We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkville Place Apartments
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The room was clean ,kitchen was very handy, free Internet was running pretty good and shower pressure was not so bad. The most important thing was free parking ! Very good place for all budget travellers !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

The room was clean, except the dead big behind the door of the bathroom, which was not removed even after 2 days. Milk and cookies were not replenished until I asked. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is within 5 minutes walk of 2 tram lines. If you don't know what a Miki card for the tram is, find out before you get here. There is a full kitchen with stove, microwave dishes and utensils. Iron, and board and hair dryer are supplied. For a couple of days visit, it was not too bad. Would I come again? Leaning towards not. One other thing, this is an Econo Lodge. They told me they are unable to process the frequent stayer program. This is on corporate's head. The staff told me contact them if I need any help proving my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cflum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for the review. In response to your comments - the rooms get serviced daily, that is beds made, towels changed, rubbish removed, toilet paper, tea, coffees etc replenished. If there was a dead fly hidden behind the door then yes it could quite easily be missed until the full weekly clean is done so apologies for that, if you had pointed it out I am sure the housekeepers would have been happy to remove it. Apologies if the reception staff on duty did not know how to process your frequent stayers points - this will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights recently - 1st night on my own as husband in hospital. Room was clean, bed comfortable, not too noisy as on back corner facing Stranger Street. Did not need to use air-con so can't comment on that. However, chairs were awful. My husband discharged from hospital but had to stay nearby to hospital for another night. Asked if possible to get a comfy chair for him but man at desk said not possible to get chair upstairs and along passageway. There is a lift!!! and passageway is not that narrow so how difficult could it be. Had to finish up using chairs from balcony - more comfortable but had to clean before using.

Apart from the chair issue, I can not fault the room.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Nola43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for the review. In response to the chair issue, our superior rooms all have couches and you where offered the chance to change rooms which you declined. We could not take a couch out of a superior room and put it in your room as that would have meant the superior room which advertises as having couches would have been couch-less.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was visiting nearby so chose this place as it was convenient. It has been updated recently, with a new lift, but it still has very old noisy air conditioners mounted in the windows which drone on a fair bit.
The late check in is simple where you enter a code and it delivers your key from a machine which was very handy.
Water pressure was good in the shower, and the kitchen was very handy for making small meals in.
Staff are helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights in the lead up to Christmas. I looked all over the internet for a self contained apartment just north of the city and this was by far the best price I could find. We were travelling with young twins so required two port-a-cots, Parkville Place happily provided those at no charge. Parking, unlike many other places I looked at, was complimentary.

We paid $105 a night so we were expecting clean basic no frills accommodation and that's what we got. In fact I said a few times to my partner, 'I can't believe this only cost $105 a night!'. I felt it was excellent value. Even with two port-a-cots up in our room we still had some space for the children to play on the floor. Had we stayed longer we would have required more space. Our room was a little noisy with road noise as there was no double glazing however once we were asleep we didn't notice it. You can't blame the hotel for noisy motorbikes.

If, like us, you don't specifically want or need to be in the city then this is a great location. There is a tram about a 10 minute walk away as well as a small shopping centre with some take-away food options and two supermarkets. It's a 20-30 minute walk to the zoo as well and there are some lovely parklands behind the hotel if you want to go for a walk.

Yes there are some things I would have changed - our bed spread was not very attractive with copious amounts of pilling and stains, it seemed a bit grubby. However it was rather warm during our stay so we didn't need it anyway, I took it off and put it in the cupboard. I would have also given the bathroom fan a good wipe over and soaked the shower's soap dish in some CLR. The only other problem we faced was our room neighbour smoking on their balcony and their smoke blowing right into the intake for our air-conditiong. They filled our room with their second hand smoke. The property rules indicate there is no smoking on the premises and as far as I'm concerned a balcony is part of the premises. We complained to reception and they rang the room to ask them to stop however they chose not to stop smoking.

If you can't abide by the rules of a property then please don't stay there.

The staff were friendly and courteous and if you are looking for budget apartment accommodation just outside the city then don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefemale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for the review. We are a non smoking building and yes that includes the balconies, it is frustrating too us when people choose to ignore this and shows a total disrespect to us and other guests. If we had been informed that this particular guest chose to ignore our request to not smoke on the balcony then we could have addressed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My dad and I traveled to Melbourne for the AFL grand final and struggled to find accommodation in the CBD...so we decided to look a bit further out and that's when we stumbled on Parkville Place Apartments. It was very affordable and the staff extremely friendly and accommodating. We arrived in the morning after traveling all night and were very grateful for the early check in. The rooms were very clean and some newly renovated. A shopping center (Woolworths, Coles, McDonalds etc) is about a 10min walk away and the number 19 tram runs to the CBD very frequently.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks for for positive review, just sorry The Docker could not take home the cup for you - maybe next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights late August 2013. The room was a bit small for two people and the fridge was a bit dodgy the smell was overwhelming and the fridge was not working well, freezing items inside and the top was hot to touch. there was nothing really wrong with the apartments but they were just so farout of the city and we never really wanted to return at the end of the day. They were a bit like youth hostel accomodation tidy, clean and appeared to be well managed but just lacked of home comfort. We moved into exhibition st hotel for similar price and we felt we got a better deal with the city accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aotearoanewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks for the review. When you left you mentioned that the fridge smelt and on checking it I agreed and replaced it, someone had obviously spilt milk and it left that sour smell. If you had mentioned it earlier I could have replaced it straight away. We are not in the heart of the CBD, more city fringe but that is what a lot of people like as it allows for free parking while in the CBD you pay an extra fee for that. We are walking distance to Sydney Road which is a happening strip with a shopping centre and lots of nightlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
#98 of 161 in Melbourne
989 reviews
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,285 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,264 reviews
Mercure North Melbourne
#149 of 161 in Melbourne
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkville Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkville Place Apartments

Address: 124 Brunswick Rd, Brunswick, Moreland, Victoria 3056, Australia (Formerly Econo Lodge Parkville Place)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Brunswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: £56 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkville Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced Apartments offering self contained one and two bedroom apartments catering for up to 6 people. All apartments containing kitchenettes with 4 burner stove top and cooking / eating utensils, microwave, fridge, dining area, TV, DVD, bathroom, iron and lock up safe. Our facilities are recently renovated, clean and smoke free. Free Wi-Fi access to all guests as well as free parking. We offer a safe, friendly environment for business people and holiday makers alike. We are located on the city fringe in the near the vibrant Sydney Road area. Easy access into the CBD with tram stops close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parkville Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkville Place Apartments Melbourne
Parkville Place Apartments Greater Melbourne/Brunswick, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing