We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Van Belle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Van Belle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is excellent in the matter of price/service issue. First of all its clean,the room was clean and also the toilet. Then the morning breakfast was good and for only 5 € for tow persons,the location is excellent that its in the middle of the city and 10 minutes away from the metro station, and also the people there r friendly which happens to be a rare thing in Brussels.
The only problem is the neighborhood which is more dirty than the "usual normal dirtiness " of the city but the food is cheap and u can find everything u need .

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rami m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    205
    304
    135
    132
See reviews for
99
340
52
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Average hotel for low cost per night price. Good location, central approximately 10 minutes walk to the Grand Place and 7 min walk to Gare du Midi, this was the first choice when I chose this hotel to be close to the targets!
Negative: The area is dirty and he hotel is located in a very rough neighbourhood of mostly immigrants and it didn't feel too safe to walk there at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cadixpapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have a twin room. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. There was plenty of hot water in the shower and there was a safe. It was a short walk from town.

The breakfast was fine, buffet style and would easily fill you up if you wanted to go back and have seconds or thirds.

Room Tip: The hotel faces the main road on one side and an empty building site on the other. The road was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was accomodated in a single room, which was situated at the highest floor, which was accessible from the fourth floor only by foot through a quite steep stairway. I was already suspicious when a I saw the signs on the door and at the reception that "always lock the doors", which was multiplied by the surroundings. The hotel is in Anderlecht, not far from Gare du Midi (that is why I chose this hotel and because the price, of course) in a dangerous-looking street. However, I had a very pleasant dinner in of the Lebanese bars after arrival :)

The room was really small, reminded me my college dorimitory room :) The biggest problem for me was the noiseness of the floor, I heard everything in night, when my neighbours came/left, when they took a shower, so the noisyness of the rooms is really annoying.

Maybe it was just the issue of single rooms, because the other floors and the double rooms seemed somehow better to me and the hotel was packed.

I can recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a bargain price, who wants to have advantage of the proximity of the Midi Station and for those who are prepared to sacrifice the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burwash
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Ive stayed in brussels 4 times now and paid about the same as I did here, But this was bottom of the scale on every level, a real let down.

But more than any other point - the other reviews aren't kidding when they said it was a dangerous area. Because the car park was full we ended up going round all the streets late at night looking for a space and got chased down the narrow street by a group of about 12 men. one got into the car and it was only because i hit the peddle that he fell out. we were terrified the rest of the stay. the receptionist didn't really seem to care, as if it was normal and we should expect it. I grew up in some of the rougher areas of london and consider myself streetwise but i was genuinely terrified. Also the streets were filthy, noisy and stinky. its all well and good being close to the centre but getting to it was risky. i feared for my car the whole time as we saw so many smashed windows and ended up lugging all the stock id gone there to pick up, into our room overnight.

we were given a double not a twin as booked, and I was with a friend not a partner. when i asked if, considering this and what had happened the first night if they could forgo the price of the car park, i was laughed at and only offered one free drink at the bar instead.

the room was tiny and thin walls. cruddy bathroom, breakfast was very poor - not even serviettes laid out, watered down juice and weak coffee, no service. in the bar the barman was unbelievably rude. In this bar i had the very unpleasant experience of being asked by a man there in a group of other men if i was looking to be 'his girlfriend for the night, he'd pay well', so i can't imagine the normal type of 'guests' they have here. yuk!

a very out of date hotel - bearable but perhaps only if your travelling with guys rather than two girls like us.

on a positive note the beds were very conformable and the place was sparkling clean

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lefay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anderlecht hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just this morning,a girl was robbed outside the hotel door,because they had locked the door and it was only 1 AM, when they know people are still going in and out of the hotel. Only for the receptionist to refuse and delay in calling the police. A passerby who had seen everything helped in the situation and pushed till the police was called. But every important Card and Id had been stolen, If a hotel does not ensure your safety I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mori5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

For a decent hotel, close to the centre of a major city, the price we paid was VERY good value. We paid £60 for a night.

The hotel is an easy 15 minutes walk to the touristic centre of Brussels - Grand Place etc. Despite what some of the other reviews say, we felt the surrounding area was perfectly fine and safe. To be honest, I think some of the comments are probably based on prejudice more than reality - the area has a high proportion of people of north African / Middle-eastern origin. We had no trouble at all and whilst there is not much to see locally, we did have a meal at one of the local restaurants and it was excellent value and very tasty.

The room itself was quite basic and not all that spacious. However the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was in good order and had a good shower. All in all, excellent value for money.

The breakfast, which was included in the price, was pretty basic - hot food consisted of omelette and frankfurter sausage! There was also a choice of cereals, ham and breads.

Would recommend to anyone looking for good value and a decent location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emyr_Elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderlecht
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#100 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
1.1 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#57 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Belle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Belle Hotel

Property: Van Belle Hotel
Address: Chaussee de Mons 39, Anderlecht, Brussels 1070, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Anderlecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Belle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Older, Homey Hotel with modern wing (1982) situated 10 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Belle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Belle Brussels
Hotel Van Belle
Van Belle Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing