We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location in village”
other travellers have booked this property
Sun filled olive garden with pool. surrounded by mountains, views of lake Garda.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun filled olive garden with pool. surrounded by mountains, views of lake Garda.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Sun filled olive garden with pool. surrounded by mountains, views of lake Garda.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Toscolano-Maderno, Province of Brescia, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
popseyUck...
Buxted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location in village”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 3 retired couples. We loved the village location, and the peace of the property. The main house is large and very well fitted out. The 2 top double bedrooms have spectacular views, the two on the middle floor do not really have views.
Before we arrived We did not appreciate how split the property was. The pool, pool house and walled garden were both across a quiet lane, so a bit of ferrying back and forth was involved.
The garden and pool area were lovely. The pool house very well equipped (although the fridge could be bigger for a large party). It was a great location for a bar b q area with a mountain backdrop.
Seeing the description of the main kitchen opening onto a courtyard, we did think this misleading, as it was an alleyway for access only. This access was shared with the property opposite. Our image of a courtyard for breakfast was way off the mark.
We loved the quiet little village with the bar and bakery. We did the walk down to the river and paper mill, but do not attempt this if you are not sure footted, it is very steep, but very worthwhile. The valley is extremelty beautiful, and to have a drink in the courtyard by the museum is a great memory.
There are some very good walks here, quite hilly , but as you would expect. The lake is really not walkable to, but the local town of Moderno is really nice, with good facilities.
In summary a lovely property, great walking in the area, great restaurants and towns. Property not suitable for the less mobile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The split facilities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
821julie1...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and garden”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We didn't receive the address of the house until a week before we arrived, so I was slightly concerned at the time. But all was well and we were met by Marina who was amazing. We had driven our own car (BMW 5 series) to Italy and there was no way it would fit the narrow streets of the village. Marina kindly loaded our luggage into her car and took it up to the house (she did the same on our departure too). We were also surprised that the garden was seperated from the houses by a small road. It was a bit of a pain to keep locking up to go to the pool but once over there you forgot any inconvenience. The pool/pool house and gardens were fantastic. Stephen, the owner, stopped by one day to put up some awnings to provide some much needed shade. We suffered from the high temperatures too and found it difficult to relax in the living room as the fan did nothing to cool it down (however as there is no TV, only DVD's, we didn't spend much time there). You can only get WiFi in one room and a phone signal from the top bedrooms. The house was decorated lovely and the views from the top bedrooms spectacular. Top tips - you cannot put the kettle on at the same time as the oven or the dishwasher as the washing machine - you blow the electrics (fuse box on the outside wall of house to reset). The nearby ice cream shop doesn't open till 12! If you like mountain biking, the nearest trail is 100m from the house!
We spent a lovely week here and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area and master bedrooms
Liked least: Living room and lack of air conditioning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elephant7...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great garden and Pool very well equipped.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After a nightmare booking procedure with Tripadvisor ( we were concerned the property may not exist) eventually all went ok. We were not aware that the house and garden have a narrow street dividing them. A powerful baby alarm is required if a baby is left to sleep in the house and you are in the garden. There were 10 of us (2 babies).The pool house is great but would benefit from a larger fridge freezer as the main fridge freezer is in the house over the road which entails a lot of backward and forwards. The house and pool house are BOTH very well equipped and the views of Lake Garda from the top bedrooms is amazing. With so much baby sterilizing required these days a microwave would have helped !. There is little shade by the pool except under the trees which is great till the sprinklers come on at random times!!! Lovely area, very quite, lots to do.(no fishing in August (as no water) and a licence IS required) We had a great family holiday and despite the house being over the road to the garden we worked out a way with only one key how to get back and forth! We had a wood BBQ every night with dinner in the garden every day. All in all a fantastic week. At the time of writing this review we don't yet know about our security deposit being returned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and Pool area + views of Lake Garda
Liked least: The house being divided from the garden by a road.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan c
Navan, Ireland
1 review
“Best place to chill out with kids”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

One of the best properties I have ever been to. nothing is left out, toys books towels soap hairdryer food essentials such as their own home made olive oil!
pool house and kitchen are fab, we hardly leave the place. tiny little stone streets that give heart palpitations to any foreign driver never there before, word of warning, don't drive there for the first time in dusk !!! There may be a few new scratches on your rental car !
only problem is its so nice that kids won't leave to go on any excursions with us, even movieland not enticing!
love it.
marina and Debra could not be more helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
1 review
“Five Star Family Accommodation in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Everything about The Olive House and its location are absolutely fantastic.

The pool house and garden were stunning, with the lovely pool backlit with the mountains! We spent all our time in the garden and pool house as it was so beautiful to sit out amongst the olive trees with the children playing in the pool nearby. The house had everything and more you could posibily need, with a fully equipped kitchen, dvds to last the children for weeks and plenty of beds/ bathrooms / towels and bedding. The two master bedrooms on the top floor were fantastic - each with their own ensuite and fantastic view over the lake and mountains.

A short car drive to the local villages gives you easy access to shops/restaurants and the lake, which is a must to swiim in!!!!
The local ice-cream shop (a 20 minutes walk) is delicious and a definate must (we went there every day!!!!) and there are some lovely restaurants lakeside that are not over priced that serve tasty pizza and pasta.

Verona is about an hour's drive which is definateley worth the trip as a visit to Juliet's balcony is a must! A beautiful city where I could have spent a lot longer but maybe next time without the children as lots of ancient streets in need of exploring.

Our host Sarah was friendly and very helpful with all we needed and make our stay outstanding.

I would definately go again and recommend to anymore thinking of staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool House & Garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreae94...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely everything you would want from a holiday home, and in a perfect location”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Situated just minutes from Lake Garda, in a beautiful Italian village location, the Olive House was a real find. Furnished to a luxury standard, with absolutely everything you would ever need on a family holiday.

The house lends itself to being shared between two families, with plenty of privacy and so much room that you never stumble over each other. With five children in total, ranging from 7 to 14, there was something to do for everyone.....and it was even easy to find a quiet corner!

So fully equipped you would be challenged to find anything missing. Boasting two kitchens, one in the main house and one in the pool house, we found all we needed for the 9 of us.

The pool and pool house are perfect, overlooking the stunning mountains, and so peaceful (well except for our children) that it was easy to enjoy the surroundings and relax by the pool amongst the olive trees. We didn't have to venture far for days, as the children were so happy to just spend time in the pool, the gardens and in the house. And since the Olive House is located in a small village, with a bakery and small shop, the children felt very safe and comfortable in the village unsupervised. Everyone we met in the village was very friendly and welcoming.

Just five minutes drive away is the best Italian Gelateria, and we were regular visitors! Gargnano is just ten minutes drive, with direct access to the lake for a refreshing swim, and a delicious, and very reasonable selection of restaurants.

The directions given by Sarah were spot on and collecting the key even in the middle of the night was not an issue.

A welcoming host, Sarah answered any and all questions quickly, and we felt privileged to have stayed in her beautiful house. Thank you and we would absolutely recommend staying at the Olive House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great for sharing, amazing pool house, high spec luxury with a real Italian feel in a beautiful village location.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful home with glorious garden and great views”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Olive House with another family for a week in July and knew it was going be perfect as soon as we arrived. We flew into Milan Bergamo and it was an easy drive of an hour or so.
The house is spacious and well equipped, with comfortable beds, lots of bathrooms and easily accommodated both families with children. The two main bedrooms are particularly large with views across to Lake Garda at the front and the garden and mountains to the back.
However, we spent most of our time in the glorious garden, which is very private, with beautifully maintained lawns filled with olive trees and delightful planting. There is a large and well equipped pool house, with a full kitchen, shower room and WC, dining area and seating area, leading out to a patio with an outdoor seating area and the pool. There is also another separate BBQ area. The children were very content just swimming and playing in the garden all day, but we get out and about locally.
Gaino is very small, but has a shop which sells essentials and fresh bread and croissants just a short walk from the house. We also had an excellent meal at the restaurant next to the playing fields, which is also just a short walk away. Toscalano Maderno is a few minutes drive and has a much wider selection of shops and restaurants.
There are lots of good walks from the house and you can walk/scramble to the top of both mountains you can see from the garden if you are feeling energetic! Another highlight for my children was the early morning fishing expedition, where they caught their first trout in the local river and brought them home for a BBQ lunch!
Sarah is a great host and has extensive knowledge of the area. I would definitely recommend staying at The Olive House as a perfect base from which to explore the Lake Garda area.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing