We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit: still not convinced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clos Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Clos Marcel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duingt
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2nd visit: still not convinced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Am reviewing the restaurant only ( not sure why Tripadvisor doesn't list the restaurant in its own right?). We all agree that the setting is fabulous, no question. The restaurant is contemporary and that's great in a town that is still full of fairly traditional places. the food is good, portions ample. My problem is that the service is a bit average and not attentive enough. I think they rely on their perfect setting to carry them. Shame.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iloveliguria59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    62
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
94
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has a beautiful garden overlooking the lake was really amazing which is best advantage of the expensive hotel. Room is extremely small. No enough space for my luggage. The shower is very good. Bed is comfortable. It is very clean room and design is nice. No minibar or fridge. The restaurant is poor and very expensive. Even the chairs inside were not stylish, or comfortable. They are plastic chairs inside the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms are X small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nice and comfortable room, if you like the minimalist modern decor (we did!).
Good food. Situated directly at the lake.
Total package is a bit pricy. (approx EUR 2.000 for 6 nights + dinners for 2.
The staff was not overwelmingly friendly, to be correct not really interested.
For us that was a little disappoiting, it is clearly a business for them, a business they run well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I can't recommend Clos Marcel highly enough. The lake front position is beautiful. The lawns for the children to play on where very welcome after the long drive from Paris. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast (incredibly unhealthy, but when in France.......) and the dinner we had was lovely. The whole place had an air of relaxed luxury. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The kids and I loved hopping on the bikes and cycling on the very safe cycle way to the boulangerie to pick up a morning treat. I would love to revisit in summer when the lake is warm enough for swimming.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are very similar. We had two rooms, one of which had a mezzanine sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fifim37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Really lovely situation on Lake Annecy overlooking the lake and mountains in the distance. This "boutique" style hotel is extremely welcoming and comfortable. Very professional staff offer an excellent standard of service both in the hotel and restaurant. Food is excellent and the rooms are extremely clean and of a high standard. Would love to visit again and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: A lake view would really be the only one to choose, ground floor if you have children but the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardnas001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fantastic few days by lake Annecy at the Clos Marcel. Amazing view from our upstairs lake room, friendly laid back staff and good food at the restaurant. The garden area of the restaurant was great for our 4 year old to run around in while we were finishing off dinner.

Best things were the view, the relaxed and friendly attitude and the food, although we would have liked to see a simpler or just different lunch menu in the restaurant - if you're there for a few days and eating in the restaurant a lot you want a bit of variety.

We took the boat taxi to Annecy from the dock with a tour round the lake first, which was great, if a little expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed 5 days in this wonderful hotel. The location is great. You can look at the scenery for hours and swim.
If you wish to waterski the boat an pick you up at the dock.
Our girls (9 and 12) enjoyed as much as us the private beach, the ping-pong, jacuzzi etc
Breakfast is included and excellent
Staff very friendly and helpful. They gave us great suggestions for restaurants.
The restaurant of the restaurant itself is delicious. Innovative menu.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duingt
1.8 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
5.6 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 10 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Pre du Lac
Le Pre du Lac
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jorioz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#3 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
#1 of 3 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clos Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clos Marcel

Property: Hotel Clos Marcel
Address: 410 allee de la Plage, 74410 Duingt, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Duingt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duingt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Clos Marcel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Clos Marcel est né de la métamorphose spectaculaire d'une ancienne pension de famille.De verre, de bois et de métal, ce bijou architectural rêvé par vos hôtes a la pureté comme fil conducteur. Entre loft industriel et demeure de charme, il vise le luxe et le raffinement en matière d'Hôtellerie sur le lac d'Annecy et s'en donne les moyens.Ses 14 chambres et suites bénéficient d'un espace extérieur privé, fuguant vers le jardin et l'eau du lac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Clos Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing