We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Clos Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Clos Marcel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duingt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fantastic few days by lake Annecy at the Clos Marcel. Amazing view from our upstairs lake room, friendly laid back staff and good food at the restaurant. The garden area of the restaurant was great for our 4 year old to run around in while we were finishing off dinner.

Best things were the view, the relaxed and friendly attitude and the food, although we would have liked to see a simpler or just different lunch menu in the restaurant - if you're there for a few days and eating in the restaurant a lot you want a bit of variety.

We took the boat taxi to Annecy from the dock with a tour round the lake first, which was great, if a little expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed 5 days in this wonderful hotel. The location is great. You can look at the scenery for hours and swim.
If you wish to waterski the boat an pick you up at the dock.
Our girls (9 and 12) enjoyed as much as us the private beach, the ping-pong, jacuzzi etc
Breakfast is included and excellent
Staff very friendly and helpful. They gave us great suggestions for restaurants.
The restaurant of the restaurant itself is delicious. Innovative menu.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is for the rich. The ones who like to spend money for the sake of spending.
Don't expect a warm welcome from the owners. She should change jobs, and he shouldn't have let her take over his business.
The food isn't much better, this outdated "nouvelle cuisine" just isn't worth it.

The locals don't come here any more as they used to, which certainly means something.
We used to come fairly often all the way from Switzerland, but this will definitely be the last time. The nice location can't compensate for poor service and contemptuous attitudes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alexis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is a wonderfully positioned and very charming hotel on Lake Annecy. Duingt (pronounced Dwan if you were wondering!) is one of the towns on the lake. The hotel was rebuilt recently and is quite contemporary with a separate restaurant building on the same site. It is a little eccentric (see below) but the staff are all charming and we found it very pleasant.

So, the good and the bad:

FOR
Newly built, clean and nicely positioned
Location - right on the lake with lovely mountain views a nice garden and jetty onto the lake
Pleasant attitude of the staff and good service
Restaurant is very pleasant - but not worth a special trip
Really liked the "no signing" approach - very Aman
Table football table and ping pong table were a big hot with my 10 and 11 year old boys
Very relaxed with children

AGAINST
No Air conditioning - strange for a summer resort. Therefore slept with open windows and were "nibbled" extensively by the local bugs
No laundry service - really strange and the first hotel I have ever been in without one
Do NOT stay in the car park room (Room 6) - it is dark and hot in summer and still charged at full rate
Breakfast is a little pricy at EUR 16
Restaurant is a bit repetitive and lunch/dinner menus appear to be the same so make sure you have "other plans"

All in all we had a good but slightly expensive stay. There is not a huge amount of choice for 4 and 5 star hotels in the Annecy area and this is certainly a place I would go back to if only for the charming and relaxed approach of Les Patrons and the staff

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in Room 6, ground floor overlooking car park. Make sure you face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is a little gem by Annecy lake. The deco of the room is great, very modern and the terrace so good.... This is a great hotel for couple but also family. We travelled there with our 4 month baby and the owners were very nice with very helpful staff. The breakfast is really good with very nice local products. Try the cheese and ham! The restaurant is really good. This was a very peaceful and relaxing stay. We will come back...

Room Tip: take the one with lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The location, the view and the lakefront location is really what makes this hotel exceptional. The description on their website is a little overdone when it comes to the hotel. The rooms are clean but very standard and spartan for a 4-star. The staff is nice and the service is good. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant but we heard that it was quite good.

Room Tip: Get the lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeXIIdeLuynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This is really a great hotel. The spacious garden adjacent to lake Annecy. Rooms and restaurant fabulously styled in modern design. Only thing missing is airconditioning in the room. Very friendly staff. The food in the restaurant is outstanding against reasonable prices. The desserts are amazing: straight from heaven! Certainly a place to return to.

Room Tip: Book a room on ground floor, walk straight from your terrass into the garden to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jogaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duingt
1.8 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
37 reviews
5.6 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 9 in Talloires
451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 9 in Talloires
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clos Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clos Marcel

Address: 410 allee de la Plage, 74410 Duingt, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Duingt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duingt
Price Range: £137 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Clos Marcel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Clos Marcel est né de la métamorphose spectaculaire d'une ancienne pension de famille.De verre, de bois et de métal, ce bijou architectural rêvé par vos hôtes a la pureté comme fil conducteur. Entre loft industriel et demeure de charme, il vise le luxe et le raffinement en matière d'Hôtellerie sur le lac d'Annecy et s'en donne les moyens.Ses 14 chambres et suites bénéficient d'un espace extérieur privé, fuguant vers le jardin et l'eau du lac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Clos Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing