We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful family oriented resort, Chilean-style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Alfonso del Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Algarrobo
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Beautiful family oriented resort, Chilean-style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at San Alfonso for two nights in Feb. 2012 with our family. I have mixed views about this hotel but have no regrets visiting it once because I´ve heard so much about it and it is indeed gorgeous.

The Good:
-Overall, the complex is impressive; gorgeous pools, great waterslide (large one for big "kids" and small one for little kids), lovely white sand beaches, a huge number of children parks, etc. Our kids had a blast!
-My husband and I went to the spa and enjoyed incredible 50 minute muscular masages, which were high-quality and very reasonably priced.
-The aquarium was free and good entertainment for 30 minutes or so (although poorly lit and in an underground cafe). Also there was a dead small shark. My boys thought it was awesome, especially when the other fish were attacking it, but I was slightly repulsed.

The Not-So-Good:
-As someone else mentioned, many of the activities cost additional $$. For example, the gym, hot tubs, life jackets to go on the inflatable slide, etc. are all extra. And, in the case of the gym, the cost is substantial (something like 6.000-8.000 CLP per visit) and completely not worth it.
-Like many places in Chile, the apartments to not provide sheets and towels (unless you want to play an extra fee, which is substantially more than purchasing your own items). I completely don´t understand this - especially when the cost is over $300 USD per night. For a foreigner flying in, this is an annoyance. We live in Santiago and the concept of bringing my own sheets and towels just makes me angry, particularly at the price being charged.
-The pools were a bit cool (unheated), but in February this wasn´t an issue... however I can imagine they would be unswimmable from late March until early December.
-Bring ALL your own food. There are little to no options in terms of decent restaurants within the complex and many are cash/cheque only. Again, this is very odd to me. In this complex they have a captive audience of people who can afford to spend a lot of money to stay here yet there is no where decent to eat. Even the grocery store across the street is bare bones. Seems like a business opportunity to me! AND, at minimum, they should make it easy to pay!
-The quality of the apartment is highly dependant on the owner and which building it is in (i.e., age of the building). Our apartment was new and clean (in building Crusero). The kitchen was poorly equipped (bare bones, cheapest possible everything) and the furniture was also very basic but functional.

Taking all the good and the bad together, as I said upfront, I have no regrets visiting San Alfonso once and recommend it for families with small children!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
106 Thank WeylandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    132
    53
    21
    18
See reviews for
214
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The apartments are clean, well equipped, and have views of the largest swimming pool in the world. We had no trouble booking through the website as expressed in other reviews. My husband and I are living in Chile at the moment, so we opted to take our own sheets and towels instead of paying the extra surcharge.

We spent 3 nights at San Alfonso del Mar, and had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. We did not swim in the outdoor pool as it was too cold (we visited in early October), but did pay to use the indoor pool in the pyramid, which is heated, and also has a spa.

Whilst we did enjoy a relaxing weekend away, it is probably important to point out that there is very little to do in Algorrobo away from the apartments and pool. Also, there were only 2 restaurants and a cafe at the complex. Being a long weekend, there were quite a few people around, however we get the impression that most of the guests were the owners of apartments, and it is really more of a holiday destination for Chileans who own apartments in the complex than tourists as such. If suited our purposes for the weekend, however, do not mistake this place for a resort with loads of tourists, activities and bars etc. We brought snack food with us for the weekend, which I would recommend as the supermarket across the road did not have a very good selection. I would also recommend buying any other food you want to cook, and drinks etc and bring with you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
65 Thank Pinkbandicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This place was wonderful. The kitchen had every tool imaginable. The facilities were clean and the food was delicious. Would recommend in warmer months. We went at the beginning of December and it was still a little cool, so I could not enjoy the large pool as much.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank TravelSomeMFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We spent a weekend at the Alfonso del Mar Resort. First, trying to make a reservation was one of the most frustrating processes ever. The resort's website is hard to navigate and figure out for international tourists. We had to call no less than 3x to try to complete the booking. After the booking was made, you need to leave a deposit -- the site had trouble with non-Chilean credit cards and so I had to call again.

When we checked in, we had to sign a lengthy rental agreement written in Spanish and sign a security deposit of $168. We got to our condo and there were no sheets or towels. Although we were charged for 3000 Pesos for "Service items" -- we were told that towels/sheets were an optional $50 USD. The service items were 2 soaps and 2 rolls of toilet paper which were not included in room charge. This is the first hotel that we've stayed at where towels and sheets, soap and toilet papers are additional. Who brings towels and sheets with them on vacation? Plus, it was a major hassle trying to explain to the doorman in the lobby that we needed towels/sheets --as we spoke little Spanish. He called the office, who called a maid to bring the sheets/towels --this process took almost half-an-hour to accomplish.

The condo had a very nice view of the resort, the artificial swimming pool, the Pacific Ocean and the furniture was nice. There was a kitchen, fridge, stove and microwave. The balcony had a barstools and table. The resort itself had an indoor heated pool -- but there is an additional $8 for adults and $4 for children daily charge. Most of the restaurants were closed and the resort felt very empty. The lagoon and outdoor pool areas were very nice -- with lots of playgrounds for children but it was too cold to swim outdoors. The heated indoor pool and beach located in a glass pyramid building was nice--and you could swim outside. Besides the resort, there is very little to do in Algarrobo -- a small Artisan market and boardwalk. It's a 1.5h drive to Valparaiso and Vina del mar -- which were far more interesting.

The resort is worth a short visit (at most 2 days) to see and swim in the lagoon / pools but not much more than that. There is also a mandatory $20 "cleaning fee" tacked on too. Be ware of several add-on charges. We would rather they charge a comprehensive price for the condo instead of hidden surcharges for everything.

Also , no internet connection in room. You need to sit in the lobby to use wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
134 Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

the appart-hotels were gorgeous!!!! all really nice, enlightened with the sunshine and with a balcony. they were HUUUGE inside and had all the facilities of an appartment, meaning kitchenette, etc. when i came into the appartment i was wwooowww!!!
then, we saw the famous pool which is indeed amazingly beautiful! you can even put a boat in the middle and it will fit! the days were excellent so we spent time around the pool area. + they have palm trees and a lot of space.
only problem is that there is not one single thing to do besides that, so please when you come to this spot, get a car to be able to go out of Algarrobo a bit and discover some other places. We did not have a car so for groceries we had to shop in a mini mini market and then i just got fed up and left by bus.

I would say - are you stressed at work? wanting a vacation calm and relax where the goal is not to do anything? then YES, come to San Alfonso del Mar! Plus, remember that we are in Chile and if you have a car, it will be pretty ok. but if you are looking to party and to have adventures then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Nice apartments all with wiew over the pool and the oscean, the biggest pool in the world, 1 km long, poolarea, restaurants, supermarket, kajaks, surfboards,

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
23 Thank NinaH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed at San Alfonso del Mar for a weekend and had a great time. The artificial lagoon is amazing; there's no shortage of space to relax in and out of the pool. And when you fancy a change of scene you can step down onto the very well-kept public beach nearby. The room was clean and the service was good, although they didn't speak much English. It's not the cheapest place we stayed during our visit to Chile, but it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank jonjcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algarrobo
4.0 mi away
La Mirage Parador
La Mirage Parador
#3 of 6 in Algarrobo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Winery Boutique Hotel
Winery Boutique Hotel
#2 of 6 in Algarrobo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spa Algarrobo
Spa Algarrobo
#1 of 17 in Algarrobo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinque Colori
Cinque Colori
#1 of 7 in Algarrobo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in El Quisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Mi Casa
#4 of 7 in Algarrobo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Alfonso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Alfonso del Mar

Property: San Alfonso del Mar
Address: Av. Kennedy 8830 | Resort San Alfonso del Mar, Algarrobo 2710000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Algarrobo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Algarrobo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 1000
Also Known As:
San Alfonso Del Mar Hotel Algarrobo
San Alfonso Del Mar Chile/Algarrobo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing