We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magna Grecia Hotel Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magna Grecia Hotel Village
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Metaponto
Certificate of Excellence
Taranto, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at Magna Grecia for a night to visit the Archeological Site & Museum in Metapontum. I had accidentally booked the wrong date & so we turned up a month early but despite this and despite it being the very low season the staff did everything possible to take care of us, even personally driving us to the train station on our departure & making sure we had everything we needed whilst there. This was a lovely show of hospitality & kindness that is nice to find when you've been on the road for a while. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theglobalvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGNAGRECIAVILLAGE, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Magna Grecia Hotel Village, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Google Translation
L'ospite è sacro: non importa quando arriva da noi ... egli è sempre al centro delle nostre attenzioni e proviamo a fare il meglio in modo che si senta a proprio agio. In bassissima stagione possono mancare alcuni supporti ma non vi è dubbio che possiamo reperirli e offrirli al meglio che possiamo. Grazie per i riconoscimenti di gentilezza e ospitalità ... anche Voi siete stati comprensivi e di una simpatia eccezionale. Vi auguriamo ogni bene e per sempre amici.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    306
    101
    20
    22
See reviews for
780
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We got married at Magna Grecia and we would strongly reccomend for who would share one of the biggest life's event in a very beautiful and confortable place with fantastic and very kind staff.
All our guests coming from around the world, they were astonished and excited from all the wonderful details that they offered us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGNAGRECIAVILLAGE, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Magna Grecia Hotel Village, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Google Translation
Siamo grati per le sue belle e buone parole che rendono orgoglio alla nostra struttura e al personale tutto. Il nostro obiettivo è proprio quello di contribuire in maniera efficace affinché un giorno specialissimo come quello del matrimonio diventi ancora più indimenticabile ... conservato nella memoria degli sposi e degli ospiti tutti. Vi auguriamo una bellissima vita insieme e auspichiamo di rivedervi ogni volta che lo desiderate. Di nuovo grazie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We booked a stay at the 4 star Magna Grecia Hotel Village (approximately 2 months in advance using Booking.com) in Italy based on the facilities available at the property for small children. I travelled from Ireland with my wife and one year old daughter for a family holiday.

At 23.30 on the night before we were due to check in, we received a call from the hotel. The hotel representative said that the room that we had booked was flooded with sewage. They suggested that we stay at a 3 star hotel and walk back to the Magna Grecia Hotel Village to use the pool or restaurant (1/2 km away). I explained that this was not possible as we had a small baby and we would prefer to be located on the property for easy access to the room (for feeding/changing nappies etc.) and if the room was not available we could make other arrangements before making the five hour drive from Rome. The hotel representative insisted that the hotel would find a solution.

The next day after a long drive, we arrived at the hotel. We were surprised to find that there was no solution available only the hotel ½ km away. After one hour of discussion, the manager finally agreed that he would check for a similar hotel. However, this would only be for one night and we would return to the Magna Grecia Hotel Village the following day. We moved to the new hotel which was located 35 km away and we started our holiday a little later than expected.
The following morning we packed our bags to move back to the Magna Grecia Hotel Village. We did not receive a call from Magna Grecia Hotel Village so we assumed our room would be ready as promised. But we decided to call to check. When we called, the hotel asked us to call back an half an hour. After we called back, we were told our room was not available but would be ready the following day. At this stage, we lost all trust in the Magna Grecia Hotel Village as they showed no concern for the disruption this was causing to our holiday.

It is to be expected that a hotel will have technical problems from time to time. However, it is unacceptable that a hotel should transfer these problems to paying customers. In this case, the hotel should have found a room at another hotel of similar standard for the duration of our stay. We cancelled the remainder of the stay with the Magna Grecia Hotel Village and made alternative arrangements for the remainder of our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gearóid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We traveled in May, 2012, weather was a little cool and most resorts were not officially open, as was the case with Magna Grecia. Staff was disorganized, when I spoke with them at check in - they actually asked if I could please speak English, not once but twice! Since English is my ONLY language, I thought this request a bit comical. I believe it was the staff who could not speak English very well.

The staff tried to be helpful but since it wasn't officially "season", I believe there were many trainees on the job. They say they have wi-fi ... this is true but only available at reception or the pool or some of the other gathering spots. At reception I could NOT connect. It was raining and the pool was not yet open so had no other area to get "online".

We had half board since we only stayed one night. The supper was good and the breakfast too. It was, at the time we were there, the only place we would have considered staying... many places not yet open and beach deserted. So, we did make a good choice since there were not many options available.

I think "in season" this place could be nice and certainly has much potential. Rooms were large but dark & dreary. Looked as though there were many places to walk, the pool area looked great, but again it wasn't open and it was raining and cool.

When I look to see other places in this area, it was nicely located and appeared safe...they had a guarded parking lot.

I would stay here again if it were "season" and I were in the areas but my expectations would not be very high. It was adequate. Perhaps once they were officially open, things changed but still the rooms were nothing more than sufficient. I do think that since they were not fully prepared for guests, the price should have been much lower than it was.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

A group of 45 of us stayed here to visit our ancestors' home. Magna Grecia was a great choice. We all had our own sized accomodation and the full board gave us a chance to see each other 3 times a day, while the beach, pool, games, shows, bar, soccer field and field trips gave us variety each day. There was so much to see in the area, I only got to the beach once. The rooms were clean with great AC.

  • Liked — Clean rooms with lots of choices fo rthings to do
  • Disliked — Hard to get internet access
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleInATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metaponto
3.3 mi away
Torreserena Village
Torreserena Village
#1 of 5 in Marina di Ginosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
12.5 mi away
Marinagri Hotel & SPA
Marinagri Hotel & SPA
#1 of 6 in Policoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
18.3 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Akiris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Palatinum
Hotel Palatinum
#2 of 8 in Metaponto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villaggio Torre del Faro
Villaggio Torre del Faro
#1 of 4 in Scanzano Jonico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
19.4 mi away
Sira Resort
Sira Resort
#1 of 8 in Nova Siri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magna Grecia Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magna Grecia Hotel Village

Property: Magna Grecia Hotel Village
Address: Via del Lido 1, 75012 Metaponto, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Metaponto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Metaponto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Magna Grecia Hotel Village 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Magna Grecia Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing