We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a coach tour. The welcome from staff was very good. Our room was a good size with a balcony overlooking the lake. We would have used the balcony more if the people next door had not been chain smokers. The view from the balcony was quite stunning. An electrical storm on one evening was quite spectacular with sheet lightning over the mountains. We did not experience traffic noise problems some reviewers have mentioned.

Our room and the bathroom were clean with towels changed daily. The bed linen was pristine.

The food overall was good and well presented and the waiting staff very friendly and efficent. The maitre de was attentive and always in evidence - both friendly and efficient.

All in all an excellent experience here. We were sad to leave for the next part of our tour and would be very happy to come back to this resort and hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Position is ok, ovelooking the lake, it has got a small but relaxing swimming pool in the garden. The lift is old and you always have to pray it does not stop the run when you're in!
My room was poor, no fridge, very old and cheap furniture, the linen just recall those of an hospital... the reception is always unattended, the owners seem not to be so present to the activity of their own hotel, most of the job is done successfully by their personnel, especially the three lonely waiters of the restaurant! Cuisine is nothing amazing and breakfast is hardly sufficient. This is absolutely far from the italian style of hospitality!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you want a hotel in a picture postcard location, you could do no better than the Milano which stands just across the road from the lovely bay of Maderno - and fortunately, the hotel itself does its best to match up to the location.
We stayed there for the first two weeks in August, paying extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake and I would urge others to splash out too. Although our room (208) was hardly spacious and the decor was nothing fancy, it was big enough for two and there was the bonus of a well-appointed modern bathroom kept spotless by the cleaning staff, who change the towels every day regardless of whether you have asked them to do so or not. My wife felt an extra mirror on the bedroom wall would have been nice and it took me a few days to get used to the firm mattress, but these were minor issues.
The restaurant currently operates a menu that repeats weekly, with three choices for first and second course per day after you have started off with a help-yourself salad. A menu that repeats fortnightly would be better, but you can usually find something tasty to eat every day and the restaurant staff are efficient, friendly and conscientious.
The hotel has a pleasant garden/pool area with plenty of sunbeds and chairs to enable you to stretch out and relax, but the garden's east-west orientation means it can be difficult to find shade in the late afternoons. Although the garden is right next to the road, it is screened by a hedge and trees and therefore has a feeling of privacy and seclusion.
There are two different ferry docks within two minutes walk and a bus stop in the nearby main square, so getting around is not difficult, but anyone wishing to visit places away from the lake during their holiday would be well advised to look into ways of hiring a car (I was told by my holiday rep that the nearest place I could do so was Desenzano, which is down at the southern end of the lake) - and there is a car park in the hotel grounds.
There are regular live music performances in the town, but the hotel itself features a guitarist/singer called Jacky Fabbroni once a week and he's well worth a listen if you like jazz/blues/classic rock.
Lake Garda is, in my opinion, a truly wonderful holiday destination for couples or for families, but care should be taken over which resort you choose. Although there is plenty of hustle and bustle in Maderno, families with children might be better advised to book in a resort on the other side of the lake and closer to the theme parks.
If, however, you just want some rest and relaxation, the Milano is an ideal environment in which to find it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and traffic noise disturbs you, book a room facing away from the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just returned (Aug 2013) from an excellent holiday staying at Hotel Milano in Maderno, Lake Garda booked with Thomson. .The hotel which is well sited on the lake front was a wonderful place to stay. It was near ferry, dotto train and bus stops and right opposite a 24 flavours ice cream booth! Lots of fab places to visit using these options. Staff especially the enthusiastic head waiter were helpful. A good variety of different food options on our half board package were available and we enjoyed the whole anti pasta, pasta, main and desert option each evening. Rooms whilst not huge were adequate, comfortable, cleaned daily with clean towels daily too. The siting of the hotel on the lakeside meant that you inevitably had some noise until midnight but this was not excessive apart from one night when there were two local singers in competition but this adds to the holiday feel as sleep can be caught up during the day on the sun loungers around the pristine swimming pool!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with view of lake and pool (round the side so slightly quieter at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed two nights at the end of May. The view from the balcony is stunning. Hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. Breakfast was fine, breads, cheese, meat, fruit etc with the added bonus of being able to boil your own eggs. There is a lovely pool area and terrace. The only negative thing is the food in the restaurant. We made the mistake of booking one evening and the food was less than average and cost 30 Euros a head. The other evening we walked from the hotel and found a lovely restaurant on the street behind the Golfo hotel, that was worth a visit.
If I am lucky enough to return to Lake Garda I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We spent in 2 rooms-appartment nr 312 four nights with my wife and daughter. The third floor was beautifully renowated, the lake view is astounding and the service is swift and nice (although missing character a little bit). So far great. A little drawback is breakfast: you can live with that but no attempt to make it interesting experience: no prosciutto, plastic scrambled eggs, only white bread ... a little bit on the cheap side. Also I was sorry for people staying for dinner because the restaurant is completely missing any atmosphere. I cannot however report on quality of the dinner food, we did not even try it. But this is not any problem at all as there is a choice of restaurants in the close proximity - just dont buy accomodation with dinner in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetrSidlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for only 2 nights at the Hotel Milano at beginning of October 2012 and what a lovely break we had.
We upgraded our room to a dual aspect room with a large balcony and im so glad we did! The veiws were AMAZING! Lake Garda is a beautiful place and the scenery is just to die for!

Breakfast was fantastic - prob the best we have ever had on the continent. So much choice and delicious. The waiting staff are very friendly too....

ABOUT THE AREA:

Maderno is much quieter than towns such as Garda and Salo - however I have to ask the question..... could have have been able to afford a lake view room in a hotel in a busier town? The answer for us was NO! I would much rather have breaktaking views over a wider choice of restaurants any day! :-)

Because winter season starts at the beginning of October, we couldnt fully take advantage of the ferry services but i recommend a visit to Torri. The ferry leaves every hour or so and takes approx 30 mins. Torri has a little market and restaurants to choose from for a lovely lunch. From there we caught a bus to Garda! Garda is a fab place - i just wish we had more time to spend there.

There is a few lovely restuarants in Maderno - the hotel staff will help you. Failing that, use trip advisor as we did to find places to eat.

We had the best break and only wish we could spend more time there.

We will definatly be returning to Lake Garda and my only reason for not staying here again is simply because we never visit the same place twice lol!

I highly reccomend staying at Hotel Milano!

Have a fab holiday! :-)

Room Tip: Upgrade your room! You wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonnahLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toscolano-Maderno hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
#3 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maderno
Hotel Maderno
#10 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#6 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#4 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#7 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#9 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Via Lungolago Giuseppe Zanardelli 12 | Toscolano Maderno, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range: £104 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel Maderno
Hotel Milano Lake Garda/Toscolano-Maderno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing