We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Power sockets everywhere. Fits the self service traveller” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Power sockets everywhere. Fits the self service traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

An very good hotel room. Large comfy bed, usable wifi and electrical points everywhere (they are all over the bar area downstairs - great for working), tea and coffee in room, toiletries good.

A few points worth considering: this is very much a self-service hotel. Breakfast is self-service and is in the same area as the bar / check-in, but at 12 euros is a decent price for a hotel. There are very few staff. You are encouraged to check out via your TV. You are given 5 euro credit if you choose not to have your room serviced. There is no room service (you can head downstairs and grab a microwave meal from the food to go area i.e. the same place where you grab breakfast).

This self-service ethos can be a bit disorientating at first to those who are used to a more traditional experience where there is always some someone around to help. Also when I stayed (during the G7) the hotel was packed and security made it difficult to get around (the road was closed off).

Also, the windows do not open in the room. This means that if the room gets stuffy (which happens after a shower - even with the aircon on) there's no way of freshening it up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginandtonicworldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    636
    112
    35
    23
See reviews for
136
656
137
505
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This definitively is not my hotel. It already started at check in, the lobby is like a mix between a teenager's game room, a somewhat run-of lounge bar and a youth hostel. "design" and self sevice are the main themes. Booked over the phone during a G7 meeting, which means a 100 % top-of on normal hotel prices. For 240 euro per night (!) I was told they did not have a kingsize bedroom anymore, only two single beds. Went there and as I am very sensitive for light, I asked to get a room where the curtains are really blacken the room. I then got a room at the back of the hotel, darker indeed, with...a king size bed, why not offering me that immediately? The rooms are ok, bed has a comfortable duvet and pillows, a decent shower, but all "open" so no door from room to bath room. A rather irritant sound woke me up at 05.25 am. Looked what could have caused the sound, could not find it. After ten minutes again the noise, two more times so decided to get up. Hopeless. Breakfast, lunch or dinner are all selfservice, in an open " bar" you can take some breakfast items or put your prepacked meal in the magnetron, then try to place that on tables in the lobby of the hotel, on a table hardly big enough to hold a laptop. Have laundry? Selfservice: you have to bring it to the reception yourself, reminded me of a hotel I used to stay in when I was a student and all that for a premium price of 240 euro, excl. breakfast, one word: ridiculous and not worth the money.

I did not ask to go "green" yet my sheets were not replaced by clean ones they left the ones of the previous night. Coming back from a workday, they switched of the airco, "to save energy". On the positive side: after a somewhat uneasy start at checkin, the service at the reception desk was nice and aimed at making your stay a good one. However I already made up my mind: for someone used to stay in sophisticated hotels, not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi TravelGeeks2009,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We are sad to learn that you did not enjoy the Aloft hotels concept as much, but are happy to read that you enjoyed the level of service received from our reception talent!

Regarding the noise in your room - would you please like to get back to me directly so we can find out in which room you stayed, so we can address the issue and repair it? My email is eveline.noort@alofthotels.com.

I am looking forward to hearing from you!

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Quirky, minimalist and bare are the first impressions in the lobby. But this hotel grows on you. It takes a little work to figure out the reception and how the breakfast and bar work but it is not off-putting. The rooms are comfortable and have all facilities. We liked the approach to credits or charity from replacing towels and the turn-down service. Breakfast not great and there is better in local cafes.

The location is perfect for business in the EU. It is also fine for downtown Brussels because it is on the Metro and bus lines. (Metro current a building site). There is a bus from the airport that stops outside the door.

Room Tip: Bus to and from Zaventam airport and to Zuidstation. Vincents cafe opens on Saturday morning. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pr0claimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friends and I stayed from the 2nd to 4th April 2014, and we loved this hotel! We were a group of 9 visiting Brussels for a weekend away and this hotel was perfect. It was located about 2 mins from the closest metro station, and about a 5 min walk from some local shops which was also convenient. The buffet breakfast was included in our price and was really good, as there was a good selection always available.

The rooms were amazing; comfortable, modern and spacious. The rooms were cleaned to perfection and not one of us had any complaints ever.

The staff at reception were also super friendly and helpful, we arrived quite late around 23:30 and they ensured check in was speedy and also gave us useful tips regarding Brussels and the area we were staying in.

This hotel deserves the Excellent ratings from trip advisor, and if you book with them, you will not be disappointed.

Brussels is not the most exciting place on earth for a group of 18-25 year olds, however this city does have a lot of history. When I return to Brussels to visit friends, I will definitely be staying at this hotel, it surpassed all my expectations!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, and the rest of my friends were on the 3rd floor, all were pretty go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphyy_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel proved very easy to get to - there's a direct bus from both the airport and Brussels Midi station to right outside, and it's very close to a metro stop too. Lovely park just round the corner too, and not too far from the centre, so generally a great spot!

This was my first Aloft stay, and I have to say I liked it. It feels like a cross between a W and a Hampton! The hotel has a trendy vibe to it, with friendly staff, great spaces to hang out in, well decorated rooms etc. Unlike a W, it's not crazy money, instead it has decent quality furnishings and layout like a Hampton. For me, it worked well, though it made me miss it when I stayed in a Hampton a week later...

One way it differs from a Hampton is that the breakfast isn't free, and what there is is much like a Hampton breakfast, so I'd suggest you skip it and head elsewhere for something nicer at the same price.

Overall, well done, great spot, friendly staff, I'll be back next time I'm in Brussels!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagravarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and certainly looks new. The room is certainly spacious and v comfy typical of aloft's standard. There are few eateries nearby within walking distance and a supermarket across the road. It is also less than 5 mins to metro station which is 2 stops away from Central station which again is less than 5 mins journey.
Will be back again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SgnExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a high quality hotel with very good amenities. The "concept" which distinguishes it from other 4-star hotels is really just square rather than rectangular rooms and self-check in options, but, that said, they do a very good job with it.

The weekend package including a very good buffet breakfast was quite reasonably priced. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
1.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.0 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#24 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Property: Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new tWist in Travel keeps Brussels European district Abuzz with a prime location in the heart of the European quarter. Located only a few minutes away from the city center by metro, the Aloft Brussels Schuman offers you an easy access and connections to the entire Brussels area. The hotel offers an eclectic mix of forward-thinking design, open loft-inspired rooms and free WiFi. The always Abuzz WXYZ Bar welcomes you daily with a selection of signatures cocktails, that you can sip on our backyard when the wheather permits. Aloft Brussels Schuman is the fun, fresh alternative to stay and play at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Lastminute, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing