We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hotel”
Review of Hotel Maderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maderno
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just come back from a week at Hotel Maderno. Ignore any negative reports, this is a fantasic family run hotel close the the Lake Garda shore.

This is a real, traditional Italian hotel. Family run with wonderful staff overseen by the the aged patron, Pietre Luigi. He's a real character and so obviously proud of his hotel and it's history.

This is a perfect location for a quite relaxing holiday.

We'd go again tomorrow...but have to go back to work!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG-Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maderno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a great place to stay. Family run and with a staff so lovely and dedicated to making it a great holiday. Though our room was a little tired it was very clean and well appointed. I slept better in the bed than I have for years. Went half board and the food was of a high quality and varied in its content. The table staff in the restaurants were lovely and very helpful, they really couldn't do enough for my wife and I.
They go to great lengths to make sure you're fed before you leave if you're going on early rise excursions.
I read reviews before I went to this hotel and salty food was mentoned. I didn't find this. Breakfast only allowed one gee per person. Didn't see that happening. I would say that if you're going overseas in the hope of getting a ful English breakfast or the exact same food you have in the UK, then maybe you should ask yourself why you're holidaying overseas.
This was quite possibly the most relaxing holiday I have ever had. The true test is whether I would go there again - without question yes.
And finally, the team on reception were always kind and helpful and everything was run under the watchful eye of Pietre Luigi the aged patron of the hotel. Many thanks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar but it's a little quieter at the rear of the hotel though the best vie...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We booked a last minute holiday to Maderno, Lake Garda. The Thomson website said Hotel Maderno had been refurbished and is a 4* so this is why I picked it. This hotel has NOT been refurbished and is NOT a 4* Some of the other guests bathrooms had been done, not ours. We had a cracked shower tray and the sink was leaking. The furniture in our room had clearly been there since the 60's but not in a retro way!

The food was awful, far too salty. We ate out most nights. The breakfast was also bad and the only cooked items were salty fried eggs and you were only allowed one! The coffee was put out first thing so if you were having a late breakfast it was cold. The price of drink was also highly inflated.

The building and gardens were nice but need a bit of work. The pool is a fair size. This hotel could be fantastic if it was run properly, with a new chef and it was actually refurbished as stated. I'm sure in it's day this hotel was a 4* but certainly not now.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just returned from Lake Garda and this wonderful Hotel, I cannot stop raving about it.
this was a last minute Package deal with Crystal though we checked on Trip Advisor to see if there where any recent reviews, there was a couple of old ones which seemed positive so we where good to go.
The Hotel is listed as 4 star and in its hay day maybe yes, but now the would be the rating 3 star.

It is an imposing beautiful building set in wonderful well tended gardens, the huge pool and smaller childrens pool are surrounded by trees and a raised terrace with sun loungers galore, free use of mattress and towel, plenty of parasols for the strong sun.
The gardens have lots of seating and a modern table tennis table.

The manager prides himself on the garden,out early sweeping up the rose petals, cleaning out the pool and generaly making it as attractive for guests as possible.

Our room was situated at the front, a twin room with balcony a very modern bathroom, newly renovated and with the largest toilet i have encountered, modern shower and plenty of hot water.
There is air con so the room is cool though the balcony provides enough fresh air.
The floor wonderful and wooded ( though other rooms are carpted?).
Plenty of storgage room for clothes, a mini bar and safe compliment the room.

The common rooms are beautiful with the restaurant stylish, with crisp white linen napkins.
The bar is very small and not well used though bottled beer and good selection of wine is available as well as Italian strong coffee.

We where on a half board basis , so dinner was a four course affair (menu chosen the night before) plenty of choice.
Breakfast is served in the terrace.
Do not forget this is an italian Hotel so do not expect an English Breakfast, though fried eggs are offered, the usual Continental fair with cold meats and cheeses, plenty of food to feed a small army so you will not leave hungry.

Again I must emphasise that this is a traditional Italian Hotel not a chain hotel, so again the food is Italian, so do not be disapointed. There is plenty of choice of second course and main with seven choices of desert though they are the same all during your stay (deserts)
Other guests choose to eat out as the food was not to their taste, plenty of other restaurants close by but why not experience the difference.

The hotel is a two minute walk to the Lake and the ferry landings (the ferries are expensive) there is a local bus stop very close to the hotel with services to all the towns on the east side of the lake ( buy your tickets at the newsagents, they are cheaper that from the bus driver and DO NOT forget to have them endorsed when you get on) typical fair was 2 euro single to most of the towns, the newsagent will give the the correct ticket as they are in zones.

The lake side walk is long and flat so easy going plenty of bars and food places along the way and of course ice cream by the gallon (1.5 euro single scoop).

Across the road there is a supermarket cheap by our standards plenty of good wine and beer (take yor Nectar card).

The Hotel closes its ornate front gates early and the back gates also, so if you intend to go out late make sure that you have a night key else you will be locked out.

At the time of writing Italy has impossed a Tourist Tax and at this hotel it was 1 euro per night per person.

One negative point for you to consider, towels are changed once per week as the owners are aware of their enviroment they will charge you for additional towels, so either help protect the area or pay for additional towels, also on the bathroom side again soap will be charged if you require more than what is provided ( take your own).

All in all this is a true gem of a hotel it will not be around for much longer so go there and enjoy all that it offers.

The father and son who own the Hotel will treat you well nothing is too much trouble, there are other Crystal hotels in town but nothing compares to the Maderno.

Couple of tips to consider : water served in the hotel will cost you 5 euros (supermarket prce 17 cents a litre) Wine euro15 a bottle (supermarket EURO 4) and a beer will cost euro 1 at the supermarket I dread to think what the hotel charges.

If you consider a trip to Venice then local transport will get you there for a retrun price of 60 euro (EuroStar and local Bus) Crystal price 68 euro each, one couple where picked up at 7.30 am and did not return until after 8pm (crystal ) about 4 hours pick up and return of guest to the many hotels.
Verona by local bus will cost no more than 20 euro return per person.

Have a great stay and take the blinkers off

The rooms at the back all have balconies and are away from the main road so a good deal quieter, the fron lesser balconies but you get to experience Italy by people and car watching.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are sunnier but with the main road close by may not be to everyones taste( some c...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is a lovely hotel, with a beautiful garden and a well looked after pool area. The staff are very helpful, courteous and try their very best to speak English. The hotel owner is very proud of the hotel and is very hands on from day to day. There is lots of history attached to the hotel and it is worth taking time to look at it while staying there. The food is very good and there are several options at dinner if you are on half or full board. It is a short walk from Lake Garda and you can take a stroll along the very long promenade along side the lake and take in the scenery. We had our wedding anniversary while staying their and they made our evening at dinner very special. Maderno is a quite place so if you just want to relax and take a few trips on the Lake to visit some of the other towns then the ferry is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. All in all we had a great week and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel with a balcony which was very clean and well maintained.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scot1TheBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This was not the hotel we had originally booked and after reading some of the reviews I was not looking forward to going but it was lovely.

You can imagine this hotel being at it's peak in about the 1920's but it has still retained that 'classy' atmosphere. The Gardens are immaculately laid out and the pool area is spotlessly clean.

All room have balconys. From other guests who were situated at the from of the hotel we gathered that the view is fantastic but the downside is that the bathrooms tended t o be small. We were allocated a room to the back of the hotel so our view was across houses, but at least you got to see real life in Italy. The bathroom was as big as out bedroom and there was loads of storage space in the bedroom. There was a little noise from the kitchen but as they stop serving meals at 8 it did not go on into the night.

Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice and the evening meal was served with a flourish as they presented it covered in silver cloches.

Staff were all friendly and helpful and although not everyone spoke English they did make an effort.

WARNING! There is one thing you MUST be aware of. When they take a drinks order with meals or any other time they will not take the money there and then but will add it to your bill. Consequently it is quite easy to run up a sustansial bill without realising it as their drinks are expensive - 5 euros for a bottle of water and wine starting fron 14 euros a bottle. There is a mini bar in each room and again drinks from there are expensive, 3 euro for a can of coke (which can be bought in the supermarket across the road for about 1 euro). You can pay the next morning so yoy can kkep track of how much you are spending, but they don't like you doig it.

Room Tip: If you want a view, as for the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Until you arrive in the garden and reach the doorstep you might think ' nice ' .
But as soon as you enter the Reception or take a closer look at the surroundings of the pool or the breakfast-room , or enter your room the ' nice ' will change into ' Basta ' !
The situation is perfect but this Hotel needs a total ' make over ' .
Beds are very small and old and the rooms smelly .
Breakfast is okay , but not more than that and for extra items like eggs or fresh juice you will have to pay .
Staff is nice , the owner is ...... well better not write it down here :-)
There are better options in Maderno and around beautiful Garda-Lake .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sipenholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toscolano-Maderno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#7 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#4 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#6 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
#3 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#5 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Piccolo Paradiso
Piccolo Paradiso
#2 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maderno

Address: Via Statale 12, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maderno 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maderno Hotel Toscolano
Hotel Maderno Lake Garda/Toscolano-Maderno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing