We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value. You get what you pay for”
Review of Lacombe Motor Inn

Lacombe Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lacombe Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lacombe
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location & value. You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My family of four recently stayed at the Lacombe Motor Inn for two nights during my daughters ringette tournament. Our team was late in booking our reservations for the tournament and this was all that was available for miles around. We had heard many negative reviews so we were expecting the worst. To our surprise the hotel was in a great location, walking distance to everything (Tim Hortons, Subway, several restaurants, grocery store, rink), check in was fast and all the the hotel staff were pleasant.

The hotel is old and in need of dire upgrading and there was a foul smell of possibly cigarette smoke throughout. The rooms, and I was in several, were all clean but were dated. The beds were small but acceptable for our short stay. The room did have a microwave and bar but no alarm clock. Also of note are the train tracks that were maybe 200 ft away.

The hotel has no amenities and is not an ideal choice for families on a holiday. But if you are here for a short stay, with a purpose (business) and are on a budget this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
3
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

best experience of staying here...... staff is friendly ...... loved drinking on bar while playing pool.....
Clean and quiet and nearby grocery store, mini mall, few restaurants and close enough to walk to town. reasonable prices.... :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sukhi751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The good: Clean room; great water pressure in shower; safe and quiet; pleasant staff; restaurant on site that has good standard food. The bad: Common areas and parking areas are not clean (disgusting outdoor stair way, dirty and very smokey halls); heater in room either defective or set so will not heat high; and no coffee maker in room.

Workable motel if you need a place in the area. Much less expensive than Ponoka if attending events on exposition/show grounds there.

Room Tip: Second floor more quiet. Steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Frolic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Clean and quiet and nearby grocery store, mini mall, few restaurants and close enough to walk to town. Older and bit dark but works for stop over or few days of stay.
Friendly staff, reasonable rate.
Tip: one taxi service in town so either call in advance if time sensitive to get somewhere.
Think, no elevator.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank redlimelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Although a bit older, I found this place to be a fantastic place to stop for a night for myself and my family. The staff was friendly, and our room was clean and comfortable. We ate at the restaurant in the motel, and their food was delicious. There is a pub in the motel, but it didn't bother me or my family. If we ever need to stop again driving home from Calgary, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The best thing I like about this hotel was its location. The small mall is right next to this hotel,fast food joints, grocery store, subway, banks,liquor store and all what u need. Me and my crew stayed here for 4 nights in august, Rooms were clean, recently updated. The dining area was good too, really enjoyed their food. Friendly staff.I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stop in at this hotel once in a while on my way to calgary, The rooms are nice and clean, Staff is really helpful. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacombe
0.1 mi away
Green Way Inn
Green Way Inn
#3 of 5 in Lacombe
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lacombe Inn & Suites
15.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
6.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Blackfalds Red Deer North
1.5 mi away
Country Club Inn
Country Club Inn
#4 of 5 in Lacombe
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacombe Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacombe Motor Inn

Property: Lacombe Motor Inn
Address: 5136 Highway 2a, Lacombe, Alberta T4L 1Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Lacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lacombe Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lacombe Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing