We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst bed i've ever slept on.”
Review of Lamrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lamrock Lodge
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bondi
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst bed i've ever slept on.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The good points - the location was spot on, just a 5 minute stroll and your on Bondi beach. A very nice area full of restaurants, cafes and bars.

The bad points - I stayed in a twin room which was very basic & pretty dirty. The bed was the worst bed I have ever slept in, the mattress was so thin it would have been more comfortable sleeping on the hard dirty floor. Stains on the pillow cases and holes in the bed sheets. The 'receptionist' was normally found outside the front of the hostel smoking. If you drive parking outside the hostel is approx. $4 per hour so instead why not drive about 5 minutes away to Castlefield street where it is free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c_gabs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    51
    31
    26
    51
See reviews for
10
38
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have been travelling down the east coast and have stayed in many hostels (most have been cheaper than this) but this is by far the worst hostel I have experienced!! The state of the room is disgusting - dirty bed sheets, unclean sink and fridge, our feet were completely back within minutes of walking on the floor! Nearly every morning we have woken up with bites from bed bugs...I have heard a few people talking about the same problem outside and have just looked through some other reviews and they say the same. The noise in the hostel is constant, we like a good party but it just seems that everyone is here to just get drunk/stoned at all times of the day and night and no one cares about how they treat the place. I have no words to describe the kitchen and toilets/showers. We unfortunately booked here for two weeks and are leaving in 4 days (thank god) but I'd highly recommend staying somewhere else. Luckily we have been out and about as much as possible but it's disheartening coming back to this place, only good thing is the location as is only 100m from the beach and he local area is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lor1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bondi hotels

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hostel gave us a good weekly rate which was better than anything else in sydney . We were expecting it to be quite bad for the price we paid but it was lovely. We had our own microwave, sink, fridge and tv. Only bad thing was I had to share a double bed with my friend . It's close to the beach and the people were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccanna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

When I first walked into this place, I already thought about all the bad things I might be telling TripAdvisor. When I checked out, my opinion had changed. This place offers stuff other hostels definitely would not, and it costs much less! The location absolutely cannot be beat. We had a private double room (a bunk bed) which was incredibly small. Maybe I would have been annoyed if we were staying for more than one night but really, who spends enough time in their room for that to matter? The room had a very nice 32" flat panel TV, with multiple channels. Mini fridge in room. Not everyday you see those in a hostel. The internet was 10AUD for 24 hours/500 mb whichever you use first, but time stops when you log off, so time seemingly lasts forever. Towels? Free at the front desk, as many as you want. Storage? Also free, offered by the front desk via a storage closet under the stairs. Not the most absolute secure storage, but it works. A 20AUD key deposit was a little annoying but as long as you return the keys you get that back. The owners/operators were friendly and helpful. One of the bathrooms was a little dirty and smelly but overall I did not find the place to be filthy, just definitely old and worn down. I might not want to stay here for an extended period of time but for one night or a couple of days it is absolutely worth the price!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Considering the price and you're minutes from Bondi beach, this place exceeded my expectations. Our room had a bunk style bed, double or queen on the bottom and a single up top. The tv was flat screen with very good reception. The small fridge was dated but worked well. The clothes cupboard meant my shirts didnt get creased. The room is basic and for sleeping its fine but I wouldnt chill out in there for several hours. As for the bathrooms and toilets, get passed first impressions; they're just dated. Everything works, hot water is hot and continous. Couldnt hear much from other rooms and there were no queues for bathrooms or toilets. Would I stay here again ? Yes with family / friends but perhaps not on my honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoachieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have read the other reviews but I think for the price and for Sydney, this is a good option. I have stayed here two times now, the building is old but that is part of its charm. If you want a room on your own, then $40 is as cheap as it gets. Even dorm beds in Sydney are up around $30 mark. There is a little fridge in the room and a TV which I think is very good. Its a large place, it is cleaned every morning, unlike other hostels in Sydney I have stayed at. The day staff are friendly, the only down side is having to put a deposit on a set of cutlery/dishes, I can understand why though. The kitchen area is downstairs and not really that inviting, i think this is, like the name says a lodge and not a hostel. The location is excellent. I would stay here again,

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the stairs, it gets really noisy with people traipsing up and down at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michtravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Wooden hostel. Full of beatles and spiders. You can't sleep more than 5a.m full of noise. The kitchen is useful but the kitchen stuff is always dirty. Ok it's close to the beach but is plenty of better hostel close as well but much better!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bisbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
167 reviews
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Hotel Ravesis
Hotel Ravesis
#5 of 9 in Bondi
120 reviews
Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Bondi 38 Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamrock Lodge

Property: Lamrock Lodge
Address: 19 Lamrock Ave, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi > Bondi Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lamrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamrock Hotel Bondi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing