We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st visit Italian lakes”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Certificate of Excellence
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st visit Italian lakes”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The position of the hotel was excellent , for visiting madernos local bars and restaurants . The harbour was busy and lovely, so book a room overlooking the lakes as you get spectacular views not only of the harbour but the mountains beyond.
We found the hotel staff to be unfriendly and we agree with other reviews of a lack of information about hotel or local amenities.
The rooms were kept very clean , we found the pool excellent, and they also provided towels.
The reception kept room keys on the counter which isn't professional and does pose a security risk.
We didn't eat in the hotel for evening meals, but enjoyed the variety of local produce and cooking in the restaurants.
Can't quite put finger on the issue we have with the hotel and staff, but it lacked warmth, and welcome even when we checked out no one even asked if we had a nice stay, it's a real shame as it could be a little gem.

Room Tip: Lakeside view Second floor Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    47
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I loved the location.The female staff during breakfast time are a bit brass. 'No' must be the only word they know.The proprietor and his brother (assumed) are charming, accomodating, kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. Ask for 2nd floor because I believe the 3rd level has not been remodeled yet. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpdavis43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Hotel Milano certainly seems to polarise opinion from brilliant to abysmal. Having seen some of the contrasting reviews my wife and I decided the only way to find out was to visit the place ourselves and to go with an open mind. We took note of the views of others that a superior room would be the best option and duly booked with a request for a top floor room, we backed this up with an email directly to the hotel with the same request, which was answered very quickly in the affirmative (no sign of any un-cooperative managers as reported by others) The room when we arrived exceeded our expectations with a most wonderful view of Maderno bay, it was clean, well appointed with a large balcony and kept scrupulously clean throughout our stay. Additionally our room had individually controlled air conditioning, which is a bit of a rarity in Italy. So far so good, now for the more negative aspects, the party walls between the rooms in the modern part of the building didn’t seem to have much in the way of sound insulation, so noisy neighbours could be a problem. Also we learned that some rooms are allocated for guests with dogs, apart from the obvious guide dog exception, we find this an unacceptable practice. We also found the coming and goings of tour parties a bit wearing.

Moving on to food, this could be best described as mediocre, but certainly edible and the head waiter was quite willing to change things if you really didn’t like what was on offer. It was also a bit disconcerting having to make dinner menu choices at breakfast, but we were told by somebody who has travelled extensively in this part of Italy that it is standard practice in most hotels. The head waiter and his two lady assistants were very attentive, efficient and courteous, so no real problems from that quarter, but the cigar smoking duty manager did raise a stink – literally, even if he and his counterpart were perfectly affable most of the time.

One other negative aspect concerns the lounge/bar area, again well appointed but it had a large wall mounted TV tuned more or less permanently to the Eurosport channel, whether anyone was present or not. It didn’t affect us too much as we preferred to go out for our digestivo.

In summary we think the hotel Milano does not merit the abysmal ratings some people give it, but there could be some improvements, and it wouldn’t take much effort to turn this place into something quite special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorer952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We decided to stay here as it looked very nice from the pictures, however the staff were rude the property wasn't very clean and there were no locks on the french doors so your belongings are anyones for the taking. The beds are as hard as iron, this place is horrible sitting in the worst part of Garda and very far from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johncrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Challans, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a large room with spacious bathroom and a balcony overlooking the lake. The views were spectacular. Everywhere was clean and very comfortable, but perhaps a little dated. The staff were very welcoming and very helpful. We were conscious of the fact that security was very lax with all room keys left in reception where anyone could pick them up off the desk. Great place as a base for visiting other parts of the lake either by car, or by the regular ferries. We loved Torri where there is a huge market on Mondays. Not too much to do in Maderno itself. The weather was great, but the swimming pool was not heated and very cold. Overall we enjoyed our holiday and would recommend the hotel as good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Visited this hotel recently as part of a larger group and was extremely disappointed.The management and staff were rude and dismissive of our requests.Everything was too much trouble for them.Every room key was left on an unmanned desk in the foyer for anybody to pick up and whether or not this was a security issue it was not acceptable.
The owners of the hotel lack people skills and ignore the guests and I question why they are in the hospitality industry.The food was just appalling too.
One of the owners came into the bar one evening and in front of hotel guests lifted a large bottle of water from the bar and swigged out of it then replaced it on the bar.We could not believe what we were seeing.He always appeared to be scruffy too and if this is front of house,what lies behind closed doors?Not one person in our group had anything positive to say about this establishment except that the lakeside rooms had a nice view.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here go lakeside room only and eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were looking forward to leaving the hustle and bustle of Venice behind and finding a tranquil spot on the shores of Lake Garda. The owners of the Hotel Milano appear like Italian versions of Basil Fawlty with no idea how to deal with customers - they are rude and overbearing particularly to female guests. The rooms are mostly clean and well presented but don't go there if you're a single traveller as you'll get the rooms without views (other than laundry!) or balconies no matter how much supplement you pay. The food is abysmal unless you like salads/antipasti.

There are no instructions how anything works although these are all said to be "simple..." and they do not wish to discuss anything. DON'T LEAVE YOUR KEYS AT RECEPTION - they line them up on the counter with the room number showing so anyone can help themselves particularly since reception is not staffed for large parts of the day while the owners talk outside or smoke cigars in the lobby so the place stinks!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view have balonies but can be noisy during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toscolano-Maderno
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
#3 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Piccolo Paradiso
Piccolo Paradiso
#2 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#9 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maderno
Hotel Maderno
#10 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#8 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Via Lungolago Giuseppe Zanardelli 12 | Toscolano Maderno, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel Maderno
Hotel Milano Lake Garda/Toscolano-Maderno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing