to a smaller room without sea-view.
Food was OK - no more- and only available as a fixed-price buffet. This was not clear from the website and probably my biggest disappointment. The main restaurant could get very busy and noisy so it is worth booking into the restaurant by the pool bar if you can - same food, same price but a more chilled experience.
The pool is big, interesting and well maintained. Any tranquility is destroyed every hour or so by deafening Europop played as backing to various activities.
Entertainment every night was standard hotel quality; better after a couple of drinks
The beach is similarly well-maintained and well staffed.
There is a spa / thalassotherapy centre which again is attractive, well maintained and perhaps a little expensive - €25 for 70 minutes?
Special staff mention to Luca who mostly worked the pool bar who was friendly, efficient and charmed all the women

Room Tip: Ask for one without a connecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the VOI Sighientu Resort in July 2014 and were greeted at reception by extremely friendly staff. Barbara was so helpful along with the rest of the reception staff who always had a smile on their face and nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was a lovely and spacious with a lovely terrace with table and chairs which was great to sit outside for some fresh air. We did not use our terrace much as their was always so much to do at the hotel. The food was fantastic, the chefs have so much experience, we had a help yourself buffet for breakfast, lunch and evening dinner and there was different food every day which was cooked perfectly. Every 15 minutes they brought out fresh vegetables and pasta and the meats were cooked on the spot. The animation staff were the best I have ever seen at any hotel I have stayed at. They are extremely nice, friendly and want to get you involved with all the games and activities that are going on during the day. At night the animation staff put on great entertainment which ranged from magic shows, to extreme juggling and shows for all the guests. They work so hard to make the guests enjoy their stay! We made good friends with so many people there as they intergrate with all the guests. The restaurant and bar staff are also very friendly and always greet you with a smile. The hotel itself is about 30 minutes from cagliari and there is not much around the hotel area but this is great if you want a relaxing holiday. You do not need to venture out as you have a very big swimming pool and a private beach. There are always many spaces by the pool and on the beach and if you want to visit one of the nearby beaches there is a free shuttle service from the hotel. I will definitely go back. Some reviews about the internet only being available in the lobby are true….but to them people I would say to them that you are on holiday and I am sure you can do without the internet for a week or so!

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo_GB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We travelled as a couple, both experienced travellers who have stayed in all sorts of places from hostels to 5* hotels, this was by far the most disappointing experience we've had.
Reception staff are abrupt, and extremely unhelpful - quick to take money from you but do little to explain the facilities and what's around. On the day of our check out, our luggage was left in the lobby 9am-4pm when they promised they'd keep it in a safe room for us - they weren't bothered by our concerns at all.
AC barely works and TV is extremely dated, no freeview and you're limited to Italian and German channels.
The don't provide you with an iron if you need one - even a Travelodge would give you an iron! Instead you have to pay around 5 euros per item and wait 48hrs if you need something ironed.
Bed was also broken, so sleep was not comfortable.
The private beach isn't a luxury - some say it's man-made, but either way there are lots of sharp stones making it hard to enjoy the sea.
Food is good, WIFI is limited to reception, but the beach staff are very friendly - it's a shame this doesn't filter out to the rest of the staff.
You need a car so you can get to the white sand beaches.
English is limited among the staff - I think this is more for Italian, French and German families - any other international tourist would struggle here.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'beach view' really it's a Marina view, but it's loud at night with their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avnee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Capitana hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our second time here and it was equally as good as the first. Barbara on reception was always cheerful and very helpful, the restaurant staff always eager to please and the food excellent, there was a good selection of foods at each meal and the quality was superb and the restaurant spotlessly clean.
The only reason for very good and not excellent for the rooms, is that they are quite small, but are kept clean by the happy, friendly cleaning staff. That said, the hotel is so nice, with plenty of comfortable places to sit and relax, why spend time in your room?
The animation team are always about, there are various activities during the day if you want them and in the evening they are in the bar area dancing with the guests or putting on shows.
No wifi in rooms but available from reception on request, most people seemed to use it around this area, so I assume that it was not possible to use it in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath South wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

There are 4stars and there are 4stars this hotel can be best described as rustic in appeal meaning it could be updated the room we have yes we are still here is fine generally but in need of some updating.The choice of food is varied and of a good standard always something to eat we are all inclusive so the wine is just about drinkable spirits and beer are fine.Location you will really need a car if you want to explore there is a small Marina but nowhere to walk in the evenings.You can watch the shows if you become desperate.The beatles tribute were 4guys all dressed looking like John Lennon and they believed the drummer was George Harrison enough said.The hotel/location is good for a weeks break any more and we would not be very happy.Costs all inclusive are nil and had a very good deal less than£1300 for a week.From now on you may this for a week really not worth it.Sun beds starting to get filled up by next week in will be towels early I would think

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexNeathSouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent reminisce with great friends and hubbyxxx after 28 years we had the best time and the staff at hotel sighientu were very accomodating and friendly. Beautiful location and very clean. Food was top quality and lots of it. Great entertainment and the traditional nights were really great. Would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay and no need for a car as there is a frequent bus service about 10 mins walk away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzyblue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitana
12.9 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#3 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Salinas
Hotel Torre Salinas
#10 of 23 in Muravera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel il Monastero
Hotel il Monastero
#2 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Residence Italia
Best Western Hotel Residence Ita...
#1 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa

Property: Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa
Address: Via Serchio, 139, 09045 Capitana, Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Quartu Sant'Elena > Capitana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capitana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aw Sighientu Life Hotel Marina Di Capitana
Aw Sighientu Life Hotel And Spa
Sighientu Village Hotel
Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa Sardinia/Province Of Cagliari - Capitana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing