We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure”
Review of Oriental Jewel

Oriental Jewel
Ranked #266 of 367 Restaurants in Bondi
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Bondi, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Fresh, a lot of Choice and authentic Chinese cuisine. Very nice decor and excellent service. Very relax atmostphere not crowded like other typical Chinese restaurant. Good food Good service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teddy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
953 reviews
664 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good yum cha and al la carte. A lot less then nearby Kam Fook and but not lacking in quality. Doesn't get that busy either so no queuing.Can order yum cha from the trolley or al la carte. All fresh and good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good food and lovely waiters”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Was actually planning to go to an italian restaurant in the area tonight, but found it closed. On our way we saw this place, -and happy we did.
Food was very good; we had Fried rice, Lemon chicken, Sweet & Sour pork,Shredded peking beef and garlic bok choy - they all tasted good, but actually the portions were too big! Like it better when we can try more different dishes to share.
We had to wait a while to get the order, but overall the service was great and the waiters very lovely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroINorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Scoopon deal”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I bought a voucher from scoopon for yum cha. The food & service was excellent. The portions were bigger than other yum cha places i've had. It was also very quiet so we had the place to ourselves. Im surprised not that many people know of this place. I would definitely go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AvidLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely dinner out”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Was wondering through the bondi junction area, feeling like Asian cuisine, and deliberately skipping past the places that were packed with hourdes of Sydneysiders, when we happened upon this jewel of a place! The waiters were lovely, the place was exquisite and the food was amazing and came out nice and quickly. Nice big restaurant, wasn't too busy, (i think only because it is upstairs) which is what I like and it really made me want to come back again. Thanks Oriental Jewel. Will be back again for sure when I come back to Sydney!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Jewel also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Oriental Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing