We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”
Review of Aryen Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aryen Residence
Ranked #12 of 14 Schaerbeek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My son and I stayed here for one night on our way to the airport. Clean, comfortable and in a reasonable area. Minutes from gare du nord. Receptionists were helpful.
Plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby.
Good value for the money, as Brussels can be very pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hotel location is convenient for trams and a short walk to underground and main north railway station. However, surrounding neighbourhood is rather rough and dirty.
Hotel is modern but seems to have been built on a budget and the whole place feels slightly budget. Furniture is cheap and a number of items were falling apart in one way or another. Bathroom could have been cleaner, shower didn't drain properly and filled up whilst being used. Room had a kitchen, but no utensils, pots, pans or cutlery, not even so much as a kettle.
Breakfast was cheap, but included only some bread (no toaster), cereal, and a drink.

I've stayed in worse hotels, but I wouldn't return to this one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Connecticut_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have stayed here 3 times and have always been happy with the place. Staff are very friendly and helpful, room is very clean with shampoo and soap provided, free wifi is fast enough and for breakfast you are sent a few minutes walk to Albert Hotel. the breakfast is adequate. Recommended for anyone who is on a budget but still wants a quality hotel

Room Tip: Try book room that is not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacrilegious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed there two nights..Everything was fine cleanliness, staff, etc... they even offered me to print out all the plans for tourist places since the MAPs were finished.

The Breakfast was horrible. 1 kind of cereal, crossiant, coffee and orange juice, sometimes boiled eggs. I would next time go to some near by cafe ... there are plenty of choices on walking distances <1Km

You have to switch on heating by yourself in the room. Nothing complicated just pressing the button. But it was not told by reception so I did not knew it until I felt cold in night.

The Blankets are in Cup Board do not forget to take them from there this was also not told by reception.... The Hotel itself is small and old built. You can hear easily the door opening or noise from other rooms... But it was not so problematic for me because I was always coming late in night and leaving early in morning :) :)

All the market places and train stations are near by .... Remember Near NORTH TRAIN STATION there is a Red Light Area so you may come across it while walking from train station to your hotel.

I was alone and even walked through it like 00:00 in night ...and nothing happened to me (but hotel reception told me to be careful, in general) There is enough light and specially a lot of Cars are passing by the main Red light street so its not that scary to walk through....

Room Tip: Good for families or Solo but do not pay for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rameez787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was small. It had a sink and a stove in the room which was nice. The bathroom was clean. Only complaints are that on the first night there was a couple fighting in the room nextdoor. I called the front desk to see what was going on. The people at the front desk didn't do anything so I was left listening to people arguing all night. The second night I could smell smoke in the hall way. It is a non smoking hotel. Decent room, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Athena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here in February 2013. Nice welcome at the reception, large room with a double bed in a single room, a desk to study on, satellite tv with many english speaking channels, wireless internet and best of all, very good for the price. Will definitely stay here again at the next visits.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haksent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable.
It was nice to have a big double bed in a single room.
Very quiet at night, but the trams start early.
Althiugh the rooms have cookers. there are no pans.
Reception has a fabulous coffee vending machine, and cold drinks - open 24 hrs.
This area is not nice anymore, though. A lot of immigrants hanging around the station
at night, a lot of homeless, and a red light district now. I was travelling alone, and spent 10
euros on the short distance to the hotel - too spooky to wait for a tram in the dark!!
Still, very nice staff and a great price for a night in this expensive city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaerbeek hotels
1.2 mi away
Housingbrussels
Housingbrussels
#1 of 8 in Schaerbeek
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 322
Hotel 322
#3 of 8 in Schaerbeek
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Condo Gardens Brussels
Condo Gardens Brussels
#1 of 5 in Schaerbeek
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B&B Brussels Bed and Toast
B&B Brussels Bed and Toast
#2 of 14 in Schaerbeek
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Deschanel B&B
Avenue Deschanel B&B
#1 of 14 in Schaerbeek
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Josaphat Park
B&B Josaphat Park
#5 of 14 in Schaerbeek
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryen Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryen Residence

Address: Rue des Palais 64, Schaerbeek, Brussels 1030, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Schaerbeek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Schaerbeek
Hotel Class:3 star — Aryen Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aryen Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aryen Residence Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing