We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes it's not all about just a place to overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sometimes it's not all about just a place to overnight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel was recommended by a good friend, because it is close to his place, close to the center, really close to the EU facilities and the price/quality is very very competitve.

All the facilities, from the parking to the room, are always very clean and usable. The check-in/check-out process is fast and the staff is very honest, friendly and extremely helpful.

A really cool bar with monthly dj shows and a lobby with iMacs ready for use and some iPads dedicated to self-check-in.

Once in the room, one can lie and relax on the king size bed, while watching the enourmous flat screen TV and sipping a good cup tea or coffee, provided by the hotel as free ammenity.

And the best thing is: Tell me which other hotel offers a 24/7 snack shop in the lobby? Best idea ever!

I will repeat for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tupolev_mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi tupolev_mgr,

Wow! What a super duper review about your recent stay with us - thanks! It seems like you really enjoyed the various services and facilities we offer. Indeed, it sometimes is not all about just a place to spend the night. :-)

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    642
    113
    35
    24
See reviews for
137
658
137
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is very good, comfortable, new, fresh, friendly and well located for any business in the EU area of Schuman. It offers elegant and modern rooms, with wifi and coffee/tea facilities, nice lobby with a great bar. The breakfast is normally not included but on the corner of the close building you can find bars. In the area there are also nice restaurants. The city center is ca 20min with the metro (which is located 10 min walking from the hotel).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oibafomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi oibafomer,

What a nice review - thanks! It seems you all-round experienced our hotel and its services and were happy with the Aloft-way of doing things. You are absolutely right, the area around Aloft has many typical belgian bars and restaurants or in fact most type of cuisines.

Hopefully you will be back soon for some more a-list adventure?

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is in the heart of the Schuman area. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean and they have great beds. Watch out for cheap room rates on weekends! One of the best and most modern hotels in Brussels!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi SoniaBrussels,

Thanks very much for your short but to the point review. Indeed, great rates over weekends for a hotel that is still very new, has a designer edge to it and a great location for the EU district. Also, travelling into the old city center is easy via the numerous public transport connections.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Nice Layout in general, can get killer deals on weekends but little is
open in the area for breakfast/lunch on weekends, be aware. Self-serve
area at ALOFT is mediocre - think airport self-serve pre-packaged
to-go meals. Cappuccino from machine tasted like milk was slightly off.
I was working in the lobby, which is very inviting with
a wide variety of seating options with pillows, etc. - although some
of the apholstery and rugs needed to be cleaned badly...and NO one else was
around, it was nice & quiet - then suddenly loud pop music starts coming
from numerous speakers. I asked if it could be turned down or even off
(again, NO one else was around besides a few staff at the front desk),
and answer was "no, it must be on". Difficult to concentrate/work with
this background. Room was spacious, but light from the bathroom flows
into room through large frosted window separating shower from bed area,
so one is essentially *guaranteed* to wake up a partner if using the
washroom at night. Something in either mug or kettle had a sticky film in/on
it, so that my (own) teabag made made unpalatable (wash/check before using).
Internet was free and fast, both wireless and (provided) cable. "Ergonomic"
chair in room did not go nearly high enough for my arms to be at an ergonomic height.
OK for a cheap w/end rate, but when we tried to book during the week, the rate was 4x higher!
Stayed at Sablon-Aire instead (much better deal!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3311kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi 3311kd,

Thanks very much for your extensive review about your stay with us - we highly appreciate you taking the time to do so!

It seems like there were a couple of things you did not like about Aloft as a concept, a couple of other things that simply should have been better and finally a number of things your liked! Design, music, technology and a buzzing bar are very much part of Aloft's DNA and we will do our best to always make these an integral part of people's stay. Our grab 'n go, re:fuel, concept is also something you can find in all of the 100+ Alofts we now have worldwide.

Stained fabrics is something we should have spotted of course. We generally get marked very high when it comes to cleanliness (as you can see from our overall TA score) however we might have missed the boat somewhere - apologies for that. Rest assure we are looking into that. Also, related to this comment, we will refurbishing our re:mix lobby area with the latest design trends in Q1 of this year, so hopefully you will be back to experience it!

Finally, it was great to read that you liked our free wifi! Its fast and free!

Have an easy breezy day,

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have never been in an hotel where i couldnt find a single negative point. But this hotel was perfect. It was cheap and everything was perfect. Nothing but love for this hotel! Great bar, great beds, very quite soundproof rooms. I can definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Robbin V,

Wow!! What a great review, thank you ever so much for these raving comments. What a better way to start the week.

We are delighted that everything worked out perfectly well for you and hope that means you will soon be staying with us again.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for one night, the hotel is inspired on the W hotel concept, meaning they use the same tone of voice and designs. But aloft is actually a "budget" W, which is nice. Prices are reasonable and the ambiance in the lobby and bar is like a W, but at the other side there is no room service and the restaurant isn't a restaurant but a shop with a microwave. But it does the trick.

If you looking for a great bedroom with not that many luxury services, this is the way to go in Brussels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Tomvandongen,

Seems like you got the Aloft concept figured out! Thanks for your comments, they cover what we are trying to achieve very well. Aloft was indeed inspired by W hotels but better suits a wider audience and locations.

Thanks and hopefully see you again soon!

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in October of 2013. We very much enjoyed the room which was nicely decorated, tidy, great bathroom with showers. Very modern and the staff is very helpful. They looked after our booking for a day trip to Ghent & Brugge. One negative aspect is the pricey à la carte breakfast downstairs. And the food is very ordinary. I would instead suggest for breakfast to go to Patisserie Paul at Rue Froissart 72 which is 250 meters from the hotel.
We will go back to this hotel as it is walking distance to all the major attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watchermontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Watchermontreal,

Thanks very much for leaving such a nice and positive review about us - highly appreciated!

Funny that you mention our breakfast to be expensive even though we are cheaper than Brasserie Paul that you refer to... In any case we do hope to have you back with us soon again for some more a-list adventure.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
1.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Property: Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new tWist in Travel keeps Brussels European district Abuzz with a prime location in the heart of the European quarter. Located only a few minutes away from the city center by metro, the Aloft Brussels Schuman offers you an easy access and connections to the entire Brussels area. The hotel offers an eclectic mix of forward-thinking design, open loft-inspired rooms and free WiFi. The always Abuzz WXYZ Bar welcomes you daily with a selection of signatures cocktails, that you can sip on our backyard when the wheather permits. Aloft Brussels Schuman is the fun, fresh alternative to stay and play at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing