We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Frederiksborg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Frederiksborg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganshoren
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I was on a tight budget and found this hotel to be perfect. It was better than I was expecting. As I had lived in the Koekelberg neighborhood before, I knew that the location was a bit of a walk from the metro. But had I needed to, the tram and bus were much closer. The room was overall clean, except for the walls, which had dirt all over the old wallpaper. The biggest problem I had was the cleaners- they came to my room early each day (except for the weekend, which I had slept in on, and thus they still arrived too early). Therefore, my room was not cleaned during my stay. But they did leave clean towels outside my door every other day. Also, the wireless cut out several times during my stay. Not a huge problem for most. I think that for the money the room was sufficient.

Pros: price, bathroom, early check-in, location
Cons: steep stairs/small lift, traffic noise

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a true double room if you are staying as a couple. I had two twins pushed toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayern319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    55
    28
    19
    10
See reviews for
19
54
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
207 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Good hotel situated close of the National Basilica of the Sacred Heart in Koekelberg suburb. Clean and warm. Good option

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Bed was getting old but room was very tidy. There was free WIFI which unfortunetely I did not manage to get connected to (code was on the room key). The cafe restaurant of the hotel was lively till late (fair prices in the restaurant for Brussels). For me the value for money was important as well the possibility to park for free and get quicly in and out Brussels

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel was acceptable to myself and my husband but I am afraid if our children were still young and had to go with us, we would probably not have stayed there. The stairs were very steep - and tiled - some the tiles broken and sharp. The stairs were open to one side with a drop all the way from the 4th floor to the bottom with two rails about 2 feet apart leaving a gap for a child to easily fall through. In fact, even if an adult were to stumble they could easily fall through!!! If it were the UK, the hotel would be closed down until this was remedied!!!! Also there is a very small two person lift which, on coming out of, you have to make a very careful manoevre so as not to fall down the stairs because they are so near to the lift entrance!!

The en-suite was reasonably clean and the sheets were clean, but the wallpaper was grubby with the double bed pushed right up to the wall on one side.

We had penne arrabiatta for our evening meal and it consisted of a huge bowl of pasta with one ladle of sauce plonked in the middle. I ate the middle bit and left the rest of the rather boring pasta. The waiters in the evening were fairly friendly and pleasant.

When we went down for breakfast at 8.30 and there were croissants and rolls on the menu - my husband asked for a croissant and a cup of coffee to be told by a very gruff bad tempered waiter that there were no croissants - despite a bakery next door, and so he opted for a roll. The waiter came back with a piece of french bread which my husband declined so he and I did without breakfast and just had a cup of coffee.

To sum up - if you're elderly you would most certainly not be able to negotiate the steep stairs and the awkwardly placed lift and if you have children - DON'T GO THERE!!!!! because it' positively dangerous!!!!! If you are very agile and extremely aware and unlikely to get drunk for negotiating the stairs then it's ok for a short stopover.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnacle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analipsi, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Plus: Everyday room service, nice view of the Basilica, Free wireless, Budget hotel, the receptionists were polite

Minus: Location!! It was far away from the Metro station (15mins on foot) and really far away from the centre of Brussels!!!
It was too noisy!!! The hotel is located on a very busy street and every morning there was too much noise from the traffic!!! Also the cleaners would start cleaning really early in the morning and they would make noise!!
Although there was everyday room service, the walls were too dirty...
The sleep quality was really poor as the matresses and pillows were not comfortable at all!

Overall I wouldnt stay at this hotel again, mainly because it is far away from the centre and I didn't get any rest!!!!However it is ok for the price that we paid!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tefi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ganshoren hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

I only stayed at this hotel for one night, but I was overall satisfied. The room is small, but clean and quiet _although there's a restaurant downstairs, there was no noise whatsoever coming into the room. The staff is nice. Good place to sleep after a busy day in Brussels if you can get a good price. The only down, I think, is that's a bit far from the city centre, and it's quite a walk to the metro station (10-15min), although you walk through a very nice park.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neyhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

The room is big and roomy, and there's an AC, which was a plus.
The A/C was leaking tho, but it worked.
Bathroom is also big.

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station, and it's right across a nice basilique.

some people seemed to complain about smoke. this hotel is on top of a bar, but we didn't have any issues with cig smoke, or noise from the bar.

definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonHotelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganshoren
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.9 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#71 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frederiksborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frederiksborg

Property: Hotel Frederiksborg
Address: Avenue Broustin 118, Ganshoren, Brussels 1083, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ganshoren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganshoren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Frederiksborg 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Frederiksborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederiksborg Hotel Brussels
Hotel Frederiksborg Brussels, Belgium - Ganshoren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing