We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely bad!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Magnitogorsk, Russia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Extremely bad!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Extremely bad!
All our stay in this hotel was extremely bad, from the very beginning till our departure. First of all – could your imagine that their name “Villa Maria Au Lac” would be” Villa Maria don Orio” on their side board? Then our room: we booked Suite (when you book via their web-site they have pictures and description of a suite of first type), so we were sure that we booked the suite of first type, when we arrived we got the suite of second type. This second type suite is the same as a family suite, but with the lake-view balcony. The balcony in fact wasn’t the lake-view; it was the restaurant-view. So you should close your curtains for all day because people in restaurant can see you and your room in details. The furniture (if I can call it furniture) was shabby, the sofa was with dirty spots, the bedsides tables on upper level were bare stumps with nailed lamps, the bad was squeaking. Air-con was extremely noisy. The first level with sofa dressed for sleep had no free space, you could hardly move between walls and the sofa. The wardrobe had lack of space too, because they put the safe and the refrigerator with the mini-bar there. The shower was without a door, so water poured onto the floor. Breakfast was poor and uneatable, so my husband and daughter didn’t attend it, by the way if u arrived at 9.30 am (breakfast till 10.30) you would find empty plates. You should take your own beach towels; otherwise you would pay 3Euro per each. They didn’t provide laundry service at all. And you don’t find an iron and drying facilities for wet clothes and swimsuits. And you shouldn’t dream of having a sunbed on the smallest beach – they have only five or six for all guests. Service was awful in all aspects – the receptionist had never greeted us during our 8 days stay, room’s cleaning was very specific (they didn’t wash dirty glasses neither did they clean table), the call to the reservation desk was terrible: the manager was rude and even didn’t want to listen to us about the problem with the suite of second type; she was not listening to what I was telling about. We tried to shorten our stay and this “friendly” hotel asked us to pay the whole amount for all reserved days, “but we are free and can go away every day” (manager’s words). They didn’t mention such rule in their cancellation policy (I mean their web-site). So we paid the whole amount in spite of spending there 2 days less. In my opinion everything in this hotel was extremely bad. If you respect yourself and your close ones, stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YuliaShka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    52
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
33
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

1. is understaffed with no management on site?
2. does not operate the advertised spa in peak season?
3. does not serve lunch or bar snacks during the day and the walk to nearest restaurants or shops is 20-30 minutes away (or a drive)?
4. charges for more than one cup of coffee at breakfast despite the room rate including breakfast?
5. does not chill relevant food stuffs or keep food covered at breakfast...dessicated, curly cucumber anyone?
6. does not provide you with the rooms you booked, even having confirmed by email that they were, and, on arrival, tells you the hotel is full and nothing can be done?
7. advertises a private beach but, in reality, the beach and the hotel loungers are used by the general public?
8. has bathrooms where the shower floods the tiled floor each time it is used?
9. advertises free Wi-fi but you have to stand outside your room to get a signal?
10. has a really dangerous exit from it's driveway onto the main road at the back?
BUT
11. has a nice view of Lake Garda from it's gardens?

...then this is the hotel for you.

We, however, wish we had not wasted our money and time and would not recommend it or stay there again. There are far, far better hotels around Lake Garda which actually do not treat their paying guests with contempt.

Room Tip: Book a room in an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at, right on the shore of the lake itself, we could open our room door in the morning and step out onto the lake, amazing. The sun rises across from your room, if you have a lakeside room that is. You have your own sunbeds outside your room, so no early get ups to secure them.

Breakfast on the balcony with the sun coming up was a truly incredible experience.

Room Tip: Choose a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We booked a one night stop over at this hotel and were not disappointed with what we got.
We arrived late in the afternoon and were shown to our room by the gentleman on reception.
The room we had been allocated was a huge bedroom with a mezzanine bedroom on a gallery over-looking the lounge area. The balcony doors had led to a fabulous little terrace with the most incredible views of the lake.
Dinner was simple but pleasant and the Romanian waitress was very polite.
We wandered to the little village slightly further up the lake for drinks after dinner and planned our route across the lake by ferry boat in the morning. The dock is literally 1 minute from the hotel.
Great way to see lake Garda is this car ferry !

Back at the hotel I found the sofa bed incredibly uncomfortable and the shower in the bathroom was not very user friendly with the shower head always dropping down.
However the all round service and standard of accommodation was perfectly acceptable and we would definitely return..... The view in itself was worth the money !

Room Tip: Over looking the water is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I'll definitely be back and recommend this place wholeheartedly. It's not the best hotel in the world, but just an amazing location overlooking the lake. It's a bit near the road, but that didn't bother me. The only negative is the lack of adequate soundproofing - the inconsiderate, door slamming, high-healed women upstairs was immensely irritating as was the guy with the smokers cough next door.
The breakfast was really good too. The service was unremarkable, but no negatives to report on that front.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a fabulous time touring Milan, Venice, then up into the mountains, staying at some fabulous places.

Then we arrived here. It's right on the lake but also right on the road, noisy at back even with double glazing.

We were shown a family room (a double with a bed squeezed in) asked for another room, etc, no help. Ended up having a meal while we looked for somewhere else, food was very mediocre, service awful, view is fantastic, but everything was so different from the Italy we had experienced. Breakfast was dreadful, the food was tired, everything in plastic packets.

They wouldn't give us any money back and held onto our passports until we paid in full despite us not having what we believed we had booked.

Stay a little bit further away from the lake or in Sirmione for more money, don't waste a euro here.

Dire.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro187855, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Google Translation
Gentile cliente, rispondo solo ora a questa recensione (avendo creato l'account solo oggi 24 settembre 2014) per dire che l'episodio a cui fa riferimento, di avere trattenuto i passaporti, non si è mai verificato nel nostro hotel e aggiungo che mai si verificherà, semplicemente perché la cosa non ha senso: avendo comunque registrato il documento al check-in. Nella nostra colazione, poi, non c'è nulla in sacchetti di plastica: tutto il cibo è fresco. Concludo dicendo che quanto riportato nella recensione o è inventato o probabilmente è accaduto altrove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We happened upon this hotel while driving around Lake Garda. What a lucky find! It was beautiful clean and nice and right on the water. Our room opened out to the private beach and beautiful garden. For the price, this is one of the nicest hotels I've experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllysonSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toscolano-Maderno
1.8 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#9 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.7 mi away
Piccolo Paradiso
Piccolo Paradiso
#2 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#8 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#5 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maderno
Hotel Maderno
#10 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac

Property: Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Address: Via Roma 45, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac Lake Garda/Toscolano-Maderno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing