We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money hotel not far from center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Frederiksborg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganshoren
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good value for money hotel not far from center”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Bed was getting old but room was very tidy. There was free WIFI which unfortunetely I did not manage to get connected to (code was on the room key). The cafe restaurant of the hotel was lively till late (fair prices in the restaurant for Brussels). For me the value for money was important as well the possibility to park for free and get quicly in and out Brussels

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    55
    33
    21
    10
See reviews for
20
57
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel was acceptable to myself and my husband but I am afraid if our children were still young and had to go with us, we would probably not have stayed there. The stairs were very steep - and tiled - some the tiles broken and sharp. The stairs were open to one side with a drop all the way from the 4th floor to the bottom with two rails about 2 feet apart leaving a gap for a child to easily fall through. In fact, even if an adult were to stumble they could easily fall through!!! If it were the UK, the hotel would be closed down until this was remedied!!!! Also there is a very small two person lift which, on coming out of, you have to make a very careful manoevre so as not to fall down the stairs because they are so near to the lift entrance!!

The en-suite was reasonably clean and the sheets were clean, but the wallpaper was grubby with the double bed pushed right up to the wall on one side.

We had penne arrabiatta for our evening meal and it consisted of a huge bowl of pasta with one ladle of sauce plonked in the middle. I ate the middle bit and left the rest of the rather boring pasta. The waiters in the evening were fairly friendly and pleasant.

When we went down for breakfast at 8.30 and there were croissants and rolls on the menu - my husband asked for a croissant and a cup of coffee to be told by a very gruff bad tempered waiter that there were no croissants - despite a bakery next door, and so he opted for a roll. The waiter came back with a piece of french bread which my husband declined so he and I did without breakfast and just had a cup of coffee.

To sum up - if you're elderly you would most certainly not be able to negotiate the steep stairs and the awkwardly placed lift and if you have children - DON'T GO THERE!!!!! because it' positively dangerous!!!!! If you are very agile and extremely aware and unlikely to get drunk for negotiating the stairs then it's ok for a short stopover.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnacle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analipsi, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Plus: Everyday room service, nice view of the Basilica, Free wireless, Budget hotel, the receptionists were polite

Minus: Location!! It was far away from the Metro station (15mins on foot) and really far away from the centre of Brussels!!!
It was too noisy!!! The hotel is located on a very busy street and every morning there was too much noise from the traffic!!! Also the cleaners would start cleaning really early in the morning and they would make noise!!
Although there was everyday room service, the walls were too dirty...
The sleep quality was really poor as the matresses and pillows were not comfortable at all!

Overall I wouldnt stay at this hotel again, mainly because it is far away from the centre and I didn't get any rest!!!!However it is ok for the price that we paid!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tefi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ganshoren hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I only stayed at this hotel for one night, but I was overall satisfied. The room is small, but clean and quiet _although there's a restaurant downstairs, there was no noise whatsoever coming into the room. The staff is nice. Good place to sleep after a busy day in Brussels if you can get a good price. The only down, I think, is that's a bit far from the city centre, and it's quite a walk to the metro station (10-15min), although you walk through a very nice park.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neyhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

The room is big and roomy, and there's an AC, which was a plus.
The A/C was leaking tho, but it worked.
Bathroom is also big.

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station, and it's right across a nice basilique.

some people seemed to complain about smoke. this hotel is on top of a bar, but we didn't have any issues with cig smoke, or noise from the bar.

definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonHotelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,338 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,720 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The hotel isn't quite in the centre, but it's very near - about ten minutes by taxi, I'd say.

My room wasn't luxurious, but it was perfectly adequate (with a huge bathroom), and I slept well.

The food in the hotel restaurant is very good indeed. (Traditional Belgian coking). A lot of local people seem to eat there.

The staff were friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I don't have words for this place. We got a room opposite the actual hotel, in their dependance. We had to cross the street, climb 3 stairs only to find a pathetic decorated room, smelling of smoke, with lose hanging curtains, stains on the bedcovers and non functioning lights. To make matters worse we found out later that night that the walls were so thin we could actually follow our neighbours conversation literally and everything else they were doing lateron! Very noisy street, sirenes going all night. If you want a good night sleep, stay away from this place!
Only positive point was the shower, though small, the water pressure was good.
Jek, I never return here.

  • Liked — water pressure in shower
  • Disliked — lack of parking, room quality & athmosphere, noise from street, thin walls of bedroom
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank April1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganshoren
2.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,884 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurocap Hotel
Eurocap Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jette
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvue
Hotel Belvue
#122 of 198 in Brussels
73 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#66 of 198 in Brussels
921 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Expo
Best Western Hotel Expo
#160 of 198 in Brussels
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frederiksborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frederiksborg

Property: Hotel Frederiksborg
Address: Avenue Broustin 118, Ganshoren, Brussels 1083, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ganshoren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganshoren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Frederiksborg 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Frederiksborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederiksborg Hotel Brussels
Hotel Frederiksborg Brussels, Belgium - Ganshoren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing