We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart and consistent quality in European Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Smart and consistent quality in European Quarter”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Staff at reception in Aloft are consistently bright, helpful and attentive. The service is smart and friendly. The rooms offer all comforts and the readily available water, ironing equipment, WIFI, etc, are just what one wants to have to hand. Great also to be able to adjust curtains and open a window. This is one of the most reliable and friendly inner city hotels know - and the best value in the European Quarter!

Room Tip: Close to lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    658
    119
    35
    24
See reviews for
145
671
139
525
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here on advice of the event organisers as the venue was nearby. It was a good choice for location and for value for money as we could really enjoy the proximity. The hotel is a classical design hotel but with many amenities and very well served and equipped. Rooms are clean and practical and also pretty big so comfort is ensured. It is obvious that it is of recent construction as there are a number of sockets so needed for a modern traveller. Value for money was there although I noticed later that in some peaks it may reach very high prices - I would say that paying over 250 EUR for a night at this hotel would be overboard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAlbreht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here already 4th annual visit! Love the place and everything about it! Starting from greetings at the reception. most welcoming atmosphere, professional staff, fun concept! Love the new renovation I the lobby. Appreciated added channels to TV'
Keep up the excellent job you do!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hey Julie1505!!

Wow what an awesome review you wrote about your most recent stay with us! We are super proud to hear that you enjoy your stays at the Aloft Brussels Schuman so much - and that you noticed our new design in the Re:mix lounge!

All we can say is come back soon!!

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut Yankee
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel and very much enjoyed our stay. Check in was fast and superfriendly, the staff were welcoming and went out of their way to fulfill requests, and the rooms were large, very clean, and very updated. This hotel has a young, hip vibe, although the clientele is a range of ages. It is close to several metro stops (within 5 minute walk to two), and although it is not located in the center of Brussels, where most of the tourist attractions are (Grand Place; Mannikin Pis, etc.), that is actually a plus in my opinion! The area is closer to the business district and is very quiet and peaceful at night. It is also a short walk to the very charming Place Jourdan square, with its many bars and restaurants, including some of the best frites in Belgium at Maison Antoine, a funky little takeout joint with delicious fries! (An added plus--several of the bars in the square encourage you to enjoy your frites at one of their tables--great with a delicious Belgian beer!).

The Aloft Brussels Schuman was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in during our two weeks in Europe despite being the most affordable. Clean, sleek, and quiet, with a fantastic shower and a mission to deliver quality at a value price--definitely recommend staying here if you're in Brussels!

Room Tip: Despite being on the third floor right near the very bright hotel sign, we had no issues with sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I liked the location of the hotel, as it's perfectly central and great for business. It was expensive so I don't think I'd stay here again. Not value for money, but it does have a cool atmosphere and is nicely decorated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

An very good hotel room. Large comfy bed, usable wifi and electrical points everywhere (they are all over the bar area downstairs - great for working), tea and coffee in room, toiletries good.

A few points worth considering: this is very much a self-service hotel. Breakfast is self-service and is in the same area as the bar / check-in, but at 12 euros is a decent price for a hotel. There are very few staff. You are encouraged to check out via your TV. You are given 5 euro credit if you choose not to have your room serviced. There is no room service (you can head downstairs and grab a microwave meal from the food to go area i.e. the same place where you grab breakfast).

This self-service ethos can be a bit disorientating at first to those who are used to a more traditional experience where there is always some someone around to help. Also when I stayed (during the G7) the hotel was packed and security made it difficult to get around (the road was closed off).

Also, the windows do not open in the room. This means that if the room gets stuffy (which happens after a shower - even with the aircon on) there's no way of freshening it up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginandtonicworldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This definitively is not my hotel. It already started at check in, the lobby is like a mix between a teenager's game room, a somewhat run-of lounge bar and a youth hostel. "design" and self sevice are the main themes. Booked over the phone during a G7 meeting, which means a 100 % top-of on normal hotel prices. For 240 euro per night (!) I was told they did not have a kingsize bedroom anymore, only two single beds. Went there and as I am very sensitive for light, I asked to get a room where the curtains are really blacken the room. I then got a room at the back of the hotel, darker indeed, with...a king size bed, why not offering me that immediately? The rooms are ok, bed has a comfortable duvet and pillows, a decent shower, but all "open" so no door from room to bath room. A rather irritant sound woke me up at 05.25 am. Looked what could have caused the sound, could not find it. After ten minutes again the noise, two more times so decided to get up. Hopeless. Breakfast, lunch or dinner are all selfservice, in an open " bar" you can take some breakfast items or put your prepacked meal in the magnetron, then try to place that on tables in the lobby of the hotel, on a table hardly big enough to hold a laptop. Have laundry? Selfservice: you have to bring it to the reception yourself, reminded me of a hotel I used to stay in when I was a student and all that for a premium price of 240 euro, excl. breakfast, one word: ridiculous and not worth the money.

I did not ask to go "green" yet my sheets were not replaced by clean ones they left the ones of the previous night. Coming back from a workday, they switched of the airco, "to save energy". On the positive side: after a somewhat uneasy start at checkin, the service at the reception desk was nice and aimed at making your stay a good one. However I already made up my mind: for someone used to stay in sophisticated hotels, not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi TravelGeeks2009,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We are sad to learn that you did not enjoy the Aloft hotels concept as much, but are happy to read that you enjoyed the level of service received from our reception talent!

Regarding the noise in your room - would you please like to get back to me directly so we can find out in which room you stayed, so we can address the issue and repair it? My email is eveline.noort@alofthotels.com.

I am looking forward to hearing from you!

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#15 of 199 in Brussels
1,493 reviews
1.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,774 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Property: Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune it up in the capital of Europe. Tuned into modern day expectations with open loft-inspired approach, tech-savvy features and self-service options, Aloft Brussels Schuman gives an innovative concept to early adopters travelling for business or leisure. Autonomy and flexibility are key: our guests can fully customize their stay, from choosing to grab & go anytime, anywhere, to mixing up work and play in our free-flowing re:mix space. The rooms are modular, comfortable, and can also become an open-plan urban office in an instant. Where others imitate, Aloft Brussels continues to break new grounds, supporting up and coming music talents with a vibrant Live @ Aloft programming in W XYZ bar and offering a platform for creative entrepreneurs to showcase their creations to our guests in the re:mix lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing