We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee”

Katipo Coffee House Deluxe
Ranked #7 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Bondi
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Have been to Katipo 4 times over the past 2 months, in the hope that it would be as good as I wanted it to be. The coffee is, in my opinion, the best on Bondi Road, and it has a lot of competition.
The food is just consistently not great. It sounds good, but just somehow misses the mark. Last meal was lunch, with two toasted flatbread sandwiches and were 90% rocket. You could argue this is healthy, but I wanted tasty. The only way I can think to describe the food is lazy. It's not bad, it seems fresh, but just is not put together with any care or finesse.
It is a shame, as the mix of seating and the style of the place is quite cool, and a little different to other spots along this strip,but I won't be venturing there for anything other than coffee again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worst Meal Ever”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Three of us had a meal here recently and it was the worst food and service I've encountered.

My wife ordered a Caesar Salad and it was inedible. It's ingredients were an old Iceberg lettuce
cut into four quarters, some dried chicken and bacon on top with a small amount of dressing.

The waitress with little comprehension of the English language asked, " is everything OK " and when I said no it wasn't. I said meal was a disgrace and with that, she said OK and walked off.

I then spoke to the manager and his reply was there was nothing wrong with the meal and that the ingredients were fresh. As you can see from the photo, the lettuce is that old, it's gone yellow.

When I paid for the meal there was no avenue open for a refund for the salad and had to pay.


see attached photo and it doesn't even resemble a Ceasar Salad.
Avoid at all cost,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wobblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere, food and coffee.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Came here two days in a row on a recent trip to Bondi. Was staying conveniently just across the road from it and found the coffee here to be quick and delicious. The food is excellent and varied and even has vegetarian options. I had the scrambled haloumi which was divine! Another added bonus is the free wifi. What traveller doesn't love wifi? The cafe itself is decorated with various artworks and they play excellent music. Shout out to the wonderful efficient staff for working so hard and delivering great service, especially to Charlie? who ran back out and gave me my umbrella when I forgot it. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who enjoys a good coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SezzahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and wifi”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Staff friendly, food excellent, service was great. I recommend this place to eat and there wifi is great!!!!
Thanks to the staff for accommodating us!!!!

Kim and mike from San Diego

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool vibe with less than average food”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Sorry... I know this is a much lives local joint, and the atmosphere is very pleasant (and coffee is decent) but the food is pretty poor. Plenty of nicer places in Bondi to spend your money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyBee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katipo Coffee House Deluxe also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Katipo Coffee House Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing