We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Somewhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a fabulous time touring Milan, Venice, then up into the mountains, staying at some fabulous places.

Then we arrived here. It's right on the lake but also right on the road, noisy at back even with double glazing.

We were shown a family room (a double with a bed squeezed in) asked for another room, etc, no help. Ended up having a meal while we looked for somewhere else, food was very mediocre, service awful, view is fantastic, but everything was so different from the Italy we had experienced. Breakfast was dreadful, the food was tired, everything in plastic packets.

They wouldn't give us any money back and held onto our passports until we paid in full despite us not having what we believed we had booked.

Stay a little bit further away from the lake or in Sirmione for more money, don't waste a euro here.

Dire.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro187855, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, rispondo solo ora a questa recensione (avendo creato l'account solo oggi 24 settembre 2014) per dire che l'episodio a cui fa riferimento, di avere trattenuto i passaporti, non si è mai verificato nel nostro hotel e aggiungo che mai si verificherà, semplicemente perché la cosa non ha senso: avendo comunque registrato il documento al check-in. Nella nostra colazione, poi, non c'è nulla in sacchetti di plastica: tutto il cibo è fresco. Concludo dicendo che quanto riportato nella recensione o è inventato o probabilmente è accaduto altrove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We happened upon this hotel while driving around Lake Garda. What a lucky find! It was beautiful clean and nice and right on the water. Our room opened out to the private beach and beautiful garden. For the price, this is one of the nicest hotels I've experienced.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllysonSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is wonderfully located on the shore of Lake Garda, just 15-20 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of Maderno. The rooms are well decorated, clean and fresh - my only criticism is that the bathroom appears to have been created like a wet room but the water from the shower creates a slipping hazard on the floor tiles (I have marked the room score down because of this).
The beds and pillows are very comfortable and the air conditioning adds to the sleep quality that we found to be excellent.
The overall service was mixed but the front desk was very good throughout - helpful and informative.
We ate dinner in the restaurant during our stay and found the food and service to be good; we ate outside overlooking the lake - wonderful.
Buffet breakfast was included in the price of the room - a good choice of food with outside tables in a lovely location overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

As part of a lengthy motoring holiday around France and Italy, we were keeping our itinerary quite "loose" in case we wanted to change our plans - consequently this booking was made quite late and without even bothering to check the reviews.
We arrived to discover a magnificent hotel in an incredible location - and our experience was pretty much the same as all the other reviewers on here.
Our room was on the garden level and opened directly onto the grass leading towards the steps down to the private beach.
Absolutely idyllic.
Room was spotless, staff were friendly and VERY helpful, breakfast was excellent etc etc.
Impossible to fault.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timmy9765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at Villa Maria for 9 nights, the hotel is a in a perfect position right by the lake. The breakfasts were buffet style and there was plenty of choice. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and throughly enjoyed the meals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Sue1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Relaxing, enchanting this is the place to chill out in style. The hotel is right next to the lake, the rooms are elegant and breakfast was very good. The only downside is the sofa beds in the rooms are not comfortable for adults and would suggest only to use them for small children.

Room Tip: The hotel often sells out, but some internet travel agents have pre booked rooms so you can still fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We planned to stay 4 nights in this hotel, fortunatley our car broke down & we were forced to stay an extra night. The rooms were amazing, clean & airy. The staff were so helpful especially when the car broken down helping translate to the garage.
The breakfast was really good & also we ate in the evening twice rather than go out and the food/menu was really good & well cooked.
I can't fault this hotel, even though it wasn't central there was a good walk to Toscolano or Garndone Riveria it was perfect for the lake & very private.
I would stay here again if we came back to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toscolano-Maderno
21.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,129 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#6 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
464 reviews
2.7 mi away
Piccolo Paradiso
Piccolo Paradiso
#2 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac

Address: Via Roma 45, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range: £69 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac Lake Garda/Toscolano-Maderno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing