We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our second home”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have stayed at this friendly, family-owned hotel 10 times in 12 years and think of it as our second home. We meet the same people from all over Europe who return year after year. It is in an ideal location with ferry crossings to the other side of the lake every 30 minutes or so and a choice of other boats to take you to different locations on the lake. We have always paid for a lake view and since the new 3rd floor rooms were built in 2007 have opted for one of those which is airconditioned, has a fridge and huge balcony with spectacular views of the lake and the mountains surrounding the bay. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and can't do enough for you especially if you are courteous to them.

Room Tip: Pay for the view, it's spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    49
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
93
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Paid for lake view which was well worth it. Poor quality food at breakfast, staff unfriendly. We were made to sit in a side room for our 1 breakfast, were told very firmly 'no' when we tried to sit in the dining room with other guests...we were not the only ones who suffered this fate. On check out the guy insisted we pay by cash & not card, we did not have this problem with any of the other hotels on our trip. Was woken by water running in some pipes in our room in the night, which never stopped! Would not recommend giving them your hard earned cash.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here spur of the moment while driving around the area looking for a place to stay. It was close enough to a cheapish but paid beach spot on the lake, and also near several stores and shopping areas. Lots of kids around enjoying the hotel pool and area, but it was pretty quiet overall. We did not end up with a lake view, but we also didn't ask, and spent our time in town actually out at the lake. Breakfast was good, but get there early since they didn't restock the buffet towards the end of the dining hours. The parking was nice too, though we did get blocked in by another guest-- maybe that's just a european thing since I saw it happen to others at another lot. *shrug*

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if that's important to you. Not sure ratio of rooms with / without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Loved every aspect of the hotel; its build, character and all the facilities; the rooms, air con, pool, variety of breakfast menu. It has a bar with all-day availability of snacks and drinks, plus dinner if you wish), on-site parking and wifi.
The lake-side location; a few minutes walk to the beach, so you can swim in the lake if you like. You can hire boats and you can also take the ferry (on foot and car) to certain points on the lake. It's also just a minute or two walk into the town.
All the staff for their kindness and attentiveness; the hotel is privately owned, so you get a real sense of pride and ownership right through

Room Tip: Of the 3 outlooks, the lake view likely to be mosty popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markprice2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The position of the hotel was excellent , for visiting madernos local bars and restaurants . The harbour was busy and lovely, so book a room overlooking the lakes as you get spectacular views not only of the harbour but the mountains beyond.
We found the hotel staff to be unfriendly and we agree with other reviews of a lack of information about hotel or local amenities.
The rooms were kept very clean , we found the pool excellent, and they also provided towels.
The reception kept room keys on the counter which isn't professional and does pose a security risk.
We didn't eat in the hotel for evening meals, but enjoyed the variety of local produce and cooking in the restaurants.
Can't quite put finger on the issue we have with the hotel and staff, but it lacked warmth, and welcome even when we checked out no one even asked if we had a nice stay, it's a real shame as it could be a little gem.

Room Tip: Lakeside view Second floor Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I loved the location.The female staff during breakfast time are a bit brass. 'No' must be the only word they know.The proprietor and his brother (assumed) are charming, accomodating, kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. Ask for 2nd floor because I believe the 3rd level has not been remodeled yet. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpdavis43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Hotel Milano certainly seems to polarise opinion from brilliant to abysmal. Having seen some of the contrasting reviews my wife and I decided the only way to find out was to visit the place ourselves and to go with an open mind. We took note of the views of others that a superior room would be the best option and duly booked with a request for a top floor room, we backed this up with an email directly to the hotel with the same request, which was answered very quickly in the affirmative (no sign of any un-cooperative managers as reported by others) The room when we arrived exceeded our expectations with a most wonderful view of Maderno bay, it was clean, well appointed with a large balcony and kept scrupulously clean throughout our stay. Additionally our room had individually controlled air conditioning, which is a bit of a rarity in Italy. So far so good, now for the more negative aspects, the party walls between the rooms in the modern part of the building didn’t seem to have much in the way of sound insulation, so noisy neighbours could be a problem. Also we learned that some rooms are allocated for guests with dogs, apart from the obvious guide dog exception, we find this an unacceptable practice. We also found the coming and goings of tour parties a bit wearing.

Moving on to food, this could be best described as mediocre, but certainly edible and the head waiter was quite willing to change things if you really didn’t like what was on offer. It was also a bit disconcerting having to make dinner menu choices at breakfast, but we were told by somebody who has travelled extensively in this part of Italy that it is standard practice in most hotels. The head waiter and his two lady assistants were very attentive, efficient and courteous, so no real problems from that quarter, but the cigar smoking duty manager did raise a stink – literally, even if he and his counterpart were perfectly affable most of the time.

One other negative aspect concerns the lounge/bar area, again well appointed but it had a large wall mounted TV tuned more or less permanently to the Eurosport channel, whether anyone was present or not. It didn’t affect us too much as we preferred to go out for our digestivo.

In summary we think the hotel Milano does not merit the abysmal ratings some people give it, but there could be some improvements, and it wouldn’t take much effort to turn this place into something quite special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorer952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toscolano-Maderno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maderno
Hotel Maderno
#11 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
#3 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Piccolo Paradiso
Piccolo Paradiso
#2 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#4 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#6 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#8 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Via Lungolago Giuseppe Zanardelli 12 | Toscolano Maderno, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel Maderno
Hotel Milano Lake Garda/Toscolano-Maderno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing