We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkville Place Apartments
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here in October and found it clean, comfortable and affordable - everything we wanted really so rebooked for a stay in March. After a stuffup (our fault) we arrived a day late to find our rooms had gone. So there we were late one night three kids, nowhere to go. Carole the receptionist went out of her to help. She advocated on our behalf with recalcitrant online booking service over a very bad line, and when they couldn't help, she found us affordable accommodation nearby. Even offered us use of the bathroom after what had been a very long car trip. Thumbs up to Parkville Place for service above and beyond, thumbs down to online booking service (who still haven't refunded the remainder of the fees we paid upfront).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Brian, Thanks for the review and hope to see you again in the future. I guess the one lesson we can all learn form your experience is that a lot of the online booking agents are offshore so if there is an issue it is not always easy to resolve due to time and language barriers. Unfortunately the agent you used do not pass on phone numbers, email addresses or estimated time of arrival so it makes it difficult to contact the guest if something arises as in your case when you booked the wrong date. If you choose to book online then it is usually best to book direct through the accommodations own website then there can be no breakdown in communication by eliminating third party issues. Hopefully you have now been refunded, if not we can try and assist if need be. Again apologies and hopefully you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne even though it was not with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

The hotel is in close proximity to Bus stop, tram station and the metro. Sydney Road has a wide choice of restaurants to choose from. Coming to the hotel, a fine stay with reasonable pricing. The staff led by Warren were just great and always ready to help. Rooms were equipped with AC, m/w, Kichenette and were well maintained.

I am a very satisfied customer after my stay in this hotel for over a month and that speaks all about it!

Room Tip: Choose room towards strangers' street to avoid the brunswick road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NishanthRajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thanks for the review Nishanth, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

My family stayed there for 3 nights in Melbourne as part of our road trip in Australia. We rented a one bedroom apartment which could fit 5. There were 1 double bed and 1 single bed in the room. Then there were a large double in the living room. The room was fairly clean with a small kitchenette and a small bathroom with standing shower. There was an old AC in the living area but not in the room. There wasn't even a window in the room so we had to leave the bedroom door open at night. Overall the room was a bit small for 5 adults but good enough if u r traveling on a budget. On the plus side, they have free parking and was relatively close to supermarkets and restaurants (2-3 mins driving distance)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on our apartments. Just to clarify your comment about the window - there are windows and a glass door, the windows do not open but the glass door does which leads onto the balcony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I stayed here for nine nights. Short walk to the tram stop, supermarkets close by and some great places to eat in or take out. The room have basic cooking facilities which come in handy. Arrived late and had good instructions on how to find my way to my room. Would choose to stay here the next time in Melbourne

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank mermaid1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thanks for the review - always good to have Kiwi neighbors staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I picked these apartments because I needed to be within walking distance to the Royal Melbourne Hospital Royal Park Campus. Based on other reviews that I had read I requested a room at the back of the hotel to cut down traffic noise. Unfortunately this request was unable to be accommodated and we were in an apartment facing right onto Brunswick Road. Brunswick Road is a very busy main road in Melbourne so if you are a light sleeper you need to consider this. We stayed in apartment 9 and this was definitely not double glazed. The noise of traffic was considerable but it did ease off during the night.

We were in a two bedroom family apartment and stayed for 5 nights.

The Good:
Clean bathroom with towels changed daily if needed.
Clean but very small kitchenette. I found the facility really only adequate to make breakfast.
Comfortable beds.
Staff generally were helpful.
We never ran out of hot water with 3 people showering daily.
Great location. Near to trams and great restaurants.
Sensitive smoke alarms (both good and bad). Read on.
Locked front-door after hours which provided some security.

The not so good:
Very noisy. No double glazing in our room.
Grubby carpet's throughout.
Dusty and dirty windowsills, curtains and windows.
Bedside light not working and was not fixed despite reporting it.
Extremely sensitive smoke alarms. I found it necessary to open windows and keep the extractor fan on for quite a while when boiling eggs and cooking toast. Although nothing was burnt the alarms went off twice in my room. In the end I was fearful to cook anything. The first time this happened my husband raced down to reception to let them now it was a false alarm. We were informed that the alarms were not connected to the fire stations so no fire engines arrived.
The internet in the foyer did not work. I was not able to access the most basic of websites, e.g. hotmail.

Overall: We paid $165.00 per night which for Melbourne would be considered to be very reasonable. Although I was grateful for comfortable beds, for me, the negative points outweigh the positive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Clare
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on our apartments.
A couple of points in response:
• The room type you booked, Family Apartment is not available of the side of the building away from the road thus the reason we could not accommodate your request.
• All Family Apartments on the road side have now been double glazed as of 5/11/12.
• I acknowledge that the carpets on level 2 are worn and require replacing, something that is on our list to be done.
• I dispute that the Internet either at the reception console is or was not working. Every day we have numerous people using it and as long as you are signed in correctly there is never a problem.
• I will get the smoke alarm serviced by our electrician.
• No excuse for dirty windows and dust – I will certainly look into that with the housekeepers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Third stay at Parkville Place and still very happy. Healthy walk to tram or train. Aldi and Coles closeby and plenty of interesting and good food places. Staff always helpful. This is budget accommodation so don't expect the Ritz!
Thanks for another great value for money stay

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jizikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments, we appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Convenient, friendly and you can cook too. Parking a bit tight for a big car..but it is free and undercover. Will stay here again

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thanks for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,293 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
#96 of 161 in Melbourne
991 reviews
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Parkville Motel
#2 of 3 in Brunswick
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkville Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkville Place Apartments

Address: 124 Brunswick Rd, Brunswick, Moreland, Victoria 3056, Australia (Formerly Econo Lodge Parkville Place)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Brunswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: £55 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkville Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced Apartments offering self contained one and two bedroom apartments catering for up to 6 people. All apartments containing kitchenettes with 4 burner stove top and cooking / eating utensils, microwave, fridge, dining area, TV, DVD, bathroom, iron and lock up safe. Our facilities are recently renovated, clean and smoke free. Free Wi-Fi access to all guests as well as free parking. We offer a safe, friendly environment for business people and holiday makers alike. We are located on the city fringe in the near the vibrant Sydney Road area. Easy access into the CBD with tram stops close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parkville Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkville Place Apartments Melbourne
Parkville Place Apartments Greater Melbourne/Brunswick, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing